Chevron Left
Back to Supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing by University of London

4.8
stars
1,095 ratings
446 reviews

About the Course

This course is for teachers to learn why some children have so much difficulty with reading and writing, often called 'dyslexia', and to learn more about best practice in teaching literacy to all in light of recent scientific discoveries. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 26, 2020

This course gave me some further insights into how children with difficulties in reading and writing think and the processes they go through, along with some further methods to help them achieve.

KM
May 19, 2019

A very comprehensive course that explained the fundamentals of dyslexia, learning, reading, and writing in youth. It built on itself week by week. Work load was fairly light and easy to review.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 440 Reviews for Supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing

By Jennifer A

Mar 21, 2019

i learned a lot!

By Lee A B

Jun 26, 2016

Very imformative

By Martha E F O

May 18, 2020

excelente curso

By Elizabeth c

Apr 30, 2019

e

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

By A L M

Jan 2, 2019

A Loraine Maria

By Miguel O d E C

Dec 8, 2020

It was great!!

By Sherin K M I

Jun 15, 2020

A great course

By nur s

May 28, 2017

Great course!!

By Jayne J

Apr 2, 2020

Great Course

By Rosa P A

Feb 18, 2018

Excellent!!!

By cherie c

Nov 17, 2020

good course

By Tamerat A

Jun 17, 2019

excellent!!

By Toluyemi E

Nov 27, 2018

Gained alot

By Surekha M

Jan 12, 2018

Good course

By Raneem R B

Jun 28, 2020

Thank You!

By Melissa S

May 13, 2020

Brilliant!

By Edna M

Apr 20, 2016

Excellent!

By Franciane A S

Jan 22, 2021

Very good

By Valeriia

Aug 14, 2020

Amazing!

By Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

By Patricia C

Apr 20, 2017

E

By ΜΑΡΓΑΡΙΤΑ Κ

Jan 11, 2021

The material was rich and useful. The course managed to cover both theoretical and practical issues. All modules were well rounded and explanatory. The lectureres were talking slowly and explaned thoroughly all concepts. But.... there were some aspects that i didn't appreciate. There were two peer review assignments that presented some challenges. First of all i didn't like the idea that i had to judge the work of a fellow student, i didn't feel that this was my job. But the worst thing about those assignments was that the format was developed for native english speakers thus making it troubling to use it to non english speaking children, or in children that are now learning english while their native language is another one. I had to make adjustments in order to complete those tasks, and since you can't receive the certificate unless you complete them, this was a real issue for me. Furthermore even in ordinary tests many questions were again about idiosyncrasies of the english language which don't make any sense in other languages. Moreover the questions demanded a high level of detail which i found sometimes irrelevent to the essence of the course. I won't go in details here because i don't want to give away some questions. And some lectures were a bit boring... so i would resort to just read the text bellow so i could get through faster ... So i found some elements not compatible with non english teachers and i think the course should take under consideration that not all people who take this course are english, or americans... and they should make some adjustments, at least regarding the evaluating process.

By Tony T

Sep 10, 2016

I did this course as a parent of a dyslexic child. I thought it was brilliant and I made pages and pages of notes. It is well organised, engaging, and informative. I really liked the two presenters as well. They both seemed passionate about the topic and modeled good teaching in their explanations and advice. That said, I thought the assessment part of the course simply didn't work. It was far too narrow for anyone besides primary teachers and therefore excluded those who might be doing the course for other reasons. It doesn't matter to me, I don't need the certificate and I got a lot out of the course but for others it would be frustrating, I imagine. The quizzes too, for the most part, were a disaster. They were poorly written, confusing, and dishearteningly obscure. Otherwise, I loved this course and hope you will offer a follow up soon.

By Shaoli K

Oct 12, 2016

It was very helpful to take this course as it gave me an insight to understand and look closely at the indications which will guide me in the future to deal with children who are normally labelled as 'slow', 'not focused', 'has lack of concentration' etc. The course gives a detailed understanding towards the psychological aspects and directs teachers to engage and encourage such children.

I sure feel more equipped to handle such scenarios in the future. Would appreciate if more videos of real classroom training can be added! All the best!