Chevron Left
Back to Front-End Web Development with React

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Front-End Web Development with React by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
2,879 ratings
833 reviews

About the Course

This course explores Javascript based front-end application development, and in particular the React library (Currently Ver. 16.3). This course will use JavaScript ES6 for developing React application. You will also get an introduction to the use of Reactstrap for Bootstrap 4-based responsive UI design. You will be introduced to various aspects of React components. You will learn about React router and its use in developing single-page applications. You will also learn about designing controlled forms. You will be introduced to the Flux architecture and Redux. You will explore various aspects of Redux and use it to develop React-Redux powered applications. You will then learn to use Fetch for client-server communication and the use of REST API on the server side. A quick tour through React animation support and testing rounds off the course. You must have preferably completed the previous course in the specialization on Bootstrap 4, or have a working knowledge of Bootstrap 4 to be able to navigate this course. Also a good working knowledge of JavaScript, especially ES 5 is strongly recommended. At the end of this course you will: - Be familiar with client-side Javascript application development and the React library - Be able to implement single page applications in React - Be able to use various React features including components and forms - Be able to implement a functional front-end web application using React - Be able to use Reactstrap for designing responsive React applications - Be able to use Redux to design the architecture for a React-Redux application...

Top reviews

NS
Aug 6, 2020

One of the best course of React js and Redux on the web to buid a strong foundation of the subject , one must take this course to build a strong base in the subject.\n\nInsturctor is amazing !!

AR
Oct 4, 2020

Really loved this course!! As a beginner with React JS , this course helped me have a good understanding on the basics. I would definitely recommend this course to folks who are new to React .

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 849 Reviews for Front-End Web Development with React

By Aditya B

Jul 16, 2020

Course was excellent and

Everything was going fine until redux came , it became little bit difficult to understand . I have to indulge more time in understanding myself .

4 stars because I wanted redux part to be with more brief explanation.

By Lal S

Jul 2, 2021

It was nice explanation on each point. I really get more knowledge here if i compare to read online. Whole content is designed nicely and well explained. If you are a beginner then still you can do this course. It will be easily to understand.

By Frank H

Jun 10, 2020

Interesting insights into React. Not the in-depth React knowledge I was looking for, but an interesting course nevertheless. I liked the addition of Redux, because I had never worked with that before but again was missing some depth with that.

By DHARMENDRA M

Sep 3, 2020

The Explanation could be more better but was not disappointing at all , Hard to grasp content in a video of more than 50 minutes straight. But overall experience was good , learned a lot looking forward to complete the specialization.

By Rajkumar Y

Jun 8, 2020

It's the best course for anyone who wants to understand the basics of React in depth. Thank a lot to Jogesh Muppala sir for such a high quality material and special thanks to Coursera for letting me do this course for free.

By Prateek J

Apr 24, 2020

If possible, please break the topic into small piecewise topics.

If possible, It will also be very helpful if a small diagrammatic overview of what we are trying to achieve is provided especially in redux classes .

By Sarah M

Sep 15, 2020

This class was great accept the first week. I feel like the first week should have been doubly wrong. I spent nearly 20 extra hours that week trying to wrap my head around React basics to complete the assignment.

By Magnus E N

Oct 29, 2020

Awesome course. The reason why I won't give 5 stars is that it's getting outdated. A lot of stuff from the tutorial breaks and you definitely need to do a lot of research to get a website that doesn't crash

By IZZAH N B M R

Nov 16, 2020

It was a nice experience of learning this React framework. The lecturer did explain it very clear. But I guess you need to have encouragement to keep watching the videos cause sometimes it's a bit sleepy.

By Ben A

Aug 9, 2021

Good course covering all the fundamentals with lots of examples.

Could be improved by reducing the number of repeated examples (i.e. Making a form with 6 fields when 2/3 would do to explain the concept).

By Himadri B

Jan 5, 2020

The course explains each and every topic step by step and in a very lucid manner. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to have a solid foundation in React. Hats Off to the Professor.

By Eduard G

Nov 6, 2020

Although some of the components and libraries are already old, the content and the step by step explanation was really good, it really give you a strong idea about Web development with React.

By Cristian D S R

Feb 16, 2021

Seria bueno que se hiciera una actualización de este curso con React Hook, ya que incluso React Native esta pasando a darle mas uso a los Functional components que a las classes

By Sushant S

Mar 30, 2020

Good course for beginners to learn the entire concept of React.

I was able to complete this course at my own pace and had good practice completing the the Web Application.

By Alvaro M

Sep 19, 2020

Great course, I think the components that we created in the project are not clean. Maybe in the next project the course can do a simpler project but with clean code.

By Anand D

May 11, 2020

Every time he introduces some bootstrap syntax he says we have done in an earlier course, but what if someone has not enrolled in the bootstrap course?

By Muhammad S

Jun 15, 2020

I really liked the content of the course, i would really appreciate it if this course would have JWT authentication also. Learnd alot thankyou!

By Harshit k

Apr 12, 2020

Videos Are Good . One thing I want to add is tutor should revise and go through all the code he did in whole video at the end of the video.

By Deleted A

Sep 16, 2020

Amazing But the course is outdated which doesn't include the react hooks and new features. hope the tutor will change the course very soon

By kevin d

May 10, 2020

I find that a lot of videos have a lot of talking that could be covered with a few more diagrams. Images are worth a 1000 words they say.

By Ruchi T

Aug 15, 2021

The best courses i have seen so far. Thanks to Muppal sir who explain react so nicely and easily . i would recommend to do this course

By Ravi P

Aug 3, 2019

Great course to start learning React and other libraries like Redux, Redux thunk, etc. The course is balanced with theory and coding.

By Alessandro B

Oct 27, 2020

Very nice course, I suggest a cleaner code and structure for redux files and to expand the course including a section about hooks

By Anushka C

Aug 26, 2021

Amazing course! One suggestion: Please add a separate video or reading at the end explaining the things that are outdated now.

By Luisa F V M

Aug 29, 2021

great teacher, excellent mastery of the subject, but the course is a little outdated, they should touch the topic of hooks.