Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
8,904 ratings
2,029 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SS
Apr 27, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW
May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,031 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By Shane H T W

May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.

The level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

By Ali S A

Aug 20, 2020

Lectures were great however questions on the quizzes were very poorly written. They should be a lot more specific

By Cat K

Aug 19, 2018

Really disappointing. I was expecting a decent introduction to data analysis using excel is was like a simple version of the excel manual. The whole course took me less than a day to complete and I am not excel competent. In the end I gave up and started working on the Microsoft virtual academy courses. Needs improvement.

By Ashish S

Dec 31, 2016

very basic. for novices. not worth it to pay money for it

By Jasmin N D

May 28, 2020

Very good course. Very good instructor! I learnt so much stuff in only a short time. The talking speed of the instructor was very good for me. Some people wrote that the instructor´s english is sometimes hard to understand since he is not native english speaker, but for me (I am german) his english was very easy to understand. I had no difficulties to understand him at all. It was even easier for me to understand him than my other (native english speaking) instructors in my other coursera courses.

What I liked a lot was that he repeated important learning steps several times. This helped me to keep things in mind and recall them faster.

By Sohel S

Apr 22, 2020

The course is really great. In that, the contents are well organized and are explained quite well. Every video lecture is well thought out beforehand and the video lecture lengths are as small as possible while making sure to get the topic across with optimum effort on both the instructor's as well as the students' side. The only issue I had was the lack of audio volume in every lecture. I think only I might have had this issue. The instructor wasn't audible unless I turned off noisy appliances in my room and put on headphones on a 100% volume. I hope this gets fixed.

By Gabriel A F G

Sep 18, 2020

Es un muy buen curso introductorio a Excel, las explicaciones son directas y las evaluaciones de cada semana permiten practicar muy bien cada uno de los contenidos vistos en dicha semana. No obstante, lo finalicé solo para completar la especialización, ya que los contenidos que muestra son básicos. A mi parecer, lo único realmente malo del curso es que se utiliza una versión Excel antigua (creo que este curso fue hecho en el 2015/2016) y las herramientas para editar los gráficos en las versiones de Excel 2016 o posteriores son totalmente distintas.

By Hussain H

Aug 10, 2020

A good intro to people who are looking to learn excel and data analysis in general. The mini practice quizes are really nice to directly apply what you have learned in the video lessons. The weekly quizzes are of normal difficulty and everyone should be able to complete it by going over the video lessons.

Other than that, this course is not that demanding and should fit nicely into your work/college schedules. Looking forward to more courses in the specialization.

By Parth G

May 3, 2020

I have been using Excel since my High School days, and hence am not new to the software. When I joined college, my usage grew, and along with it, my knowledge about the features of this software. However, I had just begun to scratch the surface of the capabilities of Excel, and this course taught me so much about the data analytics tools of Excel.

By Sylvia N

Mar 20, 2020

This course was helpful indeed. I got more knowledge on pivot tables, learnt how interactive pivot charts are and how to use them. Learnt how to group data, the right use of graphs and charts for proper visualization and lots more. Practiced severally for my grades and completed a mini project.

I am always happy when I unlearn, learn and relearn.

By Satya M M

Apr 24, 2017

The whole online course was a wonderful experience. Its easy and can become more perfect with the assignments. I thank Sharad Borle sir for explaining the course in an easy and perfect way. The assignments were helpful as they were an assurance that you got perfect with a topic. Cant wait to use it in my work! :)

By Abhinav B

Dec 23, 2016

Very good preliminary course. Covers fundamental topics in a clear and concise manner. Video lectures are easily understandable, and each lecture is followed by a practice quiz. The quizzes for each week are also well constructed and test the student's practical knowledge. Overall, very good introductory course.

By Gary E B

Dec 22, 2017

This course has opened the door a crack to the powerful, and up to now mysterious, analytical tools available in Excel. I used the current version of Excel for MAC and had no difficulty translating the PC course material to my software. I need to practice using these tools, but the fundamentals are there.

By Vikas A

Aug 27, 2018

EVERYTHING WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE, BUT THERE WAS SOME LATENCY IN BETWEEN VIDEOS AS SPEAKER WAS SOMEWHERE ELSE AND VIDEO WAS ON SOME ANOTHER POINT. MOREOVER IN SUCH COURSES OF EXCEL IT SHOULD BE CLEARLY EXPLAINED ABOUT WHICH EXCEL THE LECTURE AS MANY OF THE FUNCTIONS ARE DIFFERENT IN XLS,10,13,16.

MANY THANKS

By José R H

Feb 1, 2019

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel is a fun fast paced course that will teach you practical knowledge in a short amount of time. All exercises were useful and to the point. I have no doubt, I'll be using what I learned in no time at all. Many thanks to Professor Sharad Borle, Rice and Coursera!

By Rahul B

Nov 12, 2017

this is perfect course designed for excel beginners or intermediate learners. This gives idea of techniques for boosting ones productivity and complete data work in minimized time frame.

instructors explains all tactics in lucid and simplified way to make learning process a fun and interactive.

By JUNAID S

May 5, 2017

Wonderful course...They have excellent teaching methodology.You cannot solve quizes without giving complete concentration on it which really gives you practicle insight to this course.It was my first course on coursera and I have made my mind to start another as early as possible.

By ARVIND K S

Mar 11, 2019

THE best course I have pursued in a long time in terms of making hard to understand concepts easily comprehensible through a hands on approach and crisp, lucid lectures. Strongly recommended for students and managers desirous of a firm foundation in Excel and Statistics.

By Rory O

Apr 17, 2017

I thought this course was straightforward and I felt that watching the professor go through the steps of performing different functions and creating different charts was a wonderful way to watch and learn. I felt the quizzes really tested my ability to apply the knowledge

By Ismail M Q

Oct 14, 2016

Fantastic content. Learning to streamline and visualize data is useful for everybody. The additional knowledge on importing and managing data has given me an insight into the power of excel. I highly recommend this course to anybody, even fresh graduates/students.

By Joshua P

Nov 21, 2017

Very well laid out course, concise, yet very informative. I consider myself high intermediate at Excel and use it a lot on the job, but I still learned plenty and shored up some gaps in my knowledge. I highly recommend this for nearly all levels of proficiency.

By Ankita K

Apr 27, 2020

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel was my second online course through Coursera. It really helped me in clarifying my doubts and increase my learning in data analysis. My favorite and most challenging topic of the course was VLOOKUP and Pivot Table.

By Joseph G

Dec 11, 2017

Videos were particularly well crafted and made with obvious care. Lecturer spoke slowly, understandably to specific examples. Downloadable link to the exact excel sheet the professor is using is provided. Learned a few shortcuts I didn't know existed.

By moses l

Jun 25, 2017

Am happy to have completed this course because it has really helped me in achieving my goals and learning new skills in modifying my data to the extend of producing the expected results as a data analyst you have brilliant instructors..

Thank you.

By Randeen P

Jul 10, 2021

Very informative