Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I by Columbia University

4.6
stars
2,245 ratings
441 reviews

About the Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Top reviews

DP
Mar 8, 2020

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
Jul 11, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 435 Reviews for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

By Zhenghao L

May 11, 2017

Some of the models are not what's really used on the street. e.g. Street uses SABR and Black-73 to price swaptions. The quiz instruction is also a bit amibious for some questions.

By Keith N

Jul 5, 2020

A lot of the concepts got hidden in numeric outcomes. I understand why the format made that necessary, but it led to time intensive homeworks on relatively simple concepts.

By Ni Z (

Apr 3, 2018

A very quantitative course for people who want to learn how to calculate the risk for particular products. Course does not include coding but uses spreadsheet instead.

By Felix J

Feb 1, 2017

very good course. the exercises are very useful to review the material but it seems that rounding errors can make the difference between right and wrong.

By Michael D

May 23, 2020

Very good course. Informative. Sometimes quizzes were annoying to get the rounding correctly however that is minor issue compare to knowledge gained.

By Luis V

Aug 23, 2020

I thought that the course was very interesting and that the concepts were clearly explained. However, the quizzes could have been harder.

By Gello M V

Dec 22, 2015

The course is good. Would be better if there are more examples given and lively interaction with fellow learners on the forums though.

By Kramer O C

Jul 28, 2020

A very hard course, I think that the videos ha ve to show more practical problems to get the exams more understanding.

By Huynh C D

Aug 8, 2015

This course provide with a lot of useful knowledge about financial market and different types of securities as well.

By Hjalmar E

Dec 14, 2020

Very good material in lectures and slides. Tests could be more extensive for us to get more out of the course.

By Zhao H

Aug 21, 2015

I would like to see the discussion forum back. That will help debugging the answers to the quiz.

By Antonio A

Dec 3, 2015

have not finished it yet , but a very good course so far, a lot theory mixed with exercises.

By Vivek S

Apr 24, 2017

Excellent course content supported with relevant excel sheets. Requires rigorous practi

By Aaron C

Dec 29, 2015

Inconsitencies in instructions and information for some assignments otherwise very good

By SIDIBE A B

Feb 27, 2018

This course help me to understand correctly the world of financial engineering. Thanks

By Kieran M

Jan 19, 2017

Great course. Level of support from the mentors was non existent though.

By D K

Jul 30, 2019

This course I quite hard and demanding, this also makes it challenging!

By Anshul S T

Apr 18, 2020

Good use of complex mathematical models to price derivative securities

By Oliver O

Jun 18, 2017

Very Good and instructive. The Excel sheets are good to have as tools.

By Javier d P

Apr 6, 2020

Perfectly structured and easy learning. Can't wait for doing part II

By Nitin B

Jan 2, 2020

Good course to sharpen your skills for a job in financial services.

By Hilmi E

Jun 3, 2017

Excellent overview .. Good assignments that enhance the lectures..

By Benjamin S K

Jun 14, 2020

easy to understand but hard to solve quizs..(chooser option...!)

By Déodat V

Apr 18, 2017

Really good insight into the pricing of financial instruments

By Michael S

Jan 18, 2018

there is one flaw that the video is kind of obscured.