Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II by Columbia University

4.7
stars
620 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field involving finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part II will be on the use of simple stochastic models to (i) solve portfolio optimization problems (ii) price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities and credit and (iii) consider some advanced applications of financial engineering including algorithmic trading and the pricing of real options. We will also consider the role that financial engineering played during the financial crisis. We hope that students who complete the course and the prerequisite course (FE & RM Part I) will have a good understanding of the "rocket science" behind financial engineering. But perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism....

Top reviews

SY
Jun 7, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. The quizzes were challenging but really forced me to think through the problems. The forums were very helpful when I got stuck. Thanks Professors!

TR
Aug 30, 2020

Great course. It is very useful to get into Financial Engineering Topics. The tests are not easy, so every week presents a challenge that forces you to deeply understand what is being taught.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 99 Reviews for Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

By Ting-Yen T

Aug 9, 2020

In-depth content and well-supported forum.

By weiziang

Aug 23, 2015

Following this course, and many FE books

By Donald M

Dec 30, 2015

really good lecture ! support it !

By David P

Mar 19, 2020

Very nice course. Well explained.

By Simon K

Jan 31, 2019

Challengin and iteresting course.

By Misheck M G

Aug 30, 2020

tough course but worth acquiring

By HP F

May 30, 2017

Very good introductory course!

By Chi Z

Jan 22, 2019

Excellent but challenging

By Andrea

Jun 27, 2016

Great, excellent, super !

By Maxim K

May 29, 2016

Great course! Thank you!)

By Zongrui H

Jan 11, 2020

mathematical and useful

By 严晓琦

Jun 19, 2017

challenging and useful

By Ishmeet S

May 7, 2018

Tough but good!

By Pham V T

May 21, 2017

Very good. :P

By Brian W

Nov 30, 2016

Great course!

By Roberto p g j

May 6, 2017

Very good

By oscar

Dec 17, 2015

Excellent

By Asier L O

Nov 23, 2015

Wonderful

By KarenAleyda

Apr 8, 2020

Muy bien

By Jie C

Mar 7, 2017

Great!

By Jhon A A C

May 21, 2017

Good

By Vincent L

Jan 29, 2018

very informative, difficult, and covers all the major topics. It's a bit brief in some areas, but I wouldn't want to do it all in one module. I don't see how Hull is follow-up material. We covered theory, options and fixed income applications more in-depth but some of the practical, industry-specific content is not present in the Hull book.

By Surjeet R

Aug 13, 2020

Excellent course for finance & Risk professionals. Both professors are excellent, it was a pleasure to learn. I would request for part 3 where they can cover more concepts in market and counter party credit risk (this will complete the risk management aspect).

All in all a great course!!!.

By Ibrahim B

Nov 9, 2019

I think material and teaching is very good, but the lack of instructions on the quizzes makes it a 4/5 course rather than a 5/5. I understand that the quizzes are meant to be challenging, but some questions were written very poorly and could easily be misinterpreted

By rajat c

Aug 9, 2020

The content of the course is really useful, the explanation is always nice. The assignments are good but the questions are not clearly specified. The language of the questions and the instructions before the quiz should be improved.