Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
33,143 ratings
7,078 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools

(243 Reviews)

Introductory course

(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR

Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF

Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6476 - 6500 of 6,978 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Kris

Dec 20, 2020

Not a fan of the quizzes since they do not provide rationales or solutions if you got an answer wrong.

By Abdallh A

Dec 11, 2019

Good course for supporting the rest of the specialization. However, it has very little use on its own.

By M S G

Feb 3, 2019

Would have loved it even more if there was an in-depth explanation of how to use GitHub using Git bash

By Karan A

Jul 6, 2018

Course is good overall, but it could be more detailed and informative which is lacking at some topics.

By Adriana M M V

Mar 29, 2020

Needs examples and practical exercises. The videos are long and monotonus mainly because the speaker.

By Sourav P

Jul 29, 2018

One Could have introduced the basics of R in this course..The course was too easy..Even for beginners

By Hernan G

Sep 27, 2017

Es básico, pero cumple para empezar en el mundo de Coursera, espero mucho más del resto del programa.

By SOUBHAGYA K

Aug 1, 2020

It's very very basic one.Some more topics should be added to this course.Otherwise it will be boring

By Isis G

May 26, 2022

Good course, for a general overview and tool instalation. There was some problem with some quizzes.

By Chia D

Dec 11, 2019

The video content is great, but it tends to have zero relation to the content tested in the quizes.

By Deepankar G

Jun 2, 2016

Course doesn't seem to be of much use. Was not much informative. Only some information is relevant.

By Eric H

Jul 5, 2022

Material and assignments were acceptable. Robotic voice over was unbearable and steps were rushed.

By Peter F

Apr 4, 2016

It was pretty good, but most of the information is rehashed briefly in the intro to R Programming

By Pavan E

Feb 14, 2016

Course was good, nice introduction to data science and its branches. There was not much of depth.

By Andrew R

May 12, 2020

I don't feel like I learned a ton from this, but hopefully, it prepares me for the next courses.

By Hrishikesh T

May 9, 2020

I didn't like the fact that the instructor didn't feel human-like, however, it felt more robotic

By Arun J

Jan 3, 2019

Content is not found sufficient. Also order of the video series also requires some modifications

By Bill H

Mar 28, 2016

A necessary prerequisite for the other Data Science classes, but not really a standalone course.

By Nath S

Dec 7, 2021

I liked it because it helped me to configured the software that I will use in the next courses.

By TESSIER B

Feb 13, 2016

Good overview of existing tools but more information will be useful to dig into the data world.

By leo0807

Jul 3, 2019

I think maybe because I have computer science background, so I think this course is too easy.

By Nikita S

Feb 2, 2018

I don't really think that this amount of information should exist as a whole separate course.

By Lucio C

Aug 8, 2016

Good overview. But it is confusing for the first class when you have no idea about the topic.

By Bhupen P

Jul 22, 2021

Need more practice in R programing, Github, commit, branching, adding text, making directory