Chevron Left
Back to Content Strategy for Professionals: Engaging Audiences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Content Strategy for Professionals: Engaging Audiences by Northwestern University

4.6
stars
617 ratings
166 reviews

About the Course

In this course, professionals at all levels of an organization will learn the best ways to engage an audience they want and need by smartly implementing their important, strategic stories and information and by using proven tools and techniques to enhance an audience’s experiences and interest. Content Strategy is a conversation that provides thought-leadership. It starts a “conversation” with users and stakeholders inside and outside an organization. Conversations are the natural way people think about complex issues. Conversations also enable people to develop “stories,” which lead to understanding and helpful mental pictures. Content Strategy practitioners are at all levels of the best enterprises – in all departments and sectors from the top leader to the newcomer in the ranks. In this complex information age, forward-thinking employees know that if they and their organizations are to thrive, they need to go beyond their job descriptions. They must master the most demanding communications frontier – creating engaging, strategic, honest stories and information that is valued by their most important audiences. In turn that will make their enterprise stand out. Regardless of their area of work, position or expertise, Content Strategy practitioners know how to use words, pictures, video, and social and mobile media to interact with their most important constituents with trustable, actionable information that the audience values and will use. The strategic content they produce enhances the user’s lives and deepens their understanding and engagement with the organization. Guest lecturers in this course include: -- Rachel Davis Mersey, Associate Professor, Medill, Northwestern -- Ed Malthouse, Theodore R. and Annie Laurie Sills Professor of Integrated Marketing Communications, Medill, Northwestern -- Bobby Calder, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing & Director of the Center for Cultural Marketing, Kellogg, Northwestern -- Steven Duke, Associate Professor, Medill, Northwestern -- Janice Castro, Assistant Professor Emerita, Medill, Nothwestern...

Top reviews

SH

Sep 14, 2018

Very informative! Various concepts were highlighted to help me design increasingly engaging content for my readers. Will recommend it to everyone seeking to enhance their content strategy skills.

PN

Dec 19, 2019

I learned exactly what I expected to learn, especially the clear distinction between Content Strategy and Content Marketing and how to truly "engage" the audience. Very happy with the course :)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 165 Reviews for Content Strategy for Professionals: Engaging Audiences

By Christopher A

Nov 30, 2017

I would have preferred more reading material and that the readings were less related to journalism and more related to general business. I would also have liked presentation slides to support the "talking heads" presenting the material. I received a grade for the completion of the course. I have no idea how that grade was determined as I did not receive any feedback on the concluding ShenShi case study, the feedback I provided others, or the other "deliverables." Finally, the second course in this specialization doesn't start for more than two weeks after concluding the first course. This seems like an excessive amount of time--especially since LinkedIn is billing me for that down-time.

By salwa a

Jan 22, 2022

The content is wonderful and very rich, but it is flawed by the difficult language, the use of a lot of similes and metaphors is difficult for non-English speakers to understand the topic and literal translation does not solve this shortcoming, it is like telling you (grow your brain) this is an Arabic expression that you will not understand even if you speak Arabic, it mean (don't care)

By Marco G

May 3, 2020

Useful content, and very well presented.

My only remarks are on the test, which is placed in Week 2 instead of at the end of the course - even though some of the concepts you need to know in order to complete it are explained in Week 3. Also, you can either type or attach your answer, but you never do both, which means you will never get a "perfect" grade.

By Fran H

Sep 11, 2016

Content was fantastic, however delivery was quite dull, two talking heads and chapters from a helpful, but rather dry book. The best part was the assignment. Could be spruced up with some printable versions of the text screens, or even better, a workbook to use in figuring out how to use this at home.

By Julia V N

Apr 17, 2020

The course is really good, but the assessment has twice the same question (one for the option of typing and the other one for uploading). The problem is that although only one is required, when the assignment was graded, I lost points because the assessors didn't understand this.

By Christine O

Aug 13, 2017

John Lavine was interesting and a good speaker. Some of the other professors were not as engaging. I was distracted by the weird video editing that cut away at odd time. I felt the reading were very dated. However, I do feel I learned quite a lot.

By Massimiliano P

Jan 5, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the content and the way it's explained and presented. The insights are to the point, succinct but valuable. Having an assignment to work on and complete really helped me to understand how content strategy is created and applied.

By Laura D S

Oct 7, 2021

The content is great, but it is impossible to complete the series of courses due to a lack of submissions to review. I'd like to finish the capstone, and I have done all my work, but the review of OTHERS' work is holding me up.

By Jenny G

May 13, 2018

This course flows nicely and is easy, but interesting, to follow. I recommend it for anyone who is getting started in marketing or needs a refresher. It's also helpful to have access to their resources.

By Elaine R

May 17, 2020

The course was great, lots of good information presented in an easy-to-understand way. It ended kind of abruptly, I wasn't sure it was over, so maybe a stronger ending - but that's a minor quibble.

By Nayantara D

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent course for beginners. Gives you a great starting point before you embark on creating content. Would recommend it to everyone trying to figure out how to design content.

By Rajani J

Jan 31, 2020

The course material was good and covered a lot of topics. Though I suggest to add more examples and activities which can help in implementing the learnings.

By Diego S G

Feb 16, 2018

I wish they'd have a higher level of interactivity because sometimes it gets quite boring. Great info, but they present it in a dull way sometimes.

By Vishnupriya B

Oct 22, 2020

This course allows you to gain tools and frameworks to put your thoughts into creating actionable, result-oriented solutions.

By Monisha D

Apr 22, 2020

Good coverage of the basics. Experienced instructors with relevant examples provided. Looking forward to advance the course

By Mary G

Dec 2, 2016

I learned that content strategy is a marketing plan with content, not just the content alone. It is a great course.

By Lina R V

May 3, 2017

I really appreciate that the instructors have strong journalistic backgrounds—truly helpful for impactful writing!

By Rozanne D S

Jun 17, 2021

This is an informative and educational course that sharpens the know-how of content professionals.

By Neil M

May 31, 2019

Assignment was due in Week 2 of a 3-week course, which was odd. But the content was great.

By Mohammed B

Aug 30, 2020

It's a good start if you want to learn how to write for or generally reach an audience.

By John W

Feb 18, 2017

Great advice o writing best practices. Done with humor and memorable quotes.

By charles S

Aug 29, 2020

Interesting MOOC. With a bit mit dynamic it would be a great training.

By Gislena

Jan 26, 2017

Very well explained and easy to follow.

Learnt a lot from this course

By Brian M

Nov 4, 2017

good content, lets try take it for a spin in the real world. Thanks

By Cesar S

Sep 13, 2020

Introductory course, maybe think can add more real life examples.