Chevron Left
Back to Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy by Johns Hopkins University

3.7
stars
628 ratings
172 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 166 Reviews for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

By Olga D

Nov 14, 2018

Course is very good! Fun to learn about Galaxy. The project assignment is not too well aligned with the materials being thought...

By Ashwini J

Jul 20, 2016

Good intro course for people trying to understand data science role in Genome related data and other informations.

By Anuradha B

Sep 29, 2016

Course was pretty simple but the project was the toughest and took me another attempt to pass. But i enjoyed it!

By Yi S

Dec 18, 2019

The final assignment took too long and maybe more suitable if there is a grader rather than peer grading.

By Robert C M

Jul 22, 2019

The final project could have included more documentation...I did not feel prepared for the final project.

By Noam H

Sep 28, 2018

The course is good, I don't feel like I'm very excellent with Galaxy at the end of it

By Tonya S

Mar 01, 2020

Very challenging for a novice, but valuable skills were learned.

By Huang L

Dec 12, 2018

It is great, but can be better if there are more examples!

By Thodoris S

Dec 04, 2017

Good course if you need to know the basics in Galaxy.

By Matt C

Apr 21, 2017

Good, but a brief overview.

By Jerzy B

Feb 18, 2016

Good course, great tool.

By Alex Z

Jul 14, 2017

pretty easy to follow--

By Mohammed Y

Jun 09, 2016

Awesome Course

By Alberto T

Feb 11, 2016

clear content

By Diana M

Feb 07, 2020

The course was interesting but did not fully prepare for the course project, and there was no help from the instructors to help resolve the difficulties of using half-baked software, which was working one day and failing the next. I kind of understand the challenge of using some new functionality that was not explained in class, but it requires instructors help when stuck and such help was not available. The project required investing much more time than I anticipated or planned for and just was not fun.

By José A C E

Jun 26, 2019

I am highly dissatisfied with the final project. It requires an understanding of galaxy that is not provided in the course. The quantity of tools and the general usage, details and tricks for each one makes the final project far more challenging given the knowledge acuired in the course. At least there should be a final feedback by the course about the answer submitted for the final project (I never knew what could be consider a "correct" number of variants).

By ruchira s

Mar 31, 2019

The course content was great but the project was hard considering how the material was not covered in so much detail. Also, there was no help provided in regards to my query for answer key. Even after trying second time I wasn't sure if my answers were right , which they were but I had to wait a very long time in anticipation of results.

By Amy L

Aug 08, 2017

This was an excellent course to get started with Galaxy, which is a very user-friendly tool. However, I would have liked to see more in-depth explanations of different ways to analyze sequencing data in Galaxy. The course project strayed a bit from the course content, and completing it felt more like trial-and-error than learn-and-apply.

By Sean M

Dec 14, 2017

The lectures in no way prepare an individual to tackle the the final project. The lectures show the individual how to operate the software but does not go into great detail with the functionality, be ready to cruise around forums to get the scoop as to what you should be doing.

By Susan P

Oct 23, 2017

The lectures and quizzes were great to teach Galaxy to a first-time user, but were not sufficient to inform on how to do the final project. If more information is provided on how to do the final project, then this course would improve.

By Dongyuan W

Jul 15, 2019

The materials did not make sense for people who without basic knowledge about biology, just like me. The videos just told you "How to do it" but not "Why to do it". I really feel soooooo difficult to finish the final project.

By Ragavi S

Mar 25, 2016

Course project is difficult for someone who have little idea about the steps in pipelines. Could have included a video that explains few commonly used pipelines and ask the participants to do a project based on it.

By María E P R

Mar 18, 2017

I think this course is ok but is a limited version you need to spend a big time researching a lot about all the things to understand well the purpose and the final project.

By Dorota A

Nov 21, 2016

Galaxy seems to me out of date. There are some useful information, however there are also some drawbacks, especially not clear criteria of assessment of final project .

By Tianming W

Nov 22, 2019

Lack of essential guidance to finish the project. Would recommend beginners to take command line course in advance to know bcf file format before starting this course.