Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I by Columbia University

4.6
stars
2,220 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

Top reviews

DP
Mar 8, 2020

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
Jul 11, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 429 Reviews for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I

By Luca C

Mar 2, 2020

Great course ! Very clear materials and challenging tests. Just too much focused on mathematic formulas rather than financial principles. I would definitely reccomend it to anybody willing to learn more about derivatives and other sophisticated financial instruments in general.

By RAMESH R

Oct 19, 2018

I have spent lot of time on this course, it is really excellent. Due to the concentrated information, it takes more time for me to learn the subject. Everything is explained very well with detailed notes on the topics. I hope I will finish this course one-day. Thanks

By Antonio A

Jan 24, 2021

Maybe some more guided exercise session would be beneficial to students. To move from theoretical lessons to practical quiz session without preparation is not good. I'd also suggest to suggest students some specific book, just to offer a more guided preparation

By Hsuan-Chen P

Oct 26, 2017

The entire course contents are really helpful and valuable. Professors explained the lecture clearly and the tutor was also really willing to help students with any questions. I'm going to continue taking the Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part 2.

By Ignacio T S

Nov 10, 2020

Great course, but be ready for a substantial effort. Time allocation needed is very variable, sometimes the course expectations did not met the real time allocation, but this depends a lot on the starting skills and how used we are to computing.

By Stuart S

Dec 7, 2020

I think the formulae were too technical without providing the rationale (give the starving africans a bag of rice or teach them how to grow food). The understanding of the why is important to the understanding of the formula and their use

By Yufei S

Jun 9, 2016

Nice course, covers a wide aspect of materials. However, much of theories are not that easy to understand, so it would be better if the instructors could add a little bit more real-world examples/applications of these theories.

By Anirban M

Aug 30, 2019

This is a well-structured course who has a basic understanding of finance and wants to steer into financial engineering. The course contents are highly relevant and examples in the spreadsheets provided are very intuitive.

By Paulo O

May 16, 2020

Very good course for those who, like me, had never been exposed to financial engineering in the past. I strongly recommend it if you come from a technical background and are willing to develop and broaden your skills.

By 李文倩

Mar 28, 2016

It is not an intro class. This course is challenging particularly when you are not an English Native. In this course the most frequently used model is binomial model that can be fairly dealt with in the Excel sheet.

By Garen V

Jan 30, 2017

Eye-opening and powerful crash course introducing to the life of a quant. Problem is in the discussion forums, where there is very little interaction with mentors and week-long (or more delays) in getting feedback.

By Richard D

Sep 21, 2016

Pretty cool course. I hope they come out with two course sequences, one based more on theory that doesn't back away from stochastic calc so much, and another on practical methods using something other than excel.

By rajat c

Jun 13, 2020

The assignments are well designed to motivate you to think and employe learnings from the course. The instructors teach skills very clearly. I liked the helper videos provided additionally with the course.

By Sahil S

Mar 26, 2020

The video explain the concepts based on formula and derivation of the formula. However, i would suggest that more numerical example would lead to easy understanding for anyone from non- technical side.

By Jürg D

Dec 10, 2015

Very well presented, structured and selected material, easy to follow, relevant and interesting. Quizz problems are well thought through and have a reasonable degree of difficulty and length.

By Zara D

Sep 9, 2020

Extremely hard for someone like me who is trying to do this as a complete novice, need time to understand, no feedback on quizzes so if you are stuck, you need to spend a lot of time on this

By LUIS F A G

Jun 30, 2020

Es un curso bastante completo y bien explicado pero requieres de una base previa de conocimientos matemáticos y financieros para poder sacarle el mayor provecho. Lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Rahul S

May 25, 2020

Great course for knowledge. Still in some part of the course, the course content and level of graded questions doesn't match. At least not all but should have given insights about it.

By Andrzej L

Oct 20, 2018

Good content, especially liked how professor Haugh explained things. Some assignments could have clearer instructions - but discussion forums are useful to troubleshoot the problems.

By Zhenghao L

May 11, 2017

Some of the models are not what's really used on the street. e.g. Street uses SABR and Black-73 to price swaptions. The quiz instruction is also a bit amibious for some questions.

By Keith N

Jul 5, 2020

A lot of the concepts got hidden in numeric outcomes. I understand why the format made that necessary, but it led to time intensive homeworks on relatively simple concepts.

By Ni Z (

Apr 3, 2018

A very quantitative course for people who want to learn how to calculate the risk for particular products. Course does not include coding but uses spreadsheet instead.

By Felix J

Feb 1, 2017

very good course. the exercises are very useful to review the material but it seems that rounding errors can make the difference between right and wrong.

By Michael D

May 23, 2020

Very good course. Informative. Sometimes quizzes were annoying to get the rounding correctly however that is minor issue compare to knowledge gained.

By Luis V

Aug 23, 2020

I thought that the course was very interesting and that the concepts were clearly explained. However, the quizzes could have been harder.