Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
10,312 ratings
2,949 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,905 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Milley

Mar 13, 2019

It helps me a lot in food managment of my life.Thanks.

By Harmeet S

Mar 02, 2019

This course is amazing..The teacher as well as the content is very helpful..

By Hersey.H

Mar 15, 2019

It's a really good course, even at the very beginning it was not that easy, but later on, it works well for me, especially the practical cooking courses. Thank you.

By Valentina V C

Mar 16, 2019

Un curso completo que te enseña toda la franja historica de lo que fuimos gracias a la comida y en lo que ahora nos estamos transformando.

By Samyak J

Mar 17, 2019

This Course should Acollades ,as it guides us how to Live a Happy and Prosperous life.

By Lisa J

Mar 15, 2019

learned the concept of how to eat different and t

By 林春煌

Mar 18, 2019

VERY USEFUL

By Catherine G

Mar 17, 2019

Loved this class! it supported what I thought was a good diet and clarified a comprehensive out line I could follow.

By Akshay B

Mar 17, 2019

such a beautifull course for making our life health.

By Ana B J D

Mar 18, 2019

Estoy muy feliz por haber concluido este curso, me es de gran ayuda toda esta información que recibí. Es verddadera mente maravolloso para mí poder acceder a estos espación donde el conocimiento es tan accesible.

Muy agradecida!

By Jamie C

Mar 20, 2019

Very easy to understand since it was explained very well.

By Juan L A

Mar 20, 2019

Great introductory course for a fascinating subject which today is more essential than ever, this course is highly recommended and should be taken by everybody to sensibly benefit their life.

By Mike H

Mar 20, 2019

Nice informative way towards better eating habits

By MARIVAN C V

Mar 21, 2019

The best

By Claudia S R

Mar 21, 2019

Very helpful, well narrated, wonderful easy videos and recipes. It inspires you to eat cleaner and more balanced foods

By Junjie Y

Mar 26, 2019

It is a very useful class that can be understood easily and we just need spend a few time to get knowledge we need

By Sencer B

Mar 01, 2019

Thank you

By Anna B

Mar 01, 2019

The course really helped me understand food. But i believe more science should be included, such as the science behind protein carbs, fat as well as antioxidant and many other super-foods.

By Ashly J

Mar 27, 2019

kidkachi

By Alan T

Mar 27, 2019

ghghbhb

By maraka d r

Mar 27, 2019

nice

By Shiva K N

Mar 21, 2019

Great Information that is Excellently Presented

By Heather A R

Mar 24, 2019

This is an extremely informative course. I learned quite a bit on food and healthier relationships with food. I believe this is a course that every cook, parent, and person paying into the fast food industry should take-- and take seriously.

By Nada

Mar 24, 2019

i really loved this course as it helped me to identify some myth i used to believe about healthy diet.

By Tak K L

Mar 14, 2019

This course has provided me a good understand in food and how important it is related to out overall health