Chevron Left
Back to Digital Marketing Analytics in Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Marketing Analytics in Practice by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
2,980 ratings
643 reviews

About the Course

Successfully marketing brands today requires a well-balanced blend of art and science. This course introduces students to the science of web analytics while casting a keen eye toward the artful use of numbers found in the digital space. The goal is to provide the foundation needed to apply data analytics to real-world challenges marketers confront daily. Students will learn to identify the web analytic tool right for their specific needs; understand valid and reliable ways to collect, analyze, and visualize data from the web; and utilize data in decision making for agencies, organizations or clients. Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Practice is the second in a two-part series of complementary courses and focuses on the skills and practical abilities analysts need to be successful in today's digital business world. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

TC
Aug 31, 2020

thoroughly enjoyed the course. A big thanks to Instructor Kevin hartman for this perfectly organized course. Materials were on point and easy to understand. Got entirely new observations on analytics.

JJ
Aug 7, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable "journey" for this course. The syllabus was great, very well structured, thus easy to follow. Each module, including honors, can easily be completed in a day if you have the time.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 630 Reviews for Digital Marketing Analytics in Practice

By Andrew S

Mar 22, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed in this course as I expected much more "practice". The assignments did not have you actually perform any analytics activities. The course materials seem very out of date considering how much things change in the digital age. Reading Blogger posts from 2006 on a Blogger blog that hasn't been updated since 2012 is not forward thinking in my view. Yes, things don't always change, but the face of analytics changes daily.

By Rishabh G

May 24, 2020

I do not understand that even after completing the entire 6 courses i Specialization, I am unable to access the Capstone. And there is no help available at all.

Rest of the things are good in the course. Excellent faculty and material.

Suggestion: we should add as an activity- A blog/article writing to be published on Coursera page.

Hands-on analytics exercise is must for a set of data pool. You may also include google analytics data class.

By Ivan R

Jan 15, 2021

Quiet interesting presentation of everything, I was impressed at first and graded 5 stars, however, after just one lesson of Prof. Mike Yao in Digital Media and Marketing Strategies I got better understanding of research and data then I got from both courses of Prof. Kevin Hartman. Course is still very good, defiantly worth seeing, but it's lacks in practical explanations so you are kind of still in a fog after it.

By Rujin Z

Feb 18, 2021

leanred the 4 steps in a data project: campaign goal, data collection methods and types of data. Analysis process (descriptive, inferential, exploratory, causal, predictive - most difficult). Better storytelling/visualization skillsets.

Prospect of digital marketing and dangers/concerns of digital marketing.

But overall more practice in analytical mindsets would be even better!! Thank you professor

By Becky R

Feb 16, 2021

I learned much in the Theory course, and was excited to get the DM Analytics in Practice. However, there was no real hands on experience, as I expected to experience. Weeks 1 & 2 were interesting, but the topics in Weeks 3 & 4 felt like filler material- no substance. What a let-down after 5+ weeks of great information. This course should have been called Theory, Part 2.

By Veronica L

Dec 3, 2019

It is good intro of concepts and models for digital analysis. However I do hope to see more in depth knowledge about data, models or even more examples of how to conduct a good marketing analysis. Really wish to see more real business cases/examples of how a professional does marketing analysis using big data.

By Deleted A

Jul 19, 2017

Preface: audited course. Like the Theory course, this Practice course is heavy on referencing articles and blog posts for students to read. The slides are useful however the videos don't add substantially more insight. Course is more about introducing students to the data analysis process. Ok for a beginner.

By Himanshu M

Nov 28, 2020

I was very excited to do this course when I had read about it. But when I actually started to learn, that time I was quite disappointed with this. Because they did not provided more practical examples, and the syllabus was almost repeated . But that's fine it also helped me to learned many things.

By Luca J

Jul 15, 2020

I didn't know much about this topic at the beginning so it was too hard for me to understand. I don't really understand why it is part of the specialization. However the lectures were understandable and nicely explained.

By Vikram A

Dec 20, 2015

Marketing Analytics in theory was much more enriching than this one. It would be great if tutors can add practical examples to show how marketing analytics is actually performed it would have been great.

By Andrew O

Feb 4, 2018

I'd have liked an exercise where you take some dataset from some company and actually apply this. I felt the exercises were a bit easy. This isn't the sort of thing you learn or apply via essay.

By Krisztina F

Jul 21, 2016

Even though the theoretical part was well put together, case study questions were too vague and should have been better thought out. This part of the specialization did not meet my expectation.

By Asfandyar S

Dec 30, 2018

The course material was not detailed. It was way to high level to understand the concepts. As compared to the previous 2 courses in the whole specialization, this needs to be improved.

By Priya V

Jan 21, 2019

In comparison to skills, updated information & value of certification that Google's Academy provides, this is not so good. Information is outdated by atleast 4 years on an average.

By Jennifer B

Mar 5, 2017

This course was a let down. There wasn't enough practical or real world examples to practice with. Good candidates would have been software companies in the SaaS space.

By SHASHWAT G

Jun 20, 2020

The course was fine, but I wanted to see more practical ways like the instructor showed google trends. More tools hands-on should have been discussed.

By joy

Jun 20, 2018

Overall the course is good however don't have much practical excercise, also personally feel is a bit short for data analytics learning.

By Saumya T

Jun 5, 2020

I was expecting some data analysis techniques as well. Please statistics also such as the use of regression, inferential, etc.

By Devon M

Dec 6, 2016

This is very much a primer. I was hoping it would go into more detail than it did, but I did find it a very helpful overview.

By Shalakha P

Mar 15, 2016

The course is very informative for those interested in data analytic and want to go for market research kind of jobs.

By Pedro C

Oct 26, 2016

Presents a useful analysis framework, but with limited practical examples to learn how to use analytical tools.

By Rick

Mar 26, 2019

This course is very light on actual practical application of analytics. It's more theory than anything.

By Khushkool K

Jun 26, 2017

Good course material. It should focus more on the tools rather than the theory part of it.

By SEDA N D

Oct 15, 2020

This course was a brief intro to digital marketing analytics, not what I expected.

By Gargayee N

Feb 22, 2017

hands on experience based content would have been appreciated, Its a good course.