Chevron Left
Back to Content Strategy for Professionals: Engaging Audiences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Content Strategy for Professionals: Engaging Audiences by Northwestern University

4.6
stars
617 ratings
166 reviews

About the Course

In this course, professionals at all levels of an organization will learn the best ways to engage an audience they want and need by smartly implementing their important, strategic stories and information and by using proven tools and techniques to enhance an audience’s experiences and interest. Content Strategy is a conversation that provides thought-leadership. It starts a “conversation” with users and stakeholders inside and outside an organization. Conversations are the natural way people think about complex issues. Conversations also enable people to develop “stories,” which lead to understanding and helpful mental pictures. Content Strategy practitioners are at all levels of the best enterprises – in all departments and sectors from the top leader to the newcomer in the ranks. In this complex information age, forward-thinking employees know that if they and their organizations are to thrive, they need to go beyond their job descriptions. They must master the most demanding communications frontier – creating engaging, strategic, honest stories and information that is valued by their most important audiences. In turn that will make their enterprise stand out. Regardless of their area of work, position or expertise, Content Strategy practitioners know how to use words, pictures, video, and social and mobile media to interact with their most important constituents with trustable, actionable information that the audience values and will use. The strategic content they produce enhances the user’s lives and deepens their understanding and engagement with the organization. Guest lecturers in this course include: -- Rachel Davis Mersey, Associate Professor, Medill, Northwestern -- Ed Malthouse, Theodore R. and Annie Laurie Sills Professor of Integrated Marketing Communications, Medill, Northwestern -- Bobby Calder, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing & Director of the Center for Cultural Marketing, Kellogg, Northwestern -- Steven Duke, Associate Professor, Medill, Northwestern -- Janice Castro, Assistant Professor Emerita, Medill, Nothwestern...

Top reviews

SH

Sep 14, 2018

Very informative! Various concepts were highlighted to help me design increasingly engaging content for my readers. Will recommend it to everyone seeking to enhance their content strategy skills.

PN

Dec 19, 2019

I learned exactly what I expected to learn, especially the clear distinction between Content Strategy and Content Marketing and how to truly "engage" the audience. Very happy with the course :)

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 165 Reviews for Content Strategy for Professionals: Engaging Audiences

By Joe T

Aug 7, 2018

This is an excellent course. I'm an IT professional with only marginal exposure to marketing issues. This course is basic yet the instructors never "talk down" to the students. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.

By Alejandro G S

Jan 31, 2020

This was extremelly didactic, helpful and overall a great learning tool for those who need guidance on the content creation world. I could not be more satisfied, great job for the faculty of Northwestern University.

By Sabika H

Sep 15, 2018

Very informative! Various concepts were highlighted to help me design increasingly engaging content for my readers. Will recommend it to everyone seeking to enhance their content strategy skills.

By Parak N

Dec 20, 2019

I learned exactly what I expected to learn, especially the clear distinction between Content Strategy and Content Marketing and how to truly "engage" the audience. Very happy with the course :)

By DOLAPO A

Jan 10, 2020

It was an interesting first week. I have learned a lot from the instructors, and the experience gathered over that short time is helpful in restructuring my organization website content

By Gargi C B

May 17, 2017

Extremely well designed, comprehensive with real life examples and scenarios. Overall, useful and engaging content that hooks the learners from the beginning and will prove beneficial.

By Jill M

Apr 10, 2019

A very good set of lessons on how to be genuinely useful to your target audience. The case study assignment was interesting and allowed plenty of creativity, which I especially liked.

By Irene G

Sep 1, 2020

It was a very useful, understandable and practical course. Teachers use clear and motivating language. For people whose native language is not English it is very easy to make it out.

By ULIYASI S

Sep 21, 2018

thank you for bring me valuable experience in learning the content strategy. I want to learn more if i get the chance and another financial aid. once again, thank you for the lesson!

By Robert G S P

Jan 11, 2019

Enjoyed this course. To the point with a nice exercise. I can see the solid backgrounds of the professionals teaching this coming forward in the content of the course. Enjoyed this.

By Gregory L

Nov 27, 2017

Variety of learning tools, including videos, reading, and direct application through preparing my own content strategy based on a persona helped drive home the points of the course.

By CARLOS J R

Oct 16, 2018

It's an awesome Content Strategy course! Very very recommended. You won't lose your time, you will gain a great tool for delivering your message and reach your audiences.

By Rishi A

Nov 10, 2016

An insightful course that helps a Content professional to relate to the audience effectively, create a persona and then build a strategy to meet their needs.

By Cindy B

Feb 6, 2018

Excellent content and it is very well structured with a lot of advice and explanations of why and how to engage your audiences through content. Iloved it!

By Sam D

Nov 3, 2017

Well structured

Clear diction

Short statements

But a bit elementary, also need to use some real life examples for clarification and bringing it to life

By Laura E S

Aug 14, 2016

The case study for this is VERY demanding -- be sure to schedule in at least 5 hours for the homework in the second week (not including the lectures).

By Adina R

Jun 14, 2017

I learned a lot of useful information in this course. It helped me come up with creative new ideas that I can bring back to my current organization.

By James-Anthony G

Aug 13, 2019

Randy and the team are brilliant. I am redoing this entire specialization to remain engaged with the content. Great work Randy and Northwestern!

By Komal G

May 17, 2020

I don't understand why my assignment is not complete.i have followed all the instructions .but it's not getting review.please solve my problem.

By Susan H

Dec 13, 2020

Course information was broken down into simple concepts and examples were based on real life companies to reinforce what was being imparted.

By Olesya A

Jul 28, 2016

I really like the format of the course. The professors deliver lectures in a concise and eloquent manner. Thanks a lot! I got what I needed.

By Diego G T

Jun 12, 2016

Indispensable para cualquiera que trabaje en temas relacionados a la generación de contenido, ya sea en medios escritos o digitales.

By Prasanna

Oct 23, 2021

An eye opening course for me. This will help me to boost up my career in content. Thank you Coursera and Northwestern university.

By Muhammad A

Nov 26, 2019

Its a wonderful course. It teaches how to address different kind of audience and how to engage them with your ideas and products.

By Kati L

May 3, 2018

I really enjoyed this format! The single in-depth project was a lot smoother process than other online courses I've completed.