Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by deeplearning.ai

4.9
39,861 ratings
4,245 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

CV

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

AO

Apr 06, 2018

Fantastic course! For the first time, I now have a better intuition for optimizing and tuning hyperparameters used for deep neural networks.I got motivated to learn more after completing this course.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 4,180 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Waseem

Dec 07, 2018

This course had cool insights into the workings of various optimization algorithms. It has definitely helped me go beyond the black-box understanding of Adams Optimizer / RMSProp / Momentum etc.

Highly recommended !

By Hyeongseok Y

Dec 06, 2018

Best lecture.

By zhijun l

Dec 06, 2018

A great course talks about the detail in building Neural networks. With the first course as a foundation, student taking this definitely will get a better understanding on hyperparameter tuning and optimization, in addition on training neural networks. I recommend this course to those who would like to know neural networks more than just the concept!!

By Brandon C

Dec 07, 2018

Great info, and intuition sharing

By Emmanouil K

Dec 25, 2018

Wonderful course! You do not need it but having seen some basic linear algebra and calculus would help.

By Vikas K

Dec 24, 2018

must have course

By 洪天悦

Dec 24, 2018

Good content

By Jungshen K

Dec 24, 2018

Excellent course

By Georgy K

Dec 25, 2018

A bit challenging in term of number of ideas in such limited amount of time. Very useful anyway.

By MAIZA H

Dec 07, 2018

J'ai beaucoup apprécié ce cours !

it was great !

By Neelkamal B

Dec 09, 2018

Very good pace of learning for beginners.

By Biniam P

Dec 09, 2018

A great course, suitable for everyone and easy to comprehend!

By Martha E T G

Dec 09, 2018

Super practical and easy to learn. Great activities and quizzes. I love these courses!

By Anup K J

Dec 08, 2018

Amazing session and all the details and calculations are perfectly explained.

By LeslieJ

Dec 10, 2018

thanks all

By Ilan B

Dec 10, 2018

excellent cours

By Tian Q

Dec 26, 2018

Excellent course. Andrew balances theory and intuition perfectly when explaining a method or an algorithm. He helps me to see not only why something is mathmetically correct, but also why it makes sense intuitively.

By chiven

Dec 13, 2018

finishing the courses, I learned how to tune hyperparameters and basic use of tensorflow

By Zhaiyu C

Dec 13, 2018

learnt a lot!

By Yixing J

Dec 27, 2018

very helpful course. Hope there could be more exercises on tuning hyper parameters.

By Sherif M

Mar 29, 2019

Great as always especially the notebooks appear more mature now and are educational by themselves.

Great job by Andrew and team!

By ChenTianyi

Mar 31, 2019

amazing

By Raksha Y

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent

By Prafful P

Mar 31, 2019

Great Insights for improving performance of Deep Neural Networks, couldn't find any better resource other than this.

By Matthew J B

Mar 29, 2019

Fantastic