Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel by Rice University

4.7
stars
8,927 ratings
2,032 reviews

About the Course

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top reviews

SS
Apr 27, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

SW
May 25, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 2,033 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

By Deleted A

Apr 27, 2018

Complete approach of basic skills and tools. Capable educator. Suitable for users who already grasp

basic functions of excel and fundamental notions of mathematics and analytical thinking.

Thank you for the course!

By Rick M

Jan 1, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Dr. Borle broke the concepts down into small, manageable chunks and explained at a pace that was easy to understand and apply. Highly recommend, even for experienced Excel users.

By Cayla C

Jul 29, 2018

Perfect course! I really enjoyed the lectures. Some quizzes were very challenging, but rewatch the video - I followed along with him on excel and just listened while I followed his instructions the second time.

By Aparna T

Aug 13, 2020

Really a good course for beginners .this course covers major functions in excel.the course delivery and presentation is also really good. Got an overall idea about presentation and analysis of data using excel.

By AISHWARYA A

Aug 31, 2021

Very well structured and lucidly explained. I really enjoyed working through the practice quizzes and listening to the videos. Overall, an amazing course for getting started with Excel. Would highly recommend!

By SWARNAVO P

Jun 15, 2018

Dear sir,I audited this course but I must tell you that this course had helped me a lot to learn about excel.Thank you to teacher and of course to coursera for providing such a high level course to us.Cheers!

By Tran D N P

Oct 15, 2021

The course is very helpful. Although I have learned about Excel before, I still struggle to find solutions and proper ways to complete the tasks. Overall, the course gave me satisfactory knowledge and skills

By Vemu S S

Mar 31, 2021

This is a very basic & beginner course for all who are looking for data analysis and also to learn some basic excel functions. The instructor explained it very well in every session. totally worth your time.

By Akash K S

Aug 26, 2020

It is easy to follow. The videos are short enough to keep you engaged and focused. I knew the basics so it was very easy for me. I would recommend this course as a good starting point for complete beginners.

By harsh s

Jul 11, 2020

The course was exceptionally good and it gives a bird's eye view of the different important and basic concepts in excel. Would recommend this course to anyone who love data analytics and want to pursue it.

By Abhik M

Jun 3, 2020

Very satisfied with the instructor, but just one suggestion to the coursera team, please explain the graded quiz questions more properly, so that it can be easily understood by mediocre people like myself.

By Shady N S

Nov 26, 2018

This course is amazing. It's for beginners as well. It teaches you the basic of data analysis using Excel. While you will enjoy taking this course, I encourage you to take the whole specialization as well.

By SODIQ O O

Jul 12, 2020

An awesome course that gives you valuable knowledge in data analysis using excel, it makes you explore some unique features on Microsoft excel i.e you get to exploit some of the potentials of the software

By Akshay A

Aug 2, 2017

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. The subject matter was explained in a perfect manner. Also the user interface on coursera is very good. In totality it was a great learning experience.

By edith

Mar 27, 2019

Instructor did an amazing job in making this course easy to follow, understand and retain. The excel spreadsheets needed for each lesson were provided and downloadable.

Will look for more of his courses

By Prem A

Sep 17, 2017

It was a great experience through this course.The course contents and the materials are very good to learn the basic of Excel. And the discussion forum is also very helpful for doing well in the course.

By Aditya

Dec 6, 2020

This is the best course to get an introductory hands-on experience with Excel for data analysis. The instructor is awesome and the exercises provided are just perfect for understanding the concepts.

By Kirk R

Jun 5, 2021

All of the information in this course helped me learn functions in excel that I have prior experience in. The content of this course will definitely help me in the future when working with excel.

By Indranil R

Apr 26, 2020

Dr. Borle's excellent grasp on Excel makes it really worthwhile. I needed to learn some basic functions which would help me in my data analysis using excel sheet & this course helped me do that.

By Eva A S M

Aug 2, 2018

Excelente curso, los videos cortos, buena calidad de audio y video, ayudan muchos los ejemplos y también los archivos que nos dan para nosotros practicar y el contenido es muy fácil de entender.

By Abhinav T D

May 24, 2021

The instructor is very good. Really impressed with the way he teach. The course is very informative and I would highly recommend this course to those who want to learn Excel from the beginning.

By Rakshit

Jan 16, 2021

This course started from absolute scratch by considering zero knowledge on the topic of excel and Data Analysis by using Excel and gradually gave depth in complete understanding of the topic.

By Willard V

Dec 26, 2020

I never knew I could be this much interested with Excel after having learned some of the interesting features of Excel. I can hardly wait to put this to actual use in our company.

Thank you!!

By Christina T

Jul 30, 2021

Quite easy and understandable to learn especially for beginners! Quizzes are easy as well, but the tests in the end teach you the most. Lessons teach you all the necessary things to succeed.

By Parul D

Sep 24, 2020

Absolutely loved the course. Plenty of practice assignments to keep one engrossed and also get hands on experience. The quality of quizzes was also good, it did test all the concepts taught.