Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.7
stars
103 ratings
35 reviews

About the Course

Enumerative combinatorics deals with finite sets and their cardinalities. In other words, a typical problem of enumerative combinatorics is to find the number of ways a certain pattern can be formed. In the first part of our course we will be dealing with elementary combinatorial objects and notions: permutations, combinations, compositions, Fibonacci and Catalan numbers etc. In the second part of the course we introduce the notion of generating functions and use it to study recurrence relations and partition numbers. The course is mostly self-contained. However, some acquaintance with basic linear algebra and analysis (including Taylor series expansion) may be very helpful. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

RA
Mar 29, 2018

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

HS
Jul 6, 2020

very nice course.very well taught by professor.one thing that can be improved is detailed solution of quizzes and assignments.thanks for the course:)

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 32 Reviews for Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics

By Tyler R

Apr 12, 2017

This is a wonderful course. The lectures are engaging, clear, and intuitive, but from my perspective the best thing about this course is the depth of the problem sets; although not long (usually 3 - 4 problems), each problem requires genuine thought, understanding , and creativity. This has been especially refreshing in the world of online courses, where shallow and computational problem sets can sometimes be the norm. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in an introduction to this beautiful subject.

By Shen-Fu T

May 8, 2019

The course starts with basic enumerative combinatorics like counting sequences, permutation, etc. and gradually moves into generating function, which is a very powerful tool in combinatorics. It also gives interesting combinatorial proofs of several classical results. The quiz is helpful and final assignment a bit challenging and definitely fun!

By David A I T

Aug 28, 2017

I enjoyed the course.

The lecturer was very good and the material quite interesting.

I feel that the assignments where sometimes very different compared to the material covered but I ended up doing extra research and learning more which is good!

Many thanks to the Coursera Staff as well as the Higher School of Economics.

By Harry A H

Apr 29, 2020

This is a marvelous course, starting from absolutely basic things to quite advanced things. Extremely didactic. The problems sometimes seem frustrating, but after a few trials and review of the material one gets there. Thanks for this course,

By Enrico P

Jun 14, 2019

Really great! Clear, concise, rich and stimulating, filled with many examples. Only the last part on q-world, although extremely interesting and very well introduced, is left almost without practical applications :-).

By arvind

Sep 18, 2020

This was one of the best introduction to advanced mathematics courses in coursera.

except for a few minor issues like accepting similar forms of answers in quiz,content wise it was a brilliant course thanks a lot!!!

By Sharath K

Feb 19, 2019

The professor is a little slow when he speaks but apart from that, he is a brilliant teacher. The course lets you get to the very roots of the topic by pushing you to do the derivations etc. Brilliant course!

By Ry A

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

By harsh s

Jul 7, 2020

very nice course.very well taught by professor.one thing that can be improved is detailed solution of quizzes and assignments.thanks for the course:)

By Robin B

Nov 18, 2020

This course is very well put together. The lectures are very clear and cover a wide range of interesting topics in combinatorics.

By Ritvik R

Aug 22, 2017

Great lectures and content. I really enjoyed it. However, the solutions exercises could be clearer and in more detail. Thank you!

By DAVID P P

Apr 20, 2017

Very good gourse, I persoally enjoyed the lectures in which the relatipnship with other areas of mathematics were discussed.

By Franck D

May 7, 2017

This course is great! The instructor exposition is very clear and simple. Recommend to anyone considering this topic!

By John B

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent class spanning both elementary and nonelementary topics. Would highly recommend!

By sami

Apr 11, 2020

i loved the course thanks to the

National Research University Higher School of Economics

By Herman Z

Apr 10, 2017

Marvellous online course. High level and ultimate lessons.

Don't underestimate the level.

By Ze M

Jun 20, 2017

Excelente course with real university level of concepts and exercises!

By Cong X

Feb 12, 2018

by far the best math course I had (and I've taken many) on coursera

By Ajit C B

Apr 11, 2017

Excellent course. I hope there are more courses by the same team.

By Cheung W C

Jan 12, 2020

A detailed introduction to enumerative combinatorics.

By Francisco P

May 7, 2018

Funny

Very good presentation

By NARAYAN R

Oct 23, 2020

A well taught course.

By Michael F

Jun 18, 2017

Great course!

By Dmitrii S

Jun 7, 2018

Nice work!

By petya

Dec 21, 2018

brilliant