Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
10,100 ratings
2,880 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,839 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Dorothy D k

Nov 21, 2018

An absolute must for anyone who is planning meals for health

By Paulina M

Nov 24, 2018

I liked it a lot !

By Ying Z (

Nov 24, 2018

Very helpful information.

By Drew C

Nov 26, 2018

Good short course on food and healthy eating.

By Fernando L C

Nov 10, 2018

Valuable information about eating healthy explained in a clear manner for general public.

By Aimen Z

Nov 28, 2018

Great for a very basic intro

By Юлия Н

Nov 27, 2018

мне очень нравиться

By Molly H

Nov 12, 2018

This course is an extremely basic introduction, but it covers all the topics very well. It's thorough and easy to understand.

By Екатерина

Nov 14, 2018

Спасибо, это замечательный курс, который расширяет представления о правильной и здоровой пище.

By Prashant g

Jan 17, 2019

Very helpful, loved how things were put down in a simple and easy to understand way.

By Katarzyna N

Jan 16, 2019

Basic issues are covered, but prepared precisely, efficiently and understandable. Recommended!

By Veda A

Jan 16, 2019

Simple, easy course with important information

By Juliana G L

Jan 18, 2019

Un curso espectacular, lleno de herramientas, tips y explicaciones alrededor del tema de la nutrición y la salud que resultan muy fáciles y rápidas de entender.

Además proporciona un conocimiento que puede ser aplicado a la vida diaria, ayudando a mejorar la toma de decisiones al momento de alimentarse y mercar.

By Saeid S

Jan 16, 2019

Very good and informativ course

By Dra. F L M

Jan 20, 2019

Love it, it is so real and practical.

By LOU C

Jan 18, 2019

I think the teaching materials are very nice to read and learn. In the final part of the lecture, we could see some nice videos about how to make the nutritious foods.

By Мещерякова П В

Jan 18, 2019

Спасибо! Было очень интересно, ярко и познавательно. Расширила свое мировоззрение. Спасибо, что открыли глаза на, казалось бы, простые и очевидные вещи.

By Shradha R

Jan 18, 2019

I think this is one course which is absolutely essential for everybody and even more so for people who intend to be more aware of the food that they are putting in their body. As a food blogger, I always share recipes and suggest to people what they should eat and therefore for me, this course has been so helpful and constructive. I love the fact that this course shares all the vital information in a very crisp, clear and simple way. The fact that they are empowering and encouraging people to cook at home and providing helpful guidelines and tips to help them is commendable. Maya and Micheal have done a great job. Thanks a lot!

By Marco

Jan 08, 2019

Very well done beginner course on food and nutrition. It has four main parts. The first part does high level introduction of key scientific concepts. It is however just to give a better understanding of the topic. The other 3 parts talk a lot about practical aspects of food and nutrition including what to eat.

I definitely recommend this course as a primer for whoever is interested in the topic. As recommended in the course as follow up i also watched two moovies Fed Up and in defense of food.

To Course and instructors, thanks for letting me learn more about the topic

By Alexis

Jan 08, 2019

Loved it! Very educational and it really opened my eyes and made me more cautious about the food I was eating, I am even considering making this a career choice, so thank you so much!

By Aditya T

Jan 08, 2019

WELL EXPLAINED MADAM

By Marco C

Jan 08, 2019

it was very usefull

By Debra A

Jan 09, 2019

Good basic information to help lay foundations on food knowledge, history of how food became unhealthy and options for better choices for a healthier life style.

By Не Х У

Jan 21, 2019

Very clear and helpful course!

By Noemí A R

Jan 21, 2019

Muy buen curso.