Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
7,443 ratings
1,704 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SW
May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
Apr 27, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,682 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By Ridam H

Jul 10, 2020

One of best online courses in Cousera overall and particularly in Excel. Great course structure, content, quizzes and great instructor.

By HITESH K

Apr 1, 2020

It is a very useful and creative way of teaching. Assignment problems covered all concepts. I am very happy after learning this skill.

By Linda

Jun 10, 2017

Great Course. The videos were excellant. I learned a lot. The only negative is that you have to pay money to take the weekly tests.

By Joy G

Nov 6, 2020

Super love this course! This will really help me in my new role in an organization that's so data driven in its approach to business.

By Zakwan

Oct 20, 2020

Great and a very useful course to interpret and visualize data using Excel. Delivery language is simple to follow and understandable.

By Patricia S

Sep 27, 2019

Enjoyed the course. It was just the right amount of material and practice. Straightforward quizes. Time to finish was as described.

By Katherine C T

Jul 2, 2019

I like that this course is brief and concise, not dragging at all. It's short but very educational. Looking forward to more lectures.

By Mayur V P

Aug 7, 2017

It's an amazing course for people who are looking to get an insight of data analysis using Excel. A good introductory course overall.

By Abeythunga, S

Aug 2, 2020

This course is really great and informative for any one who is willing to gain new skills and very attractive the way of conducting.

By Moeez u R Q

May 29, 2020

It is the best course about Excel on any online learning platform,.Thanks to Sir.Sharad Borle for teaching us in such a good manner.

By praval p

Apr 13, 2020

My reverence to Prof S. Borle. He summarizes and explains concepts in a lucid manner. The quizzes and tests gave excellent practice.

By Pedro G

Dec 15, 2017

The course help me to review and clarify basic concepts about Excel and its used in business applications. I strongly recommend it.

By Parth S

Sep 30, 2016

A structured and easy to understand course. A must for beginners who wish to start learning about various excel functions and tools.

By Aravindhakshan.R

Aug 19, 2020

The course is very helpful for getting a strong understanding of basics in excel for further learning of its analytic applications.

By PUSHPENDRA S

Jun 8, 2020

Good Course for beginners to learn lot of things about Excel. I must recommend this course to those who really want to learn Excel.

By Himanshu B

Jun 3, 2020

Great course to understand basics of excel, we use these in day today life but are not polished. This course will polish the skills

By Wael H B

Apr 9, 2020

It's a good and useful course, but I need more examp;e and explanation about vlookup function and nested if function. thanks a lot

By Jason B

Nov 15, 2017

Fun class. I learned a lot more than I expected and a lot of the information covered is very relevant to running a small business.

By Nursyawana B K A

Nov 4, 2020

Very easy to understand and informative. I enjoyed learning this course and gain lots of new knowledge to be implemented in excel.

By Rishabh G

Oct 9, 2017

Every course is good but it depends on instructor how he/she is teaching. Instructor explained everything in a very beautiful way.

By Nelly A P

Nov 21, 2020

Lectures are understandable with reasonable practice quizzes and finals and also some tricky questions. Overall, worth the study!

By Ryan H

Sep 23, 2020

The professor is very thorough and the videos easy to follow. The quizzes test your ability on the info very well. Thanks Sharad!

By Audrey B H

Mar 29, 2020

I think the lessons are well explained and easy to follow. It really adds my knowledge regarding how to work my way around excel.

By Gabriel

Oct 24, 2020

Very informative and useful. I learned a lot from this. The lecturer's way of teaching is very comprehensive and talks smoothly.

By Fahim P

Sep 28, 2019

It is a good course for a starting boat in ocean of excel, instructor was good and explaining ability of instructor was awesome.