Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,331 ratings
1,395 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,362 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Rodrigo A R B

Nov 19, 2020

Excelente curso de Introducción a Data Science, muy fácil de comprender, excelente metodología, para el aprendizaje

By Amaury B

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent course, it gives all the introductory information so everybody can understand the basics of Data Science.

By Sylvia M

Jun 4, 2017

Very helpful introduction to Data Science. I am looking forward to the other classes in the certification program.

By Heera G

Aug 17, 2016

Indeed a crash course. Gives an excellent overview of key concepts in Data Science and whets your appetite for more

By Alexander I F

Aug 21, 2018

Great overview about data science for non-technical professionals like Product Managers, Designer and Executives.

By Gloria L

Jan 5, 2020

Excellent introduction. I look forward to the following courses and checking out some of the suggested reading.

By Fatih Y

Dec 14, 2018

Some of the quiz questions could be clearer. Other than that, I have learnt a lot

I had great fun..

Thank you.

By mikkel B M

Sep 12, 2016

Quick and fairly easy course to complete. Gives you good and short insight into what data science is all about.

By Bradley H

Aug 1, 2018

Well presented, easy to understand and useful to understand application of data science to business use cases.

By PRALOY K G

Jul 11, 2017

Well documented and organised course which throws light on most aspects of knowing about Data Science projects

By Balasubramanian

Feb 1, 2017

truly Informative course. Well thought about the syllabus. This is very useful for doctorate students as well!

By Aedrian A

Jan 13, 2021

This short course is a great primer to both data science and the Coursera Specialization to which it belongs.

By Ajay S

Sep 9, 2020

Really enjoyed. A basic course to know what and how the data scientist actually do. How this work in and out.

By Paul F

Dec 20, 2017

Good intro to the type of questions to ask in data science projects and great example of success and failure.

By Vinutha A

Feb 26, 2017

This course is very helpful for someone to know and understand what data science is in Small amount of time.

By Sara d M M L d S

Jun 29, 2016

Great crash course with the fundamentals of Data Science. Excellent for having some ideas about the subject.

By Asem A S

Nov 15, 2020

Very Quick and Easy intro, just need to put the written lessons after the videos to watch and then revise.

By Rosana F S d S

May 10, 2019

Great course to learn the basics on data science!

Very well presented. I´m very motivated to learn more.

By Roman F

Oct 29, 2016

Excellent, succinct and applicable insights on Data Science for the uninitiated and the experienced alike.

By Pedro J V P

Nov 6, 2020

Muy buen curso, muy instructivo. Para principiantes que no queremos ir avanzando en Data science. Thanks.

By Vaughan W

Jan 31, 2017

Great introduction. Clear, well-paced introduction. Recommended for busy executives looking for an intro.

By Iraj H

Dec 27, 2015

I got all the basic information about what is data science and what a data scientist should do. Thank you

By Esteban S

Oct 29, 2020

Muy bien armado y contenidos muy interesantes. Las evaluaciones son adecuadas en dificultad y extensión.

By Matthew W

Jan 30, 2017

A great high level introduction to what Data Science is and how it is used to answer business questions.

By Mathew W C

Jan 26, 2017

Great material, good structure, right level of detail. Great for the executive overview specialization.