Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
56,788 ratings
6,517 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

NA
Jan 13, 2020

After completion of this course I know which values to look at if my ML model is not performing up to the task. It is a detailed but not too complicated course to understand the parameters used by ML.

AS
Apr 18, 2020

Very good course to give you deep insight about how to enhance your algorithm and neural network and improve its accuracy. Also teaches you Tensorflow. Highly recommend especially after the 1st course

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 6,441 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Kyle L

Dec 23, 2017

The conciseness of the course material and interviews with industry experts offer thorough insight and can inspire confidence in new and old DNN learners alike. I look forward to learning more in the remaining courses of the Deep Learning Specialization!

By Hao X

Aug 30, 2020

I benefit a lot from this course regarding parameter initialization, hyperparameter optimization, batch normalization, optimization, etc. All the knowledge are well explained both intuitively and mathematically. Always enjoyable to learn from Andrew Ng.

By Naman S

Jul 23, 2020

As expected from deeplearning.ai and Sir Andrew Ng, this course was really great!

Choosing between so many hyper-parameters and tuning them can be a confusing task, but this course explains each one in detail and simply.

Thank you for this amazing course!

By Camilo M

Jun 23, 2020

Not long ago I have been working with machine learning and artificial networks, but without a doubt so far I think my learning curve has been exponential. Themed content is for anyone to fall in love with technology and climb on the shoulders of giants.

By Akash R

Dec 16, 2018

I understood the bits and pieces of how tuning particular hyperparameters will lead to a great improvement model being developed. Andrew NG was great to teach everything with examples and deep dive into the concepts. Thanks for the opportunity provided.

By Ravi B

Dec 19, 2017

Great course on practical techniques to tune hyper parameters. Great to see the practical experience driven lectures with succinct, focussed theory. Learning has never been so exciting. Kudos for the team who put together such as great code scaffolding.

By Keith T

Oct 28, 2017

Andrew Ng picks up where he left off with 'Machine Learning' and takes a relatively complicated subject and breaks it down into clear an understandable blocks, providing insight and intuition along the way. But that's what great teachers do well, right?

By Myunggwan C

Feb 17, 2019

I'm on the road to improvement with my deep learning skills with the current specialization.

Thank you for providing such a great quality course online.

I also appreciate the mentors who comment to every post in discussion group.

Keep up the good work!

By ANKIT M

Nov 13, 2017

Very wonderful and thought provoking stuff has been provided for learning optimization and regularization. Latest stuff have been used to demonstrate the examples. Thanks to Coursera for providing a good platform to learn all this tools and techniques.

By Akella N - 1

Aug 29, 2020

This is a fabulous course for hyperparameter tuning, regularization, normalization, optimization, and other tensorflow framework commands. I have gained immense knowledge from this course. My deep regards to Andrew Ng et. al. for such a worthy course.

By govind b

May 9, 2020

This course is good for those who want to learnt about the different regularization technique and the most important optimizer algorithms. The course material is good and easy to understand. I liked this course so much and it teach me lots of things.

By J.-F. R

Feb 18, 2020

Great course by Prof Ng. I had taken his Machine Learning course a few years ago, so expected high standards of content and assignment preparation - I was not disappointed. Staff is very responsive and helpful in forums as well. I highly recommend it.

By Rohit G

Sep 18, 2017

In-depth learning about Hyper-parameter Tuning, multiple Regularization and Optimization Techniques. This Course makes learning Deep Learning Framework like Tensorflow very easy.

All thanks to Andrew NG and team for building this course so interactive.

By Nikesh P

Jan 22, 2019

Hyperparameters can affect our parameters and how tuning them properly would speed up our optimization is nicely taught. And it was great to know the intuition and mathematics behind other optimization algorithmswhich which was also taught very well.

By MONIL J

Jun 10, 2020

It's been a great learning through out this course. Even by improving hyperparameters, tuning them and optimizing them, we can increase the efficiency and reduce the execution time very much.

Thank you so much Andrew Ng sir for this amazing course!!!

By Victor

Jan 16, 2020

This course is very useful, a good extension of the first deep learning course. Like the name of the course, on top of the basic neural networks knowledge, this course focus on how to improve the performance of the fundamental neural networks built.

By Navy X

Sep 24, 2017

In the course there are lots of impressed optimization strategies that are hard to get outside from here. I was shocked when I saw the performance improvement after I run He initialization and Adam, according to the instruction in the course. Great!

By Okta F S

Mar 24, 2020

I'm very happy can finish this course. After taking this course, I understand how to optimize deep learning model, how to tuning hyperparameters. Also, by doing the programming assignment I can understand how to do optimization process from scratch

By TANVEER M

Jul 12, 2019

THE COURSE TAUGHT ME DIFFERENCE BETWEEN RMS ,MOMENTUM AND ADAM OPTIMISER.WHY BATCH NORMALISATION IS IMPORTANT.HOW REGULARISSATION AND DROPOUT IS USEFUL.GRADIENT DESCENT AND MINI BATCH DESCENT AND WHY IT SHOULD BE BETWEEN 1 AND NUMBER OF M(SAMPLES).

By Ivan L

Apr 29, 2019

This course was a great introduction to more advanced topics of deep learning. I was primarily interested in the second week of this course, where different optimization techniques like momentum and optimization algorithms like ADAM were discussed.

By Scott P

Apr 14, 2018

Great knowledge on how to optimize hyperparameters and example code is always appreciated. I appreciated the knowledge on effectively using sklearns hyperparameter search methods and knowledge on how to use tensorflow to create my own gpu methods.

By Filipe C d L D

Jun 4, 2020

Excelente curso que explora o ajuste fino dos hiper-parâmetros, Regularização e Otimização dos modelos de Deep Learning. Recomendo fortemente este curso, pois o professor possui uma excelente didática e os exercícios são muito claros e objetivos.

By Charles J M

May 28, 2020

The course material was very good. The only issue I had was that the system seemed to go down once in a while, and I would have to exit and sign back into Coursera. Restarting the kernel didn't help. This would sometimes cause me to lose work.

By ashu a

Apr 20, 2020

considering the topics that are covered those are very good and detailed and as a beginner those are required to be known to every individual , especially professor andrew has put a lot of efforts in designing the course it seems , it's very nice

By Geoff L

Aug 29, 2019

Thanks to the instructor and the team for creating an excellent and rigorous online course. I particularly enjoyed learning the ADAM optimizer from the ground up. The quizzes and programming assignments are also challenging and fun. Thanks again!