Chevron Left
Back to Front-End Web Development with React

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Front-End Web Development with React by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
3,245 ratings
932 reviews

About the Course

This course explores Javascript based front-end application development, and in particular the React library (Currently Ver. 16.3). This course will use JavaScript ES6 for developing React application. You will also get an introduction to the use of Reactstrap for Bootstrap 4-based responsive UI design. You will be introduced to various aspects of React components. You will learn about React router and its use in developing single-page applications. You will also learn about designing controlled forms. You will be introduced to the Flux architecture and Redux. You will explore various aspects of Redux and use it to develop React-Redux powered applications. You will then learn to use Fetch for client-server communication and the use of REST API on the server side. A quick tour through React animation support and testing rounds off the course. You must have preferably completed the previous course in the specialization on Bootstrap 4, or have a working knowledge of Bootstrap 4 to be able to navigate this course. Also a good working knowledge of JavaScript, especially ES 5 is strongly recommended. At the end of this course you will: - Be familiar with client-side Javascript application development and the React library - Be able to implement single page applications in React - Be able to use various React features including components and forms - Be able to implement a functional front-end web application using React - Be able to use Reactstrap for designing responsive React applications - Be able to use Redux to design the architecture for a React-Redux application...

Top reviews

NS

Aug 6, 2020

One of the best course of React js and Redux on the web to buid a strong foundation of the subject , one must take this course to build a strong base in the subject.\n\nInsturctor is amazing !!

YY

Dec 23, 2021

If you deducted any points for the above rubrics, give reasons why. Also please provide constructive feedback in the form of specific comments that will help the learner improve the submission

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 952 Reviews for Front-End Web Development with React

By jonatas o

Jul 22, 2021

The content of the exercices could be more dinanmic. Always is developd all the content to show the results, however I believe that it is possible doing and howing the results at the same time, it is a visual course and and this way could be better to understand some topics.

By Walter M

Feb 26, 2021

I learned a lot from this course, but sometimes it felt like the explanations were too rushed and I was just following along with the instructor instead of learning the reasons for what we were doing. Also, the version of react he is teaching is out of date.

By Jenny H

Oct 30, 2020

The directions and technology is getting old. People are using Hooks? now I am told. Also, there are a number of places where the video exercise doesn't match the text exercise, and doing some of it with the teacher, then finishing with text cost me hours.

By ANURAG S

Jun 19, 2020

Really nice explanation...the instructor does a great job in teaching React and Redux concepts...

Though some things ..could have added to make this course a 5-star course... topics like User Authentication with React

and Server Side Rendering with React.

By Syed H A

Mar 15, 2019

It was a good experience. Programming tasks could be a little more harder, with less pointers given in the exercises panel so more logical concepts are left to the user at hand.

Other than that, everything was perfect! 8.5/10.

Thank you for your service.

By Curtis H

Dec 8, 2021

Good Course, very thorough, however it should be updated to use the latest version of React as some of the supporting modules used in this course (react-redux-form, react-animation-components) are incompatible with the latest React version (17.0.2)

By Abdullah S

Aug 19, 2020

The course is great. The only thing I think can be improved is time. Though I am not a beginner, the material in one week can be a little more to absorb for a beginner. In short, a great course of you have some JS skills and want to learn React.js

By Aditya B

Jul 16, 2020

Course was excellent and

Everything was going fine until redux came , it became little bit difficult to understand . I have to indulge more time in understanding myself .

4 stars because I wanted redux part to be with more brief explanation.

By Lal S

Jul 2, 2021

It was nice explanation on each point. I really get more knowledge here if i compare to read online. Whole content is designed nicely and well explained. If you are a beginner then still you can do this course. It will be easily to understand.

By Frank H

Jun 10, 2020

Interesting insights into React. Not the in-depth React knowledge I was looking for, but an interesting course nevertheless. I liked the addition of Redux, because I had never worked with that before but again was missing some depth with that.

By DHARMENDRA M

Sep 3, 2020

The Explanation could be more better but was not disappointing at all , Hard to grasp content in a video of more than 50 minutes straight. But overall experience was good , learned a lot looking forward to complete the specialization.

By Rajkumar Y

Jun 8, 2020

It's the best course for anyone who wants to understand the basics of React in depth. Thank a lot to Jogesh Muppala sir for such a high quality material and special thanks to Coursera for letting me do this course for free.

By SolMusic

Apr 24, 2020

If possible, please break the topic into small piecewise topics.

If possible, It will also be very helpful if a small diagrammatic overview of what we are trying to achieve is provided especially in redux classes .

By Sarah M

Sep 15, 2020

This class was great accept the first week. I feel like the first week should have been doubly wrong. I spent nearly 20 extra hours that week trying to wrap my head around React basics to complete the assignment.

By Magnus E N

Oct 29, 2020

Awesome course. The reason why I won't give 5 stars is that it's getting outdated. A lot of stuff from the tutorial breaks and you definitely need to do a lot of research to get a website that doesn't crash

By UNMESH D

Mar 1, 2022

Content is good , learned a lot about class based component, router, redux. but, it needs to update with the latest reactjs version like it needs to focus on functional component rather than class based,

By IZZAH N B M R

Nov 16, 2020

It was a nice experience of learning this React framework. The lecturer did explain it very clear. But I guess you need to have encouragement to keep watching the videos cause sometimes it's a bit sleepy.

By Ben A

Aug 9, 2021

Good course covering all the fundamentals with lots of examples.

Could be improved by reducing the number of repeated examples (i.e. Making a form with 6 fields when 2/3 would do to explain the concept).

By Himadri B

Jan 5, 2020

The course explains each and every topic step by step and in a very lucid manner. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to have a solid foundation in React. Hats Off to the Professor.

By Eduard G

Nov 6, 2020

Although some of the components and libraries are already old, the content and the step by step explanation was really good, it really give you a strong idea about Web development with React.

By Cristian D S R

Feb 16, 2021

Seria bueno que se hiciera una actualización de este curso con React Hook, ya que incluso React Native esta pasando a darle mas uso a los Functional components que a las classes

By Sushant S

Mar 30, 2020

Good course for beginners to learn the entire concept of React.

I was able to complete this course at my own pace and had good practice completing the the Web Application.

By Alvaro M

Sep 19, 2020

Great course, I think the components that we created in the project are not clean. Maybe in the next project the course can do a simpler project but with clean code.

By Anand D

May 11, 2020

Every time he introduces some bootstrap syntax he says we have done in an earlier course, but what if someone has not enrolled in the bootstrap course?

By Muhammad S

Jun 15, 2020

I really liked the content of the course, i would really appreciate it if this course would have JWT authentication also. Learnd alot thankyou!