Chevron Left
Back to First Steps in Linear Algebra for Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Steps in Linear Algebra for Machine Learning by HSE University

4.1
stars
114 ratings
21 reviews

About the Course

The main goal of the course is to explain the main concepts of linear algebra that are used in data analysis and machine learning. Another goal is to improve the student’s practical skills of using linear algebra methods in machine learning and data analysis. You will learn the fundamentals of working with data in vector and matrix form, acquire skills for solving systems of linear algebraic equations and finding the basic matrix decompositions and general understanding of their applicability. This course is suitable for you if you are not an absolute beginner in Matrix Analysis or Linear Algebra (for example, have studied it a long time ago, but now want to take the first steps in the direction of those aspects of Linear Algebra that are used in Machine Learning). Certainly, if you are highly motivated in study of Linear Algebra for Data Sciences this course could be suitable for you as well. This Course is part of HSE University Master of Data Science degree program. Learn more about the admission into the program and how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into the program here https://inlnk.ru/rj64e....

Top reviews

AG
Jul 24, 2020

with great assignments,one could get relation of LA with computer science.For naive english it could hurdles at first.but nice content.must for intermediatory

EA
Dec 30, 2020

This is a well designed course, with the right balance of theory and practice. The quizzes and programming assignments reinforce the material effectively.

Filter by:

1 - 21 of 21 Reviews for First Steps in Linear Algebra for Machine Learning

By Alagu P P G

Jul 25, 2020

with great assignments,one could get relation of LA with computer science.For naive english it could hurdles at first.but nice content.must for intermediatory

By Daniel H C

Mar 1, 2020

The material was very well presented, and the exercises were helpful for learning

By k v r

Apr 15, 2020

poor presenation

By Olivio A C J

Sep 4, 2020

It is a good course. It mixes theory and practice with Python in a right way and I could learn/review a lot. It has also the right amount of coursework. It is always a pleasure to study using the courses from Coursera. As a lifelong learner I want to be permanently engaged in online courses, from Coursera, EdX ou Youtube. It is the future of Education.

By Eduardo A

Dec 31, 2020

This is a well designed course, with the right balance of theory and practice. The quizzes and programming assignments reinforce the material effectively.

By Kevin A G D

Aug 8, 2020

I learnt a lot with this course, good introduction to linear algebra, and good guidance to the use of sk-learn for Machine Learning.

By Georgios P

Jan 30, 2021

Bad Presentation and dead forum!

By Xingxing T

Apr 8, 2020

The program is really useful for exploring machine learning. I appreciate that the math involved are so relevant to SVM, even though I am BA major and do not have strong math background. I just need put enough time and go through each example. That's where I find this course very suitable. Plenty examples to explain the concepts.

By Alex C

Feb 7, 2021

A really nice course, i learnt a lot...the practical at the end was hard but good. I had to google a lot to find some nice tutorials to follow at medium! Would have been nice if that was a little easier with some easier python building up to the project! but learning by doing etc.

By Carlos M V R

Jul 21, 2020

This is a great courses, sometimes explanations could be better but in general is awesome and they teach us good applications of linear algebra in the field of machine learning. I would like to rate this course with 4.5, but Coursera does not allow us to rate in that way.

By Elkin E G A

Apr 5, 2021

You can improve a little bit your teacher's English. Still, I could find yet something this deep on algebra and machine learning on Coursera. It was worth taking.

By Malikaharris

Feb 19, 2021

I don't want to do this one anymore

By Ruthlyn N V

Jun 5, 2020

The programming assignments were really challenging! I thought I'm not gonna pass this course since it's my first time to encounter Python language. Thank you so much Prof. Piontkovski and Prof. Chernyshev for the new learnings :)

By James N

Mar 23, 2021

Quite challenging but necessary to have a deeper understanding of machine learning algorithms

By Ivan A T U

Jul 25, 2021

Me gustan la matemáticas, pero combinar la programación es cosa de locos, genial este curso.

By Julio C D M

Apr 13, 2021

Excellent course. It explains really good the Linear Algebra fundamentals for ML

By Peter

Jul 18, 2021

G​ood overview over the topic. Could be one or two week longer. Liked it.

By Tan Z

Apr 24, 2020

Good, but have few examples and exercises.

By Hanif N

Mar 28, 2021

i've passed. thanks

By Roger S

Feb 26, 2020

Very conventional and theoretical way of presenting the stuff. There are some Python exercises, though.

Not much course materials.

By Karen H

Mar 28, 2021

Guys, you need to master English or talk in Russian. It is really difficult to follow.