Chevron Left
Back to Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 3 (Projects)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 3 (Projects) by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
stars
418 ratings

About the Course

In this course, learners will complete several VBA projects. It is highly recommended that learners first take "Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" and "Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 2". This course builds off of skills learned in those two courses. This is a project-based course. Therefore, the projects are quite open-ended and there are multiple ways to solve the problems. Through the use of Peer Review, other learners will grade learners' projects based on a grading rubric....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 2, 2021

This is one of the best courses I have take so far. Real problem solving projects make this part (part 3) challenging as well as exciting. It sets you up for taking challenges of your own projects.

DC

Sep 27, 2018

Projects were enjoyable and challenging. Instructor is excellent -- does a great job of explaining the material and interacting with learners. Content very relevant to real-world projects.

Filter by:

126 - 137 of 137 Reviews for Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 3 (Projects)

By Shi Z

Dec 21, 2020

I really like part 1 part 2. I really like the projects in part 3 and learned a lot during the process. Honestly, however, I don't like peer review. Sometimes it's unfair and waits too long to get 3 peers review. Hope this will be improved in the future

By Michael C

Mar 13, 2021

Quite a nice course overall! Very tricky projects but they fit in the essence of creative problem solving. Would have liked to do a project with file management in the intermediate difficulty (still have yet to do honors content)

By francesco n

Jan 26, 2020

I like it . Well done and clear.

I would prefer less macro with userform and more macro with special funcionality ( sent mail, hide macro, protect sheet and cells in excell, ect..)

By Pablo I

Jan 20, 2020

Great course! I've learned new and very productive skills that will enhance my capabilities. Sometimes peer review does not work as expected because. This is an issue to improve.

By Deviatkin V

Jan 25, 2020

This peer check thing is kind of frustrating as there are not so many peers so it takes too much time

By Pardha S K

Oct 17, 2022

Good course. It can get complicated if you are completely new to VBA or Excel.

By Qinghu L

Jan 10, 2021

Very nice project. Nevertheless, there are some settings to be updated.

By Lowell D

Jul 25, 2019

This was much more difficult. Peer grading was challenging.

By Ronan R V

Aug 4, 2020

nice course but it was really hard the Math Parth!

By Christine M

Jun 10, 2022

I've completed all my assignments, even completed the "Honors" assignment. Unfortunately, it's difficult to actually obtain the certification. Waiting for others to review your assignment takes aggressive campaigning on the Discussion Forums. Even after getting graded, I still don't have my certificate. Right now, it's June of 2022. The instructor is on paternity leave through December of 2022 -- great for his baby; not so great for his Coursera students. It is unclear if he has a backup to handle queries. Therefore, I deducted a star or two. If I get my certificate in a timely manner, I will change my rating.

As far as content of the course, it's good, although very engineering-oriented. I felt that I was able to complete the assignments because I have a good grasp of math and logic, plus 25+ years of Excel and VBA experience under my belt. I was surprised that some debugging tools like the Immediate Window and debug.print statements were completely overlooked, but it is possible to code without them. Information on the 'Personal Macro Workbook' would be helpful in an introductory course. There are a number of things that aren't covered in this course, however, it's a good start to Excel/VBA and should lead to more investigation and learning opportunities. I did learn a few additional tricks from the series of these 3 courses, which made it worth my time. I'm always looking to improve my VBA skills.

Now if I can just get the certificate that I worked and paid for... <sigh>

By Franziska K

Aug 9, 2021

Initially, I was excited by the concept of this course: developing your own projects and having them graded by your peers. However, in practice, this tested my determination... There were quite some variables one could not necessarily control: time differences, differences in Excel settings like which decimal separator someone used, how many people were currently submitting their work for you grade and would also grade your work in turn.

In retrospect, I would have preferred this course to be structurally similar to the first two, which helped my coding immensly. Since I already do code projects in my everyday work, the approach of this course did not help me develop me skills further.

One concrete tip for the organizers of this course, be it Coursera or Charlie: If one has to resubmit their work after initially failing, one should have to grade three peers once more, otherwise this system just doesn't work!

By Kristopher M J

May 6, 2019

Course material was great, and continued to learn a lot in VBA. The peer grading process did not work very smoothly and was a general headache to deal with. Much preferred the way assignments worked in parts 1 and 2.