Chevron Left
Back to Energy 101: The Big Picture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Energy 101: The Big Picture by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.3
481 ratings
136 reviews

About the Course

As a society and individually, we use energy every moment of our lives to improve our quality of life. Energy 101 will develop the big picture and connect the details of our energy use, technology, infrastructure, impact, and future....

Top reviews

VN

Feb 28, 2019

This is an amazing course which offers a deep insight to the economics of the energy sector as well as the future sustainability of it. Thank you so much for offering this course

SB

Oct 03, 2015

This course is great! It is truly a perfect introduction to how the world acquires its energy sources and how the real impacts, social, economic and environmental, affect us.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 132 Reviews for Energy 101: The Big Picture

By Zulfiqar A

Nov 03, 2018

Very basic course, for someone like me.

Recommended for those who want to delve into statistics of energy usage in Unites States.

By Jose G

May 02, 2019

Las cifras no están actualizadas, son del 2012, y han pasado muchas cosas desde entonces. Está enfocado a la situación de Estados Unidos, debería tener un enfoque más mundial.

By Ezequiel C

Aug 05, 2019

Awesome course to provide an integral look at energy in general regarding its functioning, drivers and future perspectives. on the downside, the data is not updated so that should be an area to improve.

By Chen L

Dec 07, 2015

In all it's a good course to know some basics, but the data and some of the informations are out of date. It seems most datas are from late 2012 early 2013, things have changed.

By Gale P

Jan 20, 2017

Needs to be updated. Also correct some errors.

By Jorge R M P

Jan 16, 2016

The material is very interesting and relevant; however very quickly outdated in this area. There are a few mistakes here and there in the lectures and the quizzes.

By Julian S

Jun 04, 2017

Provides big picture view of main energy topics. Some topics could use more in depth explanations though, otherwise knowledge ends up being way too superficial (e.g. energy laws).

By Glenda W

Nov 22, 2015

Good info, but a bit outdated and dull.

By Benjamin B

Oct 03, 2015

Teaches a lot of the basics but all the numbers are outdated (from 2013)

there is minimal use of this being a video course.

By Aycan B

May 23, 2017

Such a nice course but should be updated!

By Blanca M F

Apr 10, 2016

Broken links for texts, typos, not updated data. I would like to find a course on global energy that I could start any day, like this one.

By Jennifer P

May 20, 2018

The course topics were valuable, but the data was unfortunately outdated (from 2012-2013).

By Amanda G

Jan 12, 2016

Information needs be updated especially with the changes just made in France 2015. It was a little slow and quizzes were often frustrating due to questions and answers not matching up, or info was not given in the lecture. Overall, since it was 101 and basic, I enjoyed learning the new information.

By Abdullah B

May 21, 2018

Great course but the course content needs to be updated.

By Łukasz M

Jun 20, 2018

ootooolddata

By Kevin A B

Jul 11, 2019

Good content, way too obsolete. Dispite some problems with speaking, good professor.

By leo r

Mar 17, 2016

Not very motivating way of talking about the topic. Also it's getting old. He's lecture is sometimes colored like a stereotypical Texan. His extrapolations as flawed as those of the EIA. (Which by now can be seen with hindsight)

By John R

May 14, 2018

statistics are somewhat dated.

By Jakub S

Dec 08, 2015

Course material providing out-dated concepts. Argumentation throughout the course is shallow, many of the the current arguments are not mentioned - from both sides of the energy lobby (fossil & renewables).

By Abiven J C

Nov 07, 2017

A little bit old.

By Patrik V

Sep 12, 2015

First of all, thank you for the course, as it enables students to get a bit more up-to-date and knowledgeable in the topic.

On the other hand, unfortunately it's not worth one's time as it didn't deliver very good quality, nor on its promise regarding "The Big Picture".

Pros:

Easy to understand.

Self-paced.

Objectivity and positive overall message.

Cons:

Overall quality and clarity of the lectures is not very good. Lectures are a bit hard to follow, not because of the complexity of the topic, but because of some controversial and outdated data, and the speaking and presentation style of the lecturer.

Assignments contain too many trivial questions, but also some mistakes which makes some questions impossible to answer correctly, based on the lectures, or at all.

No staff engagement or feedback on the forums, which is especially problematic regarding to aforementioned mistakes.

The title and description of the course don't inform students that it is completely US-centric, and mostly concentrating on petroleum/oil. So along with a lot of important topics, "The Big Picture" is missing.

By Vickie L P

Nov 27, 2015

Very basic info suited for highschool students. Many errors in transcripts that you will just have to slog through.

By Desi E V M

Sep 17, 2018

I found Prof. Sam Shelton not very enthusiastic about giving the lecture. And he would often dwell so much on a particular topic & have commentaries that he would mention over & over again, which made a lot of the videos unnecessarily long. Also I found he had some information that were not factual, i.e. Ethane as the primary component of NGLs (Should be Methane.) He would elaborate on certain issues & make it even more confusing.

By Daniel H

Sep 25, 2015

I'm unimpressed with the quality of the material and uninspired by the professor's video presentations. Out of the dozen or more courses here that I have taken, this one ranks at the bottom. I'm not going to disenroll at this time, but I have lost interest without even progressing beyond the first week. Maybe if I get inspired later, I will try again.

By Edward H

Aug 18, 2015

This is SO out of date that half of the information is irrelevant