Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
1,257 ratings
286 reviews

About the Course

Learn the general concepts of data mining along with basic methodologies and applications. Then dive into one subfield in data mining: pattern discovery. Learn in-depth concepts, methods, and applications of pattern discovery in data mining. We will also introduce methods for pattern-based classification and some interesting applications of pattern discovery. This course provides you the opportunity to learn skills and content to practice and engage in scalable pattern discovery methods on massive transactional data, discuss pattern evaluation measures, and study methods for mining diverse kinds of patterns, sequential patterns, and sub-graph patterns....

Top reviews

GC
Nov 16, 2020

Very useful course. It enlightens my ways to data visualization. I knew some concepts, but in a disorganized way and not knowing how. This course fills these gaps. It is tremendously helpful.

MK
Apr 5, 2018

Good course, very well structured and with interesting assignments. Some (especially first) lessons are more of a general culture but most are very helpful and allow to learn a lot of things.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 283 Reviews for Data Visualization

By Sudhanshu R

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Deepak S

Aug 2, 2016

E

By Amit S

Oct 14, 2017

The Data Visualization course gives insight of the various methods that can be used for visualizing different forms of data and also explains how data is perceived differently by human and computers. This course lacks the utilization of different data visualization tools and techniques which can be used.

In my view, different visualization techniques based on few tools and the way to use those tools should be added in this course which will make it more practical way of understanding Data Visualization.

By Philip V N

Aug 25, 2016

I thought at times the explanations were a bit concise. If I look at the process mining course for example, a lot more video material is included (and its price is lower) with more concrete examples and practice. For non programmers it is not evident to find a solution to some of the assignments and there isn't much guidance on how to use certain tools. therefore, the time to be invested for non programmers - especially in week 3 - is far more than the hou

By Vivek V

Oct 29, 2016

The course is awsome to get motivation and quite informative. However it teaches lot of practical concepts using Tableau which is a commercial software.

Since these concepts entirely new to me. It take me a lot of time to understand videos and still I'm afraid I'll forget the things as soon as I leave it. I think some more practical activities should be introduce (on free platforms), to make knowledge more sustainable.

By rubens m s

Jun 11, 2017

Durante os dois trabalhos a serem entregues o auxilio a pessoas que não possuem conhecimentos prévios não é conduzido de modo razoável. É necessário que essa pessoa procure programas sozinhos, uma vez que os fornecidos são muito antigos e não possuem tutoriais nem dentro ou fora do coursera.

Entretanto o curso atendeu razoavelmente as minhas expectativas, ele é um pouco mais abrangente e superficial do que eu esperava.

By Sean Q Z

Dec 5, 2016

I consider the assignment is not very useful. Network plot usually does not help much if you are researching dataset. Scatterplot, histogram can be much useful. Tableau? Sorry, can't afford it, why not excel? At least, almost anyone uses it. Not very practical one, but it does contains a lot of information in the course.

By Sergio A G P

Jun 15, 2020

I expected a more advanced course. Although there were interesting points, they were treated very superficially. The last week gave principles regarding dashboards, but there is an important difference between treating dashboard principles and actually doing a dashboard.

By Reinaldo L N

Apr 11, 2020

There was too little or almost no help (tutorials, etc) on tools for graph visualization prior to assignment 2. I had already done a course on graph analytics and it was too better on this.

By Alexandre G

Oct 14, 2020

Could have a more practical activity to create a dashboard and assignment 2 did not provide appropriate tools and data sets to easily to do the assignment

By Marco B

Feb 6, 2019

Very useful course for beginners.

Pdf of the slides not available

Low interaction with other students, mentor answering the forum a bit bizarre

By Kareim H

Jul 8, 2021

Need to add more materials about software to be used. I used Python libraries, otherwise, I would not able to complete the course.

By Tianqi T

Jan 3, 2021

the content of week 1 seems really long and redundant to me. feels like the course can be shortened and more down-to-the-point.

By Ralph B

Nov 20, 2016

I chose the "Data Mining" specialization to learn more about data mining ;-)

I'm not so interested to present data

By Shithi M

Oct 16, 2018

There should have been more focus on the plotting tools. The theory portion is informative.

By Qinyi L

Jan 9, 2020

Peer review is not effective at all

By Elio R

May 5, 2018

I think that is very basic.

By Thành N

Sep 18, 2016

It's not necessary for me

By Showing J

Nov 6, 2017

Not much in it.

By Vishnu N S

Jul 15, 2019

Very Shallow

By kaviraj S

Jul 1, 2018

Nice course

By Renjie L

Aug 2, 2016

有点水

By Jennifer K

Mar 27, 2017

Outdated materials, theory is taught and then praxis is tested. Course needs an update to materials and either teach AND test theory, or teach AND test praxis. I passed this class by switching sessions multiple times in order to use the time to learn the practical skills in data visualization I needed to pass the tests.

Additionally, the presented materials and the lecture format are very uninspiring.

By Hanxiong S

Jun 6, 2018

The course material is inherently interesting, but the videos are not very engaging. The presentation is quite monotonous and the wording / phrasing is confusing to follow. I'd suggest preparing a new set of script that explains the concepts and clarifies the details while cutting out *very* generic pronouns like "this node" or "that thing" or vague acronyms

By Lei Z

Dec 30, 2016

too theoretical without enough practical quiz and assignment