Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II by Columbia University

4.7
stars
529 ratings
79 reviews

About the Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field involving finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part II will be on the use of simple stochastic models to (i) solve portfolio optimization problems (ii) price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities and credit and (iii) consider some advanced applications of financial engineering including algorithmic trading and the pricing of real options. We will also consider the role that financial engineering played during the financial crisis. We hope that students who complete the course and the prerequisite course (FE & RM Part I) will have a good understanding of the "rocket science" behind financial engineering. But perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism....

Top reviews

SY

Jun 08, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. The quizzes were challenging but really forced me to think through the problems. The forums were very helpful when I got stuck. Thanks Professors!

MU

Aug 23, 2018

One of the best courses available on Coursera! If you're interested in Quantitative Finance or trying to get a good idea of what financial engineering entails, please take this course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 74 Reviews for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

By Hao Y

Sep 10, 2017

It is really a great course on financial engineering! I have learned much from it, very useful and suggestive!

By 仇艺蒙

Feb 16, 2016

I choose this course maybe september at 2015. however, i haven't take this course till now:)

By Mikhail Z

Nov 09, 2017

Excellent course that builds on and expands the concepts learned in Part 1.

By Shubhaditya D

Nov 25, 2019

I was able to absorb vast concepts without much difficulty! Great Course!

By Jorge H F

Mar 27, 2017

Useful in general, it is not very advanced but gives you a good overview.

By Oluwatobiloba A

Aug 27, 2019

I am really pleased with the content and delivery of the course

By ZE H Z

Aug 23, 2017

very good course. Part II focuses more on asset allocation.

By Evgeniy Z

Nov 13, 2017

Enjoyed this course, very good lectures and assignments.

By marco z

Apr 02, 2018

nice course but more pratice exercises won't hurt

By Mikhailov R

Jul 25, 2017

Some tasks were unclear, but overall great course

By Aydar M

Feb 28, 2016

Just what I need to prepare for CFA Level 2!

By Yunfei C

Sep 28, 2017

great course, great TA and great professors

By weiziang

Aug 23, 2015

Following this course, and many FE books

By Donald M

Dec 30, 2015

really good lecture ! support it !

By Simon K

Feb 01, 2019

Challengin and iteresting course.

By HP F

May 30, 2017

Very good introductory course!

By Chi Z

Jan 22, 2019

Excellent but challenging

By Andrea

Jun 27, 2016

Great, excellent, super !

By Maxim K

May 29, 2016

Great course! Thank you!)

By Zongrui H

Jan 12, 2020

mathematical and useful

By 严晓琦

Jun 19, 2017

challenging and useful

By Ishmeet S

May 07, 2018

Tough but good!

By Pham V T

May 22, 2017

Very good. :P

By Brian W

Dec 01, 2016

Great course!

By Roberto P G J

May 06, 2017

Very good