Chevron Left
Back to Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy by Johns Hopkins University

3.7
stars
780 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 227 Reviews for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

By Ricardo C

Aug 30, 2016

Great introductory material, please do suggest more reading material!

By Ashwin S S

Apr 19, 2020

Pretty good course to learn about the galaxy from the founder.

By Eshwar U

Jun 20, 2020

Great practical information, learning by doing is awesome.

By Farbod E L

Jun 07, 2016

Very good and useful course with very deep supports !

By Yu-Chi L

Sep 19, 2019

It's very good! I learn the way to use Galaxy!

By Anasuya D

Feb 11, 2018

A very informative and well-conducted course.

By Chunyu Z

Feb 10, 2016

very helpful class. instructor is very clear.

By Zhao Y

Apr 26, 2018

Very useful, but not for beginners !

By Dana W

Jun 22, 2020

Practical and of great value!

By sandeep s

Dec 05, 2016

Excellent explanation. Thanks

By Carolina M C

Jan 30, 2018

Very fun and educational

By Nicolas B

Jul 30, 2020

Muy buen curso

By Michael N

Jan 26, 2019

Great course.

By Lisa K

Nov 06, 2016

great course!

By Xing Y

Oct 16, 2018

Very useful!

By Olushola ( A

Sep 08, 2017

Good course!

By Azin K

May 10, 2020

Thank you

By Carlos H L d M

Mar 01, 2019

Very good

By Yassine A R

Jul 14, 2020

helpfull

By Nicholas H

Mar 08, 2019

goodjob

By Md. R Q S

Sep 19, 2020

great

By Carlos I F H

Aug 05, 2020

s

u

p

e

r

By Gabriel L

Nov 22, 2019

The course is very well taught, the lectures are clear and easy to follow, the quizzes are properly designed and you can solve them with the material available. The drawback is that the Galaxy platform has been updated to much in relation with the course, they need to perform an updated version of the video lessons to keep it updated. It will take you more time than advertised because you will have to adapt to the changes in the new version, if not you could you install locally on your computer the older galaxy version used in this course. Everything except the peer-graded assignment is very clear, for this last assignment you will require to gather knowledge from somewhere else, do not frustrate as there is a forum and available help in google. But it is much difficult than the quizzes, and even though my peers gave me feedback I still do not know if my submission was right or wrong. Overall I enjoyed this tutorial and I would recommend it to my mates.

By Jacqueline W

May 09, 2016

Really interesting course! The introduction to Galaxy and all of the analysis tools is awesome. There is a pretty big cliff between the course content and the final project; it would be helpful if there were more detailed information along the way about what each of the analysis steps means (i.e., interpretation of the information, versus just knowing what file type to select at which analysis step). Based on the discussion board, many students had similar thoughts. Grading the final projects for others is a bit uncomfortable, given that no answers are provided for the counts, and there are multiple different workflows that could be considered correct.

By Frederick S

Oct 26, 2016

A lot of complaints about the final project for this course. To be fair, the course content wasn't directly relevant to the final project. However, there were parts of the course that communicated saved workflows, how to import, etc. In order to identify how to do what was asked I found an example workflow that could be imported. I also found an example history that allowed me to read through the approach and then complete myself. I was honest in turning in the assignment that it was based on an imported workflow. There is a big part of community and reproducible research to the Galaxy tools and I had no issue completing the project.