Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.5
2,453 ratings
531 reviews

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC

Dec 15, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM

Feb 22, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 524 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Nguyễn H M

Sep 02, 2015

Simple; Understandable. Very Thank you for ur lectures!!!!

By Nicolas A

Apr 27, 2016

It was a good course but there were things missing, such as exercises and more examples.

By Suzan A

Feb 02, 2017

The formulas were very clear and the examples were very useful for understanding the financial side of the business.

By Sabrina P T

Nov 20, 2016

Enjoyed this module right. I felt it was quite fast and just skimmed over certain topics but I definitely learnt more than I did and looking forward to learning in more details.

By Alan B

May 19, 2016

The instructor is fantastic. He is clear, concise and easy to understand. I found the class to be very informative and enjoyable. Thank you.

By Clairol M T

Mar 10, 2017

Needs more examples

By Mohammed F A

Feb 05, 2016

A quick and very rich course, it is highly recommended for both:

1- non-financial people who are interested in finance and accounting to understand basics and;

2- instructors "like me" who wanted to help their friends who want to help people from number 1

By Gerardo i H M

Feb 13, 2017

very good. but in general needs more explanations in the videos and

If you introduce more languages ​​it would be better

By Maya B

Feb 13, 2017

Definitely a great course for beginners. The pace is great and the exposure to key terms is very beneficial.

By Ariel B

Jan 09, 2018

Complex financial terminology is sometimes glossed over and not thoroughly explained (for a purely non-finance professional this was hard to keep up). The information was useful and will be helpful in understanding future financial discussions in my role.

By Rafael E V

Jan 22, 2017

Very general but it shows the basics of finance. I wish it would had been a little more deep, but it shows what's necessary.

By Alejandro G

Feb 09, 2016

Very good course, easy to understand but it also lacks detail.

By Alexandre S

Mar 10, 2018

gave me a sense of finance and the teacher was very clear but the language was the biggest barrier.

By alejandro t n

Feb 01, 2016

Bueno y sencillo de comprender

By Franz A

Oct 21, 2016

excelente curso para tener una visión más amplia de las finanzas

By Raghvendra M

Aug 14, 2015

Brillaint short introduction to finance for non-finance professionals

By Черненко Р А

Sep 04, 2015

The cource was to easy for me. I expected more

By Yv T

May 23, 2017

As a non-Finance person, it's a great overview on the basic terms in Finance. However, I feel like the knowledge won't stick long-term.

By Borja O

Aug 10, 2015

Practical, quicky and easy.

By Pawan K M

Feb 10, 2016

Good course for Non-finance people or people who interact too much with the financial chaps. With this course, One will not sit as a duck from the next time he / she sit in the business plan or other meetings, where price, cost, revenue, profit, performance, etc are disuccsed.

By Nilesh J

Mar 09, 2016

This is a good course for non-finance folk. My only wish is that the assignments or the lectures had more examples where we could practice and find out if we are making mistakes or getting things right. More math please! Highly recommended for anyone wishing to enter the world of P/E ratios, discounted cash flows, ROIs etc.

By Rishi A

Jan 25, 2016

Simple and important concepts that everyone should know. Took this self paced course and understood all the videos. I wish the course could have more information on Finance which is useful for entrepreneurs.

By Alison G

Jun 04, 2018

Content was great, but the lectures were a bit hard to follow. (Sometimes the content was repeated more than once).

By Natharat M

Dec 28, 2015

The lectures are quick and concise. The lecturer speaks very clearly and gives great examples that illustrate the concepts well.

By Muhammad A

Jan 27, 2016

Good basic course if you have no background in Finance. Reviews the important concepts that can get you along easily.