Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
55,787 ratings
6,385 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

XG
Oct 30, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

CV
Dec 23, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 6,309 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Xiang J

Oct 24, 2019

Really like the assignments in this course, which gives me hands-on experience with advanced knowledge such as Adam optimizer, gradient checking. Tensorflow v1 assignment is also good, but I am not sure whether API is still relevant as Keras based API for tensorflow v2 is already released.

By Tarush S

May 16, 2019

With this course, even the beginner can understand why what happens when tuning and optimizing a neural network model. With easy to understand methodology and great explanation, I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to go deeper into deep learning and understand the workings.

By Meghdad P

Aug 5, 2018

Very helpful learning material.

I'm still a bit confused though, even after passing the exams and exercises, but I think its mostly because I've lost grasp on mathematics. So, the blame is on me not coursera.

Hopefully I would fit more in the Deep Learning world by finishing up the course ;)

By Millard A C

Feb 9, 2018

This is a great course and you get to do real programming and training of a Deep Neural network. Andrew Ng is an excellent instructor. The final assignment wasn't hard but the syntax was difficult to follow. Using the forum and the Tensorflow documentation you can make your way through.

By Bill T

Feb 4, 2018

This builds on the basics from the first course with some important techniques (such as Xavier initialization, Adam optimization, and batchnorm) and ends with an introduction to implementing these in TensorFlow. Fast-moving but well taught with a good mix of theory and hands-on exercises.

By Yevhen D

Jun 24, 2020

Awesome course. Theory and practise in the right proportion. Programming assignments are useful, interesting and use modern technologies like Python or TensorFlow. Question quizzes are not too hard but help to repeated theory. Also, I liked interviews with great people from Deep Learning.

By Sari S

Jul 25, 2019

I am totally enlightened by this course. A lot of the concepts covered were completely new to me and very helpful in building a good performing neural network. The lectures were in depth and very well organized. The contents are not something you will come across in other tutorial sites.

By Bryan W

Jan 18, 2018

A great refresher to Andrew's original ML course at first, but also later is learning current deep learning current mindset at work. Great pace, great course, and great programming assignments. Makes me want to see the 3rd course for (i hope) more challenging programming assignments :) .

By harm l

Sep 3, 2017

Gave me a clear understanding on how to improve the calculus on a neural network. Computational software has advanced from programming in R of Python to software frameworks, hiding a lot of the math. Needs another study of the software frameworks though!

Thanks for the opportunity to join.

By Maryam H

Jun 19, 2019

prof. Ng's teaching was so great. some tricky details taught that I never considered them before. when I read the textbook, it was easy to understand and repetitive. I've learned simple and clean implementation. in overall it was important, simple, understandable, time efficient course.

By Rahul K

Feb 28, 2018

A very well structured course on some of the most overlooked (but critical) elements in Deep Learning. Prof. Andrew Ng definitely makes everything seem easy; he breaks down even the most complex of optimization algorithms and explains it with sheer simplicity. Would definitely recommend!

By Pranaya M

Aug 6, 2018

Course has been designed so well that even a aspiring beginner can learn the concepts very well.

Every student who wants to begin their career in the field of Deep Learning must follow this course.

Especially the tensor flow concept is taught very well with the help of exercise tutorial.

By David J

Jan 7, 2018

Thank you Andrew and Team for this course. I must say the course has surprised me and I have myself surprised my level of learning. But all credit to the way course is laid out and the step by step method of progress along with strong conceptual explanation helps a lot. Thank you again

By Nguyễn L

Oct 14, 2020

An excellent course by Andrew about how to improve deep learning models. I actually thought about something over-emphasized before taking the course, but after completing it I have changed my mind completely: THIS COURSE IS A MUST IF YOU SERIOUSLY WANT TO GET INTO DEEP LEARNING WORLD!

By Rahul V

Jun 1, 2020

Awesome Course! :)

Andrew is really the best instructor... He makes problems very easy to solve.

The content is fantastic...

The best part of this course is Optimization algorithms.

I loved every video and content with best explanation on hyperparameter tuning...

Adam optimization is best

By Lav M

Apr 15, 2020

A great course, with deep understanding of all important hyperparameters and the related concepts important to tune the deep neural networks. Lectures are up to the mark and so are the programming assignments. Thanks a lot Andrew Ng and Coursera for making it possible for me to learn.

By Alejandro R V

Jan 2, 2018

As usual, another incredible course taught by a really good teacher. I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a firm garsp about optimization algorithms and how they really work, apart from hyperparameter tunning and regularization methods for bias/variance. Thank Andrew Ng!

By Sanjay R B

Jun 16, 2019

Very helpful in building on the foundation in neural networks and deep learning with practical experience. The programming assignments are reinforce key concepts and are a great asset to keep after the class and apply in projects. Andrew is doing great work bringing AI to the masses!

By Dustin

May 4, 2019

Nice illustration of the tricks including Batch-Norm, Optimization as well as Dropout, etc. Sometimes the lack of the theory is sort of unstatisfying, but considering the difficulty of a comprehensive intro for all of the above, it has been good enough for beginners to catch up with.

By A S M A M

Jan 1, 2018

While the first course in the specialization is the perfect introduction to the realm of NN, this course is the place where I learned to implement a true Deep Network. It talks about various optimizations and parameters of the DL models. Bonus, it introduces the tensorflow framework.

By Ananth K

Oct 24, 2017

Great course! Very well laid out approach to tuning a deep neural network. FInal introduction to Tensorflow was useful, but I think a lot of information was compressed into a single video. Suggest spreading this a little more. The Tensorflow programming assignment was pretty good.

By Alberto B

Oct 7, 2017

Genial curso en el que aprender como optimizar tu red modificando una serie de parámetros y usando diferentes algoritmos. Ademas genial introducción a Tensorflow con el que avanzar en el montaje de redes de manera rápida. Recomendado totalmente tras realizar el curso anterior a este.

By Anurag A

Sep 10, 2017

This course is awesome. I never had this deep understanding of tuning hyperparameters, batch normalization and regularization before taking this course, though I went through several online material. The Tensorflow introduction and subsequent programming assignment is also excellent.

By Prabhat K P

Jan 10, 2020

The best course ever. I am highly impressed with the way Andrew Sir teaches and the depth of the topic, that he explains. You will never be left with a question unanswered. I am grateful to you sir, it made my life. Looking forward to complete the rest of the specialization courses.

By Taras M

Jul 26, 2018

It would be super cool if this course could be extended with pytorch just to compare with tensorflow. Usually courses are extended on udemy, for instance (not a marketing, just a comparison), even after all the materials are completed. It would be sand to have this course abandoned.