Chevron Left
Back to Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy by Johns Hopkins University

3.6
stars
816 ratings
248 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

GK
Sep 5, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG
Feb 2, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 243 Reviews for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

By Brandon W

Jul 16, 2018

This is a very good beginner course. The only complaint I had on this course would be to have the instructors include 'additional' material that the students could access if they so desired. Some type of 'additional reading' list would be awesome!

By Raphael L C

Mar 14, 2016

I feel dual emotions about how this course is organized. Although the Course Project was hard to perform without much background in genomics, it was the part where I learned the most - thanks to the staff and the other students in the forums.

By Asia S

Apr 14, 2020

The course was certainly illuminating on a valuable tool, however changes to Galaxy and the tools used in Galaxy since the course was made and the requirements for the final project caused completing the course to be a bit complicated.

By Maria J

Jul 12, 2019

In peer-review assignment the details about the project and how to use the tools are not taught which seems to be tough for students to complete the project . If they correct this issue then it will be very useful

By David B

Mar 19, 2019

The course videos are lean and has enjoyable hands on assignment to accomplish. In particular the last assignment is very exciting for its formula of peer (student to student) reviewed valuation systems

By Deleted A

Jun 17, 2019

O curso é excelente! O único ponto que acredito que podem melhorar é o projeto final, pois eu não soube como prosseguir no começo. Fiquei um pouco perdido. Mas fora esse detalhe, é um ótimo curso.

By D T

Aug 26, 2017

Highly instructive course on using Galaxy. Gives a very good flavour of the benefits, actual workflows and even a bit of administration in terms of installing your own version or a cloud version.

By Lara S

Jun 10, 2016

Very nice course. However, the final project is not very close to the course content. Still, it is very well doable thanks to the very helpful tutor / mentor.

By Carlos M G V

Apr 8, 2017

I like the course, very useful tutorial to start working with Galaxy, as a programmer it gives me a lot of knowledge to help the bio molecular scientists

By Sabrina S

Nov 20, 2016

Overall very helpful. The peer review instructions for grading may need to be expanded; found helpful notes in the forum, unfortunately after submitted.

By Daniele T

Apr 20, 2020

Good learning for someone with no experience.

Lectures are from late 2014/ early 2015 but still deliver the main idea and tools for the topic.

By Monika C

Oct 25, 2019

Please, update the course in terms of Galaxy tools used. Apart from that, it was a very useful course for me and very professionally led.

By Olga D

Nov 14, 2018

Course is very good! Fun to learn about Galaxy. The project assignment is not too well aligned with the materials being thought...

By William M G R

Jul 17, 2020

The final project is very hard and time-demanding, but I am very satisfied with what I have learned through this course.

By Ashwini J

Jul 20, 2016

Good intro course for people trying to understand data science role in Genome related data and other informations.

By Anuradha B

Sep 29, 2016

Course was pretty simple but the project was the toughest and took me another attempt to pass. But i enjoyed it!

By Yi S

Dec 18, 2019

The final assignment took too long and maybe more suitable if there is a grader rather than peer grading.

By Robert C M

Jul 22, 2019

The final project could have included more documentation...I did not feel prepared for the final project.

By Anyhe L B O

Nov 30, 2020

Debe actualizarse a las nuevas versiones de las herramientas de Galaxy. Pero aprendí mucho.

By Noam H

Sep 28, 2018

The course is good, I don't feel like I'm very excellent with Galaxy at the end of it

By Tonya S

Feb 29, 2020

Very challenging for a novice, but valuable skills were learned.

By Huang L

Dec 12, 2018

It is great, but can be better if there are more examples!

By Thodoris S

Dec 4, 2017

Good course if you need to know the basics in Galaxy.

By Sharavanakkumar S

Nov 28, 2020

I learned a new tool, which I'm now using a lot.

By Matt C

Apr 21, 2017

Good, but a brief overview.