Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Markets by Indian School of Business

4.6
stars
3,293 ratings
704 reviews

About the Course

Learn the general concepts of financial markets and economy. You will see the difference between primary and secondary markets and learn about markets for different products. You will also look at various economic Indicators and their influence on the markets. After completing this course, you will have a much stronger background of financial markets and ready to go to the next stage in the Specialization. This course is designed to help students with very little or no finance background to learn the basics of investments....

Top reviews

SI
May 28, 2020

The course is quite comprehensive and covers the fundamentals of financial markets in a manner that makes the subject instantly interesting and engenders curiosity among the students to learn further.

RS
Oct 7, 2019

Professor Vidya Nathan had delivered the training in simplistic manner which helps to understand the 5 modules and the contents.\n\nMay be if some data visualisation or hands on would further enhance

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 700 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Markets

By Rathod S V

Sep 26, 2020

Good

By Deleted A

Jun 22, 2020

Good

By SHREEVIDHYA M

Jun 21, 2020

good

By Mohammad k

Jun 14, 2020

....

By SAKSHITHA R

Jun 14, 2020

well

By Arpan J

Jun 12, 2020

good

By Shyam A

May 10, 2020

good

By SWETA D

May 4, 2020

Good

By Rucha W

Apr 24, 2020

good

By Utkrisht S

Apr 21, 2020

NIL

By Meenal S

Jul 9, 2021

n

By Bhuvana. P

Aug 12, 2020

5

By Pulkit S

May 15, 2020

V

By Aryan G

Apr 30, 2020

.

By Srikanth S

Aug 20, 2018

Course was good. Good for anyone who wants to get grounded on all aspects of the financial markets. I rated it only 4 star due to the following:

There were a few of the videos that were not well made, same sentence kept repeating a few times etc.. In one of the videos on bond markets, the example on how to interpret the bond price was not done correctly, i had to refer to other books to learn it properly. Lastly, would have loved it if this was done in the indian context rather than just talking about the US economy. For example, the macro economic factors affecting the indian economy would have been "slightly" different from the US economy, would have liked those nuances to have been covered as well, after all, this is a course endorsed by the "Indian" school of business.

By Sreecharan S

Apr 19, 2020

CONTENT: Surprisingly less focus on equity markets. Currency markets were probably the ones most extensively covered likely because the instructor professed that it's their personal investment focus. Overall, a good overview of equity, fixed income and currency markets as well as some macroeconomic indicators that affect all three.

METHOD OF DELIVERY: Just videos with some spot check quizzes and multiple choice assignments at the end of each unit. Discussion Forums had barely any activity. Could use improvement in more immersive methods of content delivery and more interesting assignments to create engagement among course participants.

OTHER FEEDBACK: Some videos (2-3) were badly edited. Instructor was very clear and easy to follow apart from that.

By Kshitiz G

May 10, 2020

A course that was good in some parts and a bit weird in others. The second module was not explained in terms of what currency markets are in the first place, and a few other things were not explained well, which forced me to quickly change tabs more often than not to read up on something before attending the lecture. Brilliant in bits and pieces, but do not think a person with no knowledge can understand a lot from this. I had prior knowledge and I barely understood some things because they were not explained at all, leave alone unclearly. Except that, a pretty decent course, great insight on certain things, I feel I know a lot more about financial markets now. Thanks!

By Mili B

Jul 26, 2020

This is a good course for an introduction, a few things I believe which could help me a bit is perhaps receiving a condensed summary of the topics we went through at the end of the course so its easy to recall the terms, since there is a lot of technical phrases and terms that are used in the entire course.

Secondly I feel the course could be a bit more visual with its examples of different situations that are discussed. Sometimes I had to re-read the transcript to really understand what the lecturer explained, I think some visuals would help.

By Sapan G

Jan 7, 2018

Although the course is well detailed and covers a diverse topic required to be known to have a good foundation before starting to invest, it got a little too technical at times. I personally am from a commerce background and I felt a little difficult to follow sometimes wherever sir was using more of technical jargon and technical terminology at times when using a simpler language would have been possible and better for the students who might not be from a commerce background, for better understanding. Otherwise great course, thank you.

By Manjali H

Apr 28, 2020

This can be a 5-star course as I learned a lot, but sometimes hard to understand the instructor and subtitles don't always get it right.

Secondly, I wish there were more examples. He just talks through it with no slide etc. I had to read through the text to figure it out.

Moreover, there really is no discussion and some of the exercises that we were required to do (may have been optional), I have no idea if it was correct as no reply from the instructor. No answer was given. The quizzes are good as it reinforces the content.

By Venupriya D

Jun 4, 2020

I felt the overall course is good. Sometimes, I faced difficulty in understanding a few videos. It will be more easy for us to understand if the guide can open the financial markets and show prices and explain the types of orders by practically doing. Showing the variation of prices especially steep ones explaining them why that happened. Ex: Central bank decreased interest rates on this day and see that day the share value gone up as investors are expecting more from companies. something like that. Thank you

By Nicolas F

Jul 6, 2017

Well made course which gives you an introduction to trading and three securities that are traded: stocks, bonds, currencies. The last part about economic indicators and how they influence the three trade markets covers a wide range but is not well made. It repeats over and over what could be said in 20 minutes: that bonds tend to move in the other direction than stocks and currencies; it would have been more interesting I think to reveal this general trend and then to go a bit more into detail.

By Harshit B

May 15, 2020

Its always good to learn formally. Even with 5 years of experience with markets and taxation, 6 years with law, and a couple of years with the business, there were many terms and behavioural patterns which I did not know. However this course is customized for American students as it mentions lot of examples for US Market and also uses terminology common in wall street, rather than Dalal Street. As the course was by ISB, I was hoping it would have Indian references as well.

By dspguy

Jun 10, 2019

Basic introductory course. There were quite a few typos in the lectures. I felt that there was a need for a lot of examples to illustrate the theory but I didn't find them. I also was disappointed that the lecturer covered more of U.S/U.K Markets rather than the Indian markets -I understand that his work experience was in the U.S but I was more keen to learn more about Indian Markets so that I could get to apply the theory in practice

By Akshay J R

Jun 12, 2020

This is a good course to learn the basics of financial markets and what economic factors can affect the stock market,bonds and currency markets. The overall pacing of the course is good and everything is explained well.

Although the quizzes were too simple. The videos need more visual charts and visual examples. These would have made the course much better.

Overall its a good beginners course for finance.