Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,416 ratings
596 reviews

About the Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 28, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DN
Sep 21, 2020

The course is well structured and the tools used for building the conceptual model are quite user friendly. The course has given a better understanding of the database management systems.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 578 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By PRASAD D

Jul 28, 2017

good

By Vempati H

Feb 25, 2017

good

By Muhammed K A

Nov 19, 2016

good

By Agyekumhene E B

Oct 20, 2016

good

By Naresh B K

Oct 2, 2015

Good

By SRI S V S R M

Nov 3, 2020

ood

By A A R

Nov 4, 2020

.

By Shangereyev A S

Oct 26, 2020

.

By Melaku G

Sep 19, 2019

e

By Ramiro C

Mar 22, 2016

E

By Ledon L

Feb 8, 2016

D

By RONIELSON L

May 10, 2018

Content: The course content provided sufficient technical database management information, practice and exposure for novice database managers and/or for those learning the introductory aspect of database management.

Approach: The course systematically and effectively employed in-video quizzes and peer-graded submissions and reviews to enhance and further retain the impact of each lesson provided in their modules.

Overall impact: The course fundamentally jumpstarts basic database management principles. To solidly and essentially grasp and enhance one's knowledge of this technical occupation, further continuation of this specialization would be beneficial.

By Zafir S

Apr 28, 2020

This was a solid course overall and I learned a ton, but there were some things that can be improved, which I have listed below.

1) Videos with more explanations on how to use some of the software would've been helpful. I had to find external videos in order to learn how to use Visual Paradigm and Oracle SQL Server more effectively. This took additional time when trying to solve the practice problems.

2) Grading each other was helpful, but I think an additional grade from the instructor would be helpful in order to get more feedback on errors and things done well.

By Domingos J S

Nov 8, 2016

Great course, learned a fair deal in regards to DB from a beginners POV. The only thing that left a sour taste in my mouth is the poor attitude of some students towards each other. The course uses peer-reviews and sadly some students take joy in poorly grading others whilst providing feedback along the lines of 'Great work!'.

If there was the possibility to actually report these users instead of having to resubmit your work and pray the next set of peers have some decency, I'd happily change my review to a 5 star.

By Afrodite S

Nov 1, 2020

Very helpful and well explained.

Two minor comments:

Sometimes, some of the example problems and assignment material (also solutions) have errors/inconsistencies (leftovers from previous versions throughout the years of the material being taught).

Also, it is not possible to provide feedback on peer review results (in a certain occassion a peer reviewer provided a lower grade asking for extra solution items which were not required by the assignment).

By Minas-Marios V

Aug 4, 2020

Very informative course with thorough explanations on that goes beyond teaching you the basics of databases and SQL and focuses on Database Design practical issues. It is a great source of learning material for both beginners and experienced students/professionals. I highly recommend it to everyone. My only complaint is that it could be a little more extensive in some matters (such as advanced SQL queries, normaiization, etc.).

By Bernhard K

Feb 28, 2016

A good entry into database thinking. Homework is a tad on the high side for people who just want to learn on the side. Also, not clear why diagrams can't be automated directly from the database programs e.g. Access. Why would I draw an ERD and then design a database separately - better just design the tables and the diagram directly; then you have your ERD from the program e.g. Access or Filemaker.

By Uche G E

Jun 14, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learnt a lot about the fundamental skills required to function as a Database Developer/Administrator. I would suggest that the optional textbook be made available through a dedicated platform at no cost to the student. I needed more personal studies after the videos and the presentation slides were not as detailed and therefore not sufficient. Thank you.

By Dustin E

Jan 20, 2016

The lecture videos have a format that is a bit over structured. It feels like the instructor takes as much time asking and answering an often contrived "motivation" question as he does teaching relevant material. The slides are of sufficient quality however to make viewing the lectures optional. .

I would have appreciated having all the courses documents in single zip file.

By Michael J M

Jun 20, 2018

It is good - generally- and long at a 7 weeks giving a good grounding in the subject matter.I really struggled to understand some of the lectures in the last week as the oral description often seemed not to match the material being displayed on the screen (seemingly what was being described was a more extensive version of the table being discussed I eventually concluded).

By Aidha B

Jan 12, 2016

The course was very well presented and was easy to follow. my only problem is that I struggled a little and as much as I was trying to follow and read the recommended reading material, I found that there was not enough time due to the volume of assignments per week. Maybe if the assignments were reduced or we have them every 2 weeks?!

By Nguyen T

May 28, 2016

This is a very good course that teaches you many important skills in preparation for the next courses. It does start off with the basics of SQL DDL and DML that most professionals may already know, but later modules that cover design concepts and practice are very good. There are a few errors in the videos but these are easy to spot.

By David L

Oct 30, 2015

Very comprehensive course on introduction to database. This is an advanced course so you should have some experience with DBs before taking it. The lecturer, Mr. Mannino, delivers a dry, straightforward teaching style. There are plenty of materials but unfortunately, there is little interaction in the forums from the teacher himself.

By Jordan G

Jun 2, 2016

Good course for broad end-to-end discussion of database design and management. Lectures are decent, assignments and practice problems are pretty helpful. Class takes 3-4 hours/week on average, though it varies by week. Would have like to see more advanced discussion for some of the easier topics/shorter weeks.

By D'arcy M

Jan 27, 2018

Some of the assignments are very tricky in how they are worded which leads to simple mistakes. I also wish the examples would go through each of the type of problems. I learn best through reading examples rather than the theory so when I don't get to see a problem broken down I find it very hard to learn.