Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity by Stanford University

4.9
stars
2,457 ratings
853 reviews

About the Course

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top reviews

JJ
Mar 21, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

AP
Aug 11, 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 842 Reviews for Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

By William H J

Nov 3, 2020

A superb course that goes into an excellent amount of detail on the Special Theory of a Relativity, with well paced and engaging lessons and problem sets.

By Stéphen F

Jun 18, 2020

Very pedagogic course on a fascinating subject that is not well understood by non-physicists, even though it is considered as scientific general knowledge

By Kaustubh R G

Oct 21, 2018

Thoroughly planned and thought-out course. excellent presentation, no technical issues; has a strong impact on the mind. wonderful course in all respects.

By Mindy Y

Dec 4, 2017

An invigorating course that provides foundational understanding of the core concepts and theories in physics and Einstein's ingenuity. Highly recommended.

By Jaider S M H

Jul 3, 2021

Excellent, thanks to Coursera, for allowing me to do the course, it's nice, it helped me and I learned new skills, I was nurtured from the course, thanks

By Philippe R

Sep 17, 2020

It is one of the best course on this topic I followed. The presenter is a very good pedagogic and speak a very pleasant English for non native listeners.

By Atharva A

Mar 28, 2020

An amazing course for the Astrophiles and curious physics enthusiasts . The course is very well organized and its easy to learn . A great experience .

By 徐致远

Jul 25, 2017

The course is great !

Thank you very much for you effort !

It is genuine the best explanation about special theory of relativity I've ever learn about !

By Vijay T

May 26, 2019

Great course. Totally appreciate the time and effort (and patience) by Professor to help me have a solid foundation on special theory of relativity

By Fethi O Ö

Jul 12, 2017

Good course, for to learn, imaging,considering,observing and measuring.Especially examples are very interesting.Like clocks,spaceships,light beams.

By miguelico

May 25, 2020

Superb. Professor Lagerstrom masters the topic and knows how to make easy a subject that apparently isn't. Thank you for sharing your knowledge :)

By Michał R

Jan 24, 2020

This course is just amazing! I wish I had that kind of teacher in school as Prof. Lagerstrom. I'll be coming back to this lectures. Pure pleasure!

By PRUTHVIK A

Sep 20, 2020

A really great course. It was very nicely taken from the start. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to start General Theory of Relativity.

By Vishal J

Aug 21, 2019

Brilliant course. It is taught in such a manner as to really get a feel for relativity and to understand the core principles. Highly recommended.

By Kenneth K

Feb 21, 2020

This was a great course. It was informative (I had several "a-ha moments") and enjoyable. Professor Lagerstrom is truly and educator. Well done.

By Deepak G

Feb 12, 2021

The professor for the course Prof. Larry is excellent in presenttion and explaining a difficult subject with relevet examples and calculations.

By Ozan K

Dec 19, 2020

I really liked this course as I am very interested in The Special Theory of Relativity. It was a pleasure for me to participate in this course.

By Parin S

Aug 7, 2020

Great course! Really enjoyed my learning with crystal clear explanation of each and every concept associated with special theory of relativity.

By Ana C

Sep 21, 2020

Exceptional course content, incrediable professor and staff. I am very sad that I finished the course because I enjoyed a lot all the journey.

By Carlos M

Sep 28, 2017

Excellent experience and the Professor is an excellent teacher by showing all these concepts in a way that is really easy to understand them.

By sueg

Dec 21, 2016

This course is really brilliant, Professor Lagerstrom ( I hope I have spelt the name correctly ) really knows the subject, a superb lecturer.

By Joseph Q J

Apr 17, 2019

Dr Lagerstrom is terrific.

WhileI had to watch 2 lectures a second time, I found the course materials and lectures to be clear and precise.

By Mohana A

Oct 6, 2018

Awesome course, well explained. Helps get a good understanding of the basics along with the mathematics behind special theory of Relativity.

By Joost d G

Sep 7, 2017

This course could not have been given better. It explained the concepts of the special theory of relativity in a concise though complete way

By Teshima

Dec 20, 2020

Very good and introduction for relativity, one tip that i can give, is making the week problems to understand more significantly the theory