Chevron Left
Back to Design: Creation of Artifacts in Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design: Creation of Artifacts in Society by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
313 ratings
120 reviews

About the Course

This is a course aimed at making you a better designer. The course marries theory and practice, as both are valuable in improving design performance. Lectures and readings will lay out the fundamental concepts that underpin design as a human activity. Weekly design challenges test your ability to apply those ideas to solve real problems. The course is deliberately broad - spanning all domains of design, including architecture, graphics, services, apparel, engineered goods, and products. The emphasis of the course is the basic design process: define, explore, select, and refine. You, the student, bring to the course your particular interests and expertise related to, for instance, engineering, furniture, fashion, architecture, or products. In prior sessions of the course about half of the participants were novices and about half had prior professional design expertise. Both groups seem to benefit substantially from the course. All project work is evaluated by your peers -- and indeed, you will also be a peer reviewer. This format allows you to see an interesting collection of projects while getting useful feedback on your own project....

Top reviews

NS

May 15, 2020

An excellent course. The process from A to Z of designing an artifact was just amazing. I feel like I learned a lot in this course. It's a great course for anyone looking for learn more in this field.

TT

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you teacher!\n\nI have seen the world with different eyes after participating in this course: more curious and always ready to find gaps and think of a way to improve the design problem.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 116 Reviews for Design: Creation of Artifacts in Society

By D M

Aug 16, 2020

Easy to learn & I learn design concepts and also explored purposes behind objects. Now I can refine what goal or gap of a problem i,m trying to solve.

By Vladimir M

May 02, 2020

very interesting course... the teacher is very good, i like the moode of the lesson. alot of exercise, some difficult an other very easy. thanks for all

By Prasad D K

May 11, 2020

Concepts & learning matter are really good for the beginner who want to start a career in the design field.

I enjoyed all lectures & assignments too.

By DEEPAK K

May 22, 2020

One of the Best Design course found ever online . Thank you course era and Prof Karl.T Urich for this wonderful online course .Really enjoyed it.

By Shaimaa N

May 09, 2020

I really liked the course, boosted my design process and gave me a sense of order.

I they would add more info about the process in graphic design.

By Evangelia B

May 25, 2020

Ich bin sehr zufrieden mit dem Kurs !

Ich habe es sehr genossen, lernen hat Spaß gemacht und ich bin bereit weiter zu machen !

Vielen Dank

By Sehresh M

Jun 05, 2020

An excellent course. The process from A to Z of designing an artifact was just amazing. I feel like I learned a lot in this course.

By Savita M

Jul 13, 2020

This has been wonderful course. Learning from this mentor was outstanding. I appreciate this platform to organize great content

By Sonia G

Jun 05, 2020

This is was a great learnign experience. Though a possibility of more critical feedback from the peers would have been better.

By Nathália L F d S

Jul 03, 2020

Curso bem equilibrado entre teoria e prática! Superou minhas expectativas! Aulas bem produzidas, material excelente!

By Sachin A

Jul 18, 2020

one of the great course,perfectly design...do try this..if your your are looking for product degisn.

By M.R.DEEPAK

May 30, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed & learnt about artifact designs, the video classes were apt & easy to follow .

By Dani F d A

Jan 22, 2017

Exceptional course with good pratical videos. Would do another course with the same presenter.

By Ismail E

Jun 09, 2020

Humble teacher, simple methods, gives your brain a little push and it's all about practice.

By Alvaro S G F

Jul 05, 2017

Excelente didática com uma das principais referências do Design, Prof. Karl T. Ulrich.

By Álison d L M

May 20, 2018

Show! Me surpreendi com o curso e como o mesmo é aplicado de forma bem compreensível.

By Vivek P

Jul 20, 2017

It is a great course with wherein designing concepts are taught with immense clarity.

By Jugaad S

May 12, 2020

Amazing Course, with a great tutor in Karl !! recommended for anyone and everyone !!

By Elvira K

May 06, 2020

It was a very useful course. It was a little bit hard to make the prototype at home.

By Debanick G

Jul 07, 2020

All I'll say is that I had great throughout the entire coursework and assignments.

By Rolando P P

Mar 29, 2017

muy buen curso, muy buenas clases y el profesor explica todo con bastante detalle!

By Giorgia F

May 13, 2020

I’m so grateful for this chance to partecipate at this course! Very nice program!

By payam s

May 16, 2020

It was geat and opened very clearly way for my design skills. Thank you all ❤️🙏

By Virginia L

Nov 17, 2017

this is one of the best courses I have ever taken, included my local University.

By Soichiro M

Sep 11, 2020

I could learn many design process frameworks practically through this course.