Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I by Columbia University

4.6
stars
2,217 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Top reviews

DP
Mar 8, 2020

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
Jul 11, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 428 Reviews for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

By Joris D

Oct 18, 2015

The course provides a very thorough introduction on the basic models and mechanisms by which various financial products are priced. One issue I had, was that the quiz questions sometimes used terminology or jargon for which the link with the material covered in the videos was not always immediately obvious. Also, the course, especially the later modules, heavily relies on Microsoft Excel, which some people might not be willing to pay hard cash for. It is possible to pass by doing the assignments with e.g. Python, but it's a lot of work, and not for the faint of heart.

By DU Y (

Jun 9, 2019

The instructor didn't make the his lesson easy to follow. The lecture materials were not reader-friendly.

By Ishaan K

Dec 10, 2017

please help with questions given as test for better clearity.

By Michael J

Aug 16, 2016

Unfortunately, no tutors/instructors present to supervise the course, which made inconsistencies between course material (slides, videos) and solutions calculated for assignments horribly annoying to deal with, especially for someone like me new to the topic. Further, the solver addin (needed for the week 6 assignment) is not consistent across different excel versions and libre calc, which resulted in a whole lot of guesswork to pass this assignment. I'm sorry to say the course never came close to my expectations, despite the very interesting topic. Would not recommend.

By Marjolein E V

Mar 21, 2016

The teacher in the first few weeks is hard to follow; it sounds like he reads from a paper and he barely writes anything on the slides. It sounds like every sentence he says is crucial to understand, which is hard to follow. The other teacher does a much better job at this. The course would also greatly benefit with exercise material so you get a better feeling of calculating these things.

By Guilherme G

Aug 19, 2019

Classes have a few numerical examples.

The teachers don't have didactics, they just read the slides.

By Firuz K

Oct 13, 2015

Low quality slides. Monotone lecturing style.

By Haris M S

Feb 16, 2019

No help was granted during the practice of the course. I din't find the course helpful for future growth in a company as company doesn't consider it to be as professional.

By Jonathan W

Mar 24, 2017

The only reason i passed was because i ignored the lectures and asked others for help, once i did that finance became a lot easier to understand.

By Vanessa F

Jan 14, 2017

I think that the simply reading slides doesn't help people understand. The idea is to make this courses as accessible as possible.

By Longfei L

Jan 15, 2017

It's terrible if one wants to accomplish the quiz using Garud Iyengar's Notes!! Examples in his notes were not well explained!!

By Ziping D

Dec 27, 2015

It is a little sad that the materials taught were not matching test materials well in the quiz.

By Jason S

Dec 23, 2015

This course is a great, from the perspective of how it is organized as well as the assignments provided at the end of each module. The way the content layout is well-suited and leads student step by step gaining insight to the mechanics of different financial derivatives and working on those assignments is a great method of pushing student spend time to understand how the mechanics works.

Both instructors are great! and I appreciated greatly their effort as well as Coursera.

The only one improvement I would suggest is that if a TA can be assigned for this course, it'll be a great help to all students.

Thanks!

By Erick G

Aug 11, 2015

The content of this course is apropiate for drive the finances and risk, We be lear more about this course

I am Engenier in Sofware, the know of finances is aplicable in anyware software.

By Kolybina A

Nov 26, 2017

The material is clear stated, the volume and the deepness of the course is substantial, the supplements are very helpful. The spreadsheets can even use as basis for practice modelling.

By Marco D L

Jun 10, 2017

Great course. However to get the highest score in the assignments you are sometimes required to understand concepts not explained in the videos or slides.

By Orazio B

Dec 1, 2015

A very interested course. Only suggestion:

a. if possibile more interation with the professors

b. being more realistic in the case studies

By Mbakisi

Jun 7, 2020

It is an interesting course that introduces you to the various models used in financial engineering. I would recommend it to anyone aspiring to become a Quant and seeking to lay a foundation in that field. However there is room for improvement as the material will not have settled down before the introduction of new material as the weeks go by.

By Zhen Y

Jan 30, 2018

Some unnecessarily introduced math formula hamper the understanding of the subject itself. Lack of simple, straightforward definition of finance terms.

By Ajay S

Sep 3, 2015

Three stars for course structure, two stars less for every poor course material which doesn't contain any guidance to test questions.

By Pengchong L

Dec 31, 2017

Lots of practical exercises with not enough explanations on the underlying reasoning/theory.

By Weijia C

Jul 18, 2017

Some of the knowledge points lack good examples to support and prove.

By cornelispaulus@hotmail.com

Jul 8, 2018

InterestIngHOwever,IwouldliketoseemorenumerIcalexamples

By Mansi B

May 3, 2020

I find the explanation very hard to catch up to. Even the simple examples seem very vague and it just seems like going through random equations and theorems. Maybe its the syllabus, but its not that easy to grasp and make sense of. I have studied complex financial concepts but using equations is new and despite having a thorough background in financial studies, i find it difficult to grasp. I think once the topic is introduced, it should be developed on further instead of discussing other concepts briefly. Without much understanding of the first concept, moving onto just a brief discussion of of another topic seems confusing and easy to forget. I am still trying to get through the course and its a little challenging to get finish the slides.

By Sooraj V

Oct 30, 2020

After seeing the name and the description I signed up for this course. But the stupid professor is simply reading the slides. I felt very bad about the way he teaches. He talks with a stoic face with zero emotion and completely failed to create any interest in me. I never expected such kind of a quality from such a good university. Very bad choice.