Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
9,010 ratings
2,040 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SS
Apr 27, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW
May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filter by:

1576 - 1600 of 2,044 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By Fabio L G Á

Aug 8, 2020

Very good course for beginners. Lessons are clear and time use is flawless.

The only setback is, the course is a little bit outdated. They use Excel 2013 I think . Videos quality could be higher cause 720p in a wide monitor (mine isn't even that big, just 23.8'') looks blurry.

By Uwe H

Aug 17, 2018

Course is very interactive and new items are always learned. Pivot tables section was the best. Areas of improvement: 1) Update course with Excel 2016 SW (menu difference and defaults) 2, Exam questions are sometimes poorly written, and makes one wonder what is being asked.

By Dannie L T Y

May 29, 2020

The course is very informative. During the video, the professor makes it so easy. I understand it perfectly. However, when it comes to the exercises, it becomes challenging. I wish that for us who had passed the course, a full copy of the files/explanations were given to us.

By Colin P

Apr 18, 2018

Solid intro excel course. I competed in < 1 week, w/prior excel skills/knowledge (It would of taken longer if I didn't have excel experience/skills). Pivot tables and charts are very relevant for business analytics, so I think the skills learned can be applied immediately.

By Ariel D

Mar 5, 2017

I found out I already knew alot of the beginning material in this course. So I just used this course for learning Vlookup, Hlookup, and pivot tables. The histogram section was a nice refresher if you have taken a statistical class before. Very helpful and great examples.

By Lauren V

Apr 23, 2020

Video quality could be better. Disappointing to not have real-time opportunities to get help/ask questions. Having only forums and no office hours or chat is pretty frustrating since it means having to potentially pause learning for days until there is a response.

By Gabriele S

Sep 3, 2020

The length of the course is very overestimated: for every quiz they have counted 30 minutes but there are only two (extremely easy) questions (like: "What if I write =1+2?").

Four stars because it is probably helpful for those who have never used Excel.

By ankit s

May 31, 2017

The course is pretty good and equips to develop excellent skill set. The course is fun to learn and gets you involved completely. However, I request to give solution to the quiz which will help us to know appropriate solution to the requested problem.

By Mahmoud A M

May 9, 2020

This course gives an overall insight into how to look at the data and get the required information and result from the so money numbers utilizing Microsoft Excel. a good starter for data analysis career and the first step in excelling the Excel.

By Sanskar D

Apr 18, 2020

It was a valuable session for me. The videos were easy to understand and practice. The quiz at the end was also equally helpful in learning as it was based on practical problems rather than theory based.

Thank you overall I enjoyed this lesson

By Jessica C W L

Oct 19, 2020

Would like to suggest the lecture video sound should be louder. It is a little difficult to hear when the lecturer is giving a lecture. On the other hand, it should have a little more example or example given should be closer to the quiz.

By Yeasin A A

May 25, 2020

The Course overall was well arranged and well constructed. Helped me a lot. Only complaint I have is that the lesson on "Pivot Table" was quite hasty. You should one extra lesson on practicing "Pivot Table" problems and related resources.

By yogitha n

May 24, 2018

I loved the course overall. Each and every aspect of the course are explained clearly and quiz after every lesson is a good idea. But questions in week3 cumulative quiz are not easily understandable else everything went great. Thank you!

By Georgios R

Sep 14, 2017

Very useful overall, some improvement can be made in the way certain quiz questions are stated and in developing more specific FAQs for excel compatibility issues that users might face. All in all a very good experience.

By Santiago R R

Jul 20, 2020

The only thing I didn't like was the practice quizzes which were too many and too interruptive of the natural course flow in my opinion. Everything else makes for a very nice course to get started with data analysis.

By Dr. C D

Oct 7, 2020

The course is a great reviewer for those of us who stopped creating business reports. The sample files and demonstration need to be updated to show the new look of Microsoft 365 and how to change chart features.

By Maha E

Mar 12, 2021

unfortunately, I can not finish this course because I need to upgrade, but according to where I am, I'm not allowed to do so. but the course was super reliable I love it and benefit a lot from it. thanks a lot

By Yang Y

Aug 19, 2020

Would appreciate if the question is answered incorrectly the explanation is given as some questions are not easily understood. Would like to see more analytical tools used, example power query, power BI etc.

By Sumi J

Dec 20, 2020

Overall was good and it would be good to have some basic excel skills before signing up for this course. Quiz questions can be improved as some were confusing or little bit hard to understand the question.

By Kasonde B

Oct 11, 2020

The course is good. Well outlined with good content and meaningful explanations and examples. The videos are short with precise content. The images though were not so clear. All in all, a very good course.

By Benil J

Nov 28, 2020

The course was just amazing. Before starting this course, i had only little knowledge of excel, but now i have learned a lot and i am confident enough that this will help me doing excellent data analysis

By Amey K

May 15, 2020

Thank you Coursera provide me platform to learn how excel will use to solve business problem and how to use of excel tool for data analysis. Instructor was provide us valuable information through video.

By ANIL K A

Jul 31, 2021

It is helpful in understanding the basic skills for projected the data in appropriate and understand format using pivot,v lookup,hlookup,various charts,Thank you Axis bank for giving the opportunity .

By Harsh J

Oct 19, 2018

The course is good . It gives emmense knowldege about how to analyse a data using powerful convinient and fast excel tools. Though its a basic course but good for those whose excel is not that strong.

By SIVASUBRAMANIAM S

Nov 18, 2020

Excellent content and demonstration tailored to be a beginner friendly course and it provides a solid grasp on data analysis using popular excel software with intuitive video lectures and exercises.