Chevron Left
Back to Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy by Johns Hopkins University

3.7
580 ratings
158 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 152 Reviews for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

By Huang L

Dec 12, 2018

It is great, but can be better if there are more examples!

By Yang L

Apr 03, 2019

The course is all good, except that for the project part, I guess there should be more flexibility in grading part. Say, different people may use different reference genome (hg19, hg38), or apply different approach (say filtering with mapQuality). This should be counted.

By Giovani B F

Dec 29, 2018

I expected more instructional examples of tools and galaxy using in command line (for Linux/Mac), although the few examples of applicability were useful and the final project (forced hands-on) was the most helpful task that brought out real knowledge and experience in galaxy.

By Brandon W

Jul 16, 2018

This is a very good beginner course. The only complaint I had on this course would be to have the instructors include 'additional' material that the students could access if they so desired. Some type of 'additional reading' list would be awesome!

By Matt C

Apr 21, 2017

Good, but a brief overview.

By Mohammed Y

Jun 09, 2016

Awesome Course

By Jerzy B

Feb 18, 2016

Good course, great tool.

By Alex Z

Jul 14, 2017

pretty easy to follow--

By Kasper T K

Nov 20, 2017

The course is quite easy to take, which is reflected in its ability to inform the needed tools and approaches for doing some very basic genome data exploratory analysis.

The Final assignment was however outside the scope of the learning from this course, as principles and anaylsis which are NOT covered by this course (but in a latter Genomic Data Science specialization - Command Line tools) , are required to complete the final assignment. Instruction were too vague, which is the course for subtracting one star.

By Raphael L C

Mar 14, 2016

I feel dual emotions about how this course is organized. Although the Course Project was hard to perform without much background in genomics, it was the part where I learned the most - thanks to the staff and the other students in the forums.

By Jaeyoung C

Apr 12, 2017

I think the final project required much more domain knowledge than what the course actually taught.

Peer review system can be sometimes very confusing. Some of the confusions can be clarified by reading bunch of past discussions, but it'd be much better if there is a single place (not discussion forum) where students can find all the necessary information regarding the final project and how to grade. I think this info must be part of syllabus.

By Suki S

Mar 21, 2016

This was a bit challenging, not in content, but more in organization. I felt like I was getting freshman-level lectures and than was given a graduate-level assignment. The directions and expectations could have been clearer but the TA was terrific in trying to help us thru our difficulties.

By D T

Aug 26, 2017

Highly instructive course on using Galaxy. Gives a very good flavour of the benefits, actual workflows and even a bit of administration in terms of installing your own version or a cloud version.

By Sabrina S

Nov 20, 2016

Overall very helpful. The peer review instructions for grading may need to be expanded; found helpful notes in the forum, unfortunately after submitted.

By Jacqueline W

May 09, 2016

Really interesting course! The introduction to Galaxy and all of the analysis tools is awesome. There is a pretty big cliff between the course content and the final project; it would be helpful if there were more detailed information along the way about what each of the analysis steps means (i.e., interpretation of the information, versus just knowing what file type to select at which analysis step). Based on the discussion board, many students had similar thoughts. Grading the final projects for others is a bit uncomfortable, given that no answers are provided for the counts, and there are multiple different workflows that could be considered correct.

By Alberto T

Feb 11, 2016

clear content

By Lara S

Jun 10, 2016

Very nice course. However, the final project is not very close to the course content. Still, it is very well doable thanks to the very helpful tutor / mentor.

By Ashwini J

Jul 20, 2016

Good intro course for people trying to understand data science role in Genome related data and other informations.

By Anuradha B

Sep 29, 2016

Course was pretty simple but the project was the toughest and took me another attempt to pass. But i enjoyed it!

By Faisal A

May 29, 2017

Good course, I learned a lot... I have to wait about a week to being the peer-reviewed project, which was disappointing because I was ready to finish the course! Prof. Taylor instructs well, but if you're not following along, don't expect to understand what's going on...

Most of the bad reviews are from the project, which I don't have access to. I really hope it's not as bad as people suggest...

By Will S

Oct 26, 2017

Overall, a very informative course. The course project can be improved. For instance, if each week had a small component that tests the student's understanding of the tools using some data and a quiz so that the student can make sure he or she can actually apply Galaxy and get correct results. The course project can build on all the tools used. Instead of a peer graded assignment, there could be a quiz for the project so that there is no confusion as to what the correct results are.

By Carlos M G V

Apr 09, 2017

I like the course, very useful tutorial to start working with Galaxy, as a programmer it gives me a lot of knowledge to help the bio molecular scientists

By Thodoris S

Dec 04, 2017

Good course if you need to know the basics in Galaxy.

By AT V

Dec 02, 2017

This is an exceptional course. It is very interesting to learn the importance of Galaxy tools together with some practical experience in this course. The final project is quite apprehesive at first glance, nevertheless its engaging when you pry for furthermore to create the ultimately functioning workflow of demanded results. My suggestion would be to add on few more materials before the final project submission. I thank Coursera and Dr.James Taylor for this wonderful course. Cheers.

By Frederick S

Oct 26, 2016

A lot of complaints about the final project for this course. To be fair, the course content wasn't directly relevant to the final project. However, there were parts of the course that communicated saved workflows, how to import, etc. In order to identify how to do what was asked I found an example workflow that could be imported. I also found an example history that allowed me to read through the approach and then complete myself. I was honest in turning in the assignment that it was based on an imported workflow. There is a big part of community and reproducible research to the Galaxy tools and I had no issue completing the project.