Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions by École Polytechnique

4.8
stars
558 ratings
154 reviews

About the Course

What is fluid-solid interactions ? It is what happens when the motions of a fluid and of a solid are somehow coupled. This happens all the time, around you when leaves flutter in the wind, inside you when your heart beats, above you when wings of a plane vibrate, under the sea... The idea behind this MOOC is to give you the basic tools to be able to predict and eventually mitigate things called flutter, galloping, sloshing, vortex-induced vibrations, added mass, to cite a few. We are going to consider any possible domains of applications such as civil engineering, aerospace engineering, nuclear engineering , ocean engineering, biomechanics and even food processing ! This is why we called the course “Fundamentals of Fluid Solid Interactions ”. There are so many phenomena and so many models that we need to work together on the basic mechanisms . If you want to see how fluid-solid interactions work, and be able to use that knowledge, join us ! A first session of the course was run in early 2016, with learners from over 100 countries. It is now available with subtitles, in English and now in Chinese. See the video at http://goo.gl/YKSMnD...

Top reviews

MM
May 30, 2020

Got some knowledge about FSI . It is very much interesting with lots of experimental demonstration and the reason on its effect. Thank you Very much for such a wonderful course

KS
Mar 24, 2019

A fantastic course with great instructors and great examples. I like the comparisons between theory and practical. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Awesome work

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 154 Reviews for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

By SANCHIT A

Jul 11, 2020

The course is exceptionally well designed. The experiments in the chapters helps a lot to visualize clearly the learned concepts.

By Ibrahim Z

Jan 25, 2020

a great course with great concept clearance, the course provides also a wide range of recent research applications of the field.

By Siddhartha S

Aug 16, 2017

This is one of the best courses I've taken on Coursera. The examples given to explain a concept are amazing and truly enjoyable.

By Mileniawan J R

Jul 26, 2020

Very comprehensive in explaining various models in FSI problem along with clear explanation and rational model simplification

By Mansoor A

Jul 18, 2017

Though I have not yet competed all the lectures, but I am impressed with the level of effort put in this course. Thank you

By Santiago A

Mar 18, 2018

Very interesting course to start in the topic of fluid-solid interaction. There are all the basic concepts of the fields.

By Aayush P

May 8, 2020

exceptional in all ways !!amazing content and to understand FSI this course will be stepping stone for this field .

By Robert B

Aug 30, 2020

Very well prepared course. You can see that the authors put a lot of work into it. Thanks a lot for this course.

By Abhijeet C

Apr 2, 2017

The best course and the best teacher. I would like to see the advanced version of this course to be offered.

By Harendrakumar D

Jan 6, 2021

This was really challenging course and very eye-opening, and we can relate to the day-to-day observations.

By Victor H S P

Nov 29, 2019

Great Course, with great examples that helped me ensure my master subject on mechanical engineering.

By Hajjej R

Jan 4, 2018

Excellent course i hope you will make a second part of it. Thanks a lot i have fun by learning this

By Hardik S

Aug 24, 2019

Great Course for to learn the fundamentals for solving much complex problems or developing models.

By MOHD. F

Nov 4, 2016

Very nicely instructed. This is the first course which I like the most but cannot afford to pay.

By ALI K

Apr 29, 2020

it was really a concise course about FSI, while explaining the most situations comprehensively.

By JOSE P B

Sep 24, 2020

The course has provided me better insight in the field of fluid mechanics and solid mechanics

By Federico R

Apr 5, 2019

Very useful course for understanding the fundamentals of fluid-solid interaction modeling

By Didarul A R

May 30, 2020

A great course! I want to wok further in this topic!

A great introduction to this field!

By Jianan Z

Dec 6, 2019

Great course and excellent instruction! Have learned a lot from this course. Thank you!

By ABHIMHANYU V

Apr 6, 2020

A great introduction to FSI particularly in modelling of various modes and couplings.

By Chen J

Mar 14, 2019

A vivid lesson! But a little bit hard for me. Expect for more exercises and examples.

By Rajkumar S

Jul 21, 2020

A very nice course i recommend this course for mechanical and aeronautical engineers

By Apurba D

Aug 8, 2019

Very helpful course for a beginner. I really enjoyed learning the course contents.

By Matthew M

Jul 21, 2019

Very detailed and interesting course. Please make more on the topic in the future!

By Hassan N

Jul 5, 2019

This course helped me understand the FSI very well! thanks to all creators!