Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I by Columbia University

4.6
stars
2,187 ratings
422 reviews

About the Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Top reviews

MM
Jul 11, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

AZ
Jul 17, 2020

A very well designed course! I knew some topics prior to the course and it helped me to strengthen my knowledge on derivative market systematically, particularly on interest rate derivatives

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 416 Reviews for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

By LENDRICK R

Aug 5, 2017

Makes clear concepts I've been struggling with; for me, understanding equals easier to digest and remember. :-) Well done.

By Sarthak P

Sep 16, 2020

A well-Planned course for any finance world enthusiast who wishes to learn more about the field of Quantitative Finance.

By Manuel V G

Apr 28, 2020

Un curso perfecto para introducirse en la Ingeniería Financiera y entender el funcionamiento de los modelos financieros

By Kobe G

May 11, 2019

This course is really challgenging yet provides a very good overview of diffrent financial insturments. Higly recommend

By MARIO Z A

Apr 15, 2018

Excellent course. The best in his category, the way that teaches the financial management is the mathematical approach.

By Lars E P

Apr 27, 2017

Excellent introductory course to the subject! Requires some basic math (and programming if you are not an excel fan)

By Julia R

Jul 2, 2020

Lot of work! it is very hard and intensive but it gives an update of financial tools required in capital markets.

By Jona M

Jun 10, 2018

Excellent course! I very good first dive in the world of financial engineering. Can't wait to enroll for part II

By 何欣

Jul 31, 2017

Fascinating course covering all kinds of financial products, a great preparation course for higher grade study.

By Chi Z

Dec 30, 2018

Wonderful topics! Just suffered from EXCEL these days? It is better to provide some python or R codes.

Dars

By Arefo E

Nov 1, 2018

It's very insightful and eye-opening for me, since this course topic is not quite popular in my country

By Wanyuan X

May 23, 2019

Very useful skills, need some basic knowledge of mathematics, hard to complete, but very deliverable.

By Longzhan J

Sep 12, 2016

looking forward to lots of self-learning experience!! might be needed for my master program later on.

By Sirick-Martial E

Nov 12, 2020

This course was really interesting. It allowed me to know the fundamentals of financial engineering.

By Abanob R

May 4, 2017

not an easy course but it worth the hard work , i learned a lot from it and I enjoyed it very much

By Vidal L G

Feb 8, 2017

It's a very nice course for those of you who interested in financial engineering. Highly recommended

By Hsin-Hung ( W

Oct 22, 2017

It's really a tough course that gives me really valuable knowledge regarding the financial models.

By Reuven A

Feb 10, 2016

Great course. I learned a lot and I'm fucking master in Financial engineering so it's a good sign

By Rohan T

Mar 30, 2019

The material was excellent. Thank you for making this course and putting it on a public platform

By Do H L

Nov 20, 2015

This course is rigourous, the quizzes are challenging. I hope they provide more practice quizzes

By Liublu B

Aug 21, 2015

Excellent, well done course and an opportunity to touch some topics on finance very interesting

By shreemoyee s

May 11, 2020

Great material, a little harder exercises than most coursera courses, but definitely worth it!

By Srinivas N

Dec 9, 2016

Great learning experience. Learnt the various concepts on financial modelling and related topi

By Rafail G

Sep 14, 2016

Very good for basic understanding of FInEng field. Especially on Binomial Model. Many thanks.

By Raymond L

Jan 25, 2016

Very technical-based teaching style, great experience with substantial amount of calculation.