Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
17,622 ratings
5,308 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

TL
Sep 30, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

SD
Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 5,255 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Saskia J

Jul 27, 2020

This is such an interesting and useful course! The first week is a bit though, especially if you are not familiar with this field or any related field (still very interesting though) but the rest is much more easy and practical and like I said very useful! Food plays such an important role in life and it is also key to living a healthier longer life!

By Sebastian U

Dec 24, 2018

Throughout the videos I have watched, I enjoyed the amount of rich information I was able to obtain and expressed in a manner that is easy to understand. I as the student was able to learn the different ways of evaluating food in people everyday lives and how to properly manage the amount of food intake and the do's and don'ts for everyday nutrition.

By MUHAMMAD F A

Feb 25, 2020

Excellent course very useful and will help in improving daily food cooking, presentation was good covering all necessary topics

Quiz questions was very informative, course time duration was precisely designed in weeks

Thanks to MD. Maya and Stanford team for providing good course which is very helpful and easy to understand and implement in daily life

By Paul I

Oct 9, 2019

Great lecture from a superb lecturer , It was a great experience to learn what consume into our system and how they affect of health . The most important the Lecturer is a certified chef ,I lean how to make simple and rich nutritious meal. I do recommend this course to everyone no matter your profession. A big thanks to Dr. Maya for a wonderful job.

By Gabriel S E H

Dec 6, 2016

Thank you for giving me this course. Thank you for giving me a great teacher. This course has to be one of the greatest courses I've ever been in. Like I said before, thank you. I hope you can be in my next course.

THANK YOU

By leona h

May 12, 2016

Excellent course & instruction! I thought I knew it all regarding food and health (haha), but no, I did not. I learned so much valuable information and tools needed to rethink and assess how I shop for food, and my relationship with food. I will definitely recommend this course to my friends and family.

Thanks, Stanford. I really enjoy your courses!

By S. N

Dec 24, 2019

This course helped me with understading the benefits of home cooked food, especially if that's cooked on your own, and this course lets you understand the marketing strategies of big business supermarkets & the manufacturers of packaged foods who let you to buy their products by not specifying the real facts used to produce that particular product.

By Helaina H

Apr 9, 2018

Excellent! I loved the instructor, and the videos were very interesting and eye catching. I found myself paying very close attention because of that! I thought it was a very useful course, I learned that my current diet, although improved greatly, would be best optimized by more home cooking. Really very engaging. I had a lot of fun. Thank you! :)

By Jacqueline M

May 27, 2020

Great information and lots of 'food for thought' about how we consume food. I am a fitness coach so I really like the info that I can pass on to my clients, especially the running theme of eating whole foods and having a better food experience. I would love if there was a more in depth follow up course about nutrition. Thank you very much!

By dianne o

Mar 9, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It had a lot of good information on how to start a lifestyle of healthy eating. The videos were short, well paced and easy to follow. The instructor Maya was very pleasant to listen to and had a very good grasp of the subject matter. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to her as well as to Michael Pollan. Thank you

By CHANDANA K

Jun 30, 2020

It was a great opportunity to learn about the dietary aspects which stand more important in everybodies life, to have a successful survival journey. Knowing about the nutritional value and shopping needs and maintaining a proper diet is most needed to lead the healthy life ....I am very greatful about being the part of the session

Thankyou....

By Barbara K

Apr 7, 2017

Me gustó mucho el curso, es muy explicativo y claro. Me gusta el énfasis en soluciones simples, pero que están respaldadas por la ciencia. Aprendí más sobre cómo funcionan los distintos grupos alimenticios y cuánto necesitamos de cada uno de ellos. Aprendí consejos prácticos y realistas de cómo mantenerse saludable y tomar mejores decisiones.

By Amber H

Jan 28, 2016

This course has given me a completely new understanding of how my body functions and how I can "play around" with my meals to change my body and feel healthier! I thought (with this being an online course) that I would not gather much from the content that I didn't already know, but that definitely was NOT true! Thanks for a great experience!

By Minako T

May 14, 2020

I am satisfied to take this course for the introduction. Because most of the lecture are used in common words and sentences which is really helpful for me to understand well. Simple but there are many important elements for food and health to understand. I am lucky to meet this course at my beginning level to learn for this field. Thank you.

By Sumangala M C

May 15, 2020

It is a very good course for American scenario. Since I have a degree in Food and Nutrition which I got almost 50 years ago, I was looking for a course for refreshing my knowledge so that I could volunteer as a nutritionist in a hospital. This course covered only a part of my requirement. However, I enjoyed the program.

Thanks and regards.

By Hannah S

Jun 6, 2017

Very informative and one of the best courses I've ever taken. Covers every aspect of nutrition thoroughly in order to be healthy as well as some tips on how to lose weight since there is such an obesity epidemic in the United States. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to become healthier and learn about the food they are eating.

By Jerry E A

Feb 6, 2017

This has been the best class I've seen on Coursera. The videos are broken up into small clips that are just a few minutes long. The videos are fun to watch as well and the presenter speaks very well which I appreciate. It's hard to understand and take notes when a presenter speaks too quickly or doesn't speak clearly or fails to enunciate.

By Valeria A L D

May 3, 2020

An excellent approach to food and health. It goes beyond to just understanding nutrients, it also teaches a lot about the meaning of food, proportions, label reading, and many other skills that are important and relevant both in the health industry and in a day-to-day basis.

I am extremely delighted! Greetings all the way from Lima, Perú.

By Stefan K

Jan 20, 2020

Good Course. Presenting the basics in a structured, appetising and easy-to-digest way. As a European with interest in health, nutrition and exercise, basically all of it was already known. I'd say even common sense. But that doesn't mean, that this is true for everybody. Highly valuable knowledge every child should learn in school imho.

By Diana J

Aug 11, 2017

Although I used to practice good health habits, I have been struggling with my relationship with food and other things for the last two years. I have been trying to regain those good habits and build on them, because a healthier lifestyle equates to a happier lifestyle. This course felt like a great step towards that goal. Thank you.

By Jorgelina T

May 17, 2020

Me encantó todo. El contenido es excelente y va acompañado de la estética de los videos. Los mismos tienen un balance óptimo entre diálogo e imágenes y gráficos que ayudan a comprender los conceptos introducidos. Maya es un encanto en su forma de hablar y de comunicar con lenguaje no verbal. Relmente ha sido una experiencia maravilloda

By Tarun K

Mar 3, 2017

A well organized and informative course relating food to health. If one joins this course as weight loss program then it will be a disappointment. On the contrary, if one wants to gain knowledge about what are the right things to eat and what are the right way to eat in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle then this course is for you

By Gail B

Oct 19, 2020

This was such an informative course. I have purchased some of the recommended books to learn more about health and nutrition. I now read nutritional labels very often and pay attention to all food items I am purchasing. I have made lifestyle changes to which I am very proud of. I have recommended this course to my family and friends.

By Caroline H

May 6, 2020

Really well-done course, very quick to get through as well. I hadn't realised how privileged I am to have grown up in a household where cooking at home and eating at the dinner table were the norm. I will definitely be more mindful of the challenges that people who did not have such an upbringing face when it comes to healthy eating.