Chevron Left
Back to Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy by Johns Hopkins University

3.7
stars
781 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 227 Reviews for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

By Yehia A

Apr 08, 2020

The course is quite useful, and was well-introduced.

However for the final project, it is solely peer-reviewed, and most of us are still amateurs, so sometimes the judgement is not appropriate. plus there are lots of tools that can be used for a certain step, and each tool yields a totally different outcome.

I suggest that some lectures should be added to give more support to students during the project, in addition to providing guidance for the tools that should be used in the project. like for example, use tools w,x,y,z, to do this and that and so on.

By Kasper T K

Nov 20, 2017

The course is quite easy to take, which is reflected in its ability to inform the needed tools and approaches for doing some very basic genome data exploratory analysis.

The Final assignment was however outside the scope of the learning from this course, as principles and anaylsis which are NOT covered by this course (but in a latter Genomic Data Science specialization - Command Line tools) , are required to complete the final assignment. Instruction were too vague, which is the course for subtracting one star.

By AT V

Dec 02, 2017

This is an exceptional course. It is very interesting to learn the importance of Galaxy tools together with some practical experience in this course. The final project is quite apprehesive at first glance, nevertheless its engaging when you pry for furthermore to create the ultimately functioning workflow of demanded results. My suggestion would be to add on few more materials before the final project submission. I thank Coursera and Dr.James Taylor for this wonderful course. Cheers.

By Will S

Oct 26, 2017

Overall, a very informative course. The course project can be improved. For instance, if each week had a small component that tests the student's understanding of the tools using some data and a quiz so that the student can make sure he or she can actually apply Galaxy and get correct results. The course project can build on all the tools used. Instead of a peer graded assignment, there could be a quiz for the project so that there is no confusion as to what the correct results are.

By Jaeyoung C

Apr 12, 2017

I think the final project required much more domain knowledge than what the course actually taught.

Peer review system can be sometimes very confusing. Some of the confusions can be clarified by reading bunch of past discussions, but it'd be much better if there is a single place (not discussion forum) where students can find all the necessary information regarding the final project and how to grade. I think this info must be part of syllabus.

By Faisal A

May 29, 2017

Good course, I learned a lot... I have to wait about a week to being the peer-reviewed project, which was disappointing because I was ready to finish the course! Prof. Taylor instructs well, but if you're not following along, don't expect to understand what's going on...

Most of the bad reviews are from the project, which I don't have access to. I really hope it's not as bad as people suggest...

By Jennifer D

Jun 09, 2020

The Galaxy tools and the community surrounding it are great!

The course project is challenging and took me a lot longer than the suggested 2 hours; grading peer assignments takes about that amount of time since answers are often slightly different and you have to run workflows to accurately assess.

The course could definitely use an update since many of the tools discussed have fallen out of use.

By Margaux S

May 09, 2018

Great introduction to a new piece of software I had not yet come across. The lectures were clear and concise, however I felt the coursework was a big step in difficulty and was much harder than the level of the lectures. I also felt I was not equipped with the right knowledge to mark my peers confidently. I would recommend more guidance in the coursework and especially on how to mark it.

By Martin W

Aug 27, 2018

This course introduces the powerful Genomic software Galaxy, which accesses supercomputers to solve bioinformatics problems. The lectures are very interesting and concise. The final project is challenging since the lectures do not cover the tools required for the project. Fortunately, discussion forum posts by students and Mentors provide guidance about the Galaxy software.

By Steffen B

Apr 12, 2020

I felt that the lectures were great, but I struggled with finding the information needed to complete the final assignment, not coming from the field of genomics. I did not know and had to find out for myself what the different abbreviations meant and how to read a VCF file. A bit more guidance would have been helpful.

By Suki S

Mar 21, 2016

This was a bit challenging, not in content, but more in organization. I felt like I was getting freshman-level lectures and than was given a graduate-level assignment. The directions and expectations could have been clearer but the TA was terrific in trying to help us thru our difficulties.

By Omar R

Jul 28, 2019

Galaxy was explained very well in the course with examples and tutorials. The major challenge is to get a response from the professor on technical questions. Also, the final exam requires you to do a lot of search, find and define. A very good course for Galaxy; however be ready

By Giovani B F

Dec 29, 2018

I expected more instructional examples of tools and galaxy using in command line (for Linux/Mac), although the few examples of applicability were useful and the final project (forced hands-on) was the most helpful task that brought out real knowledge and experience in galaxy.

By Yang L

Apr 03, 2019

The course is all good, except that for the project part, I guess there should be more flexibility in grading part. Say, different people may use different reference genome (hg19, hg38), or apply different approach (say filtering with mapQuality). This should be counted.

By Brandon W

Jul 16, 2018

This is a very good beginner course. The only complaint I had on this course would be to have the instructors include 'additional' material that the students could access if they so desired. Some type of 'additional reading' list would be awesome!

By Raphael L C

Mar 14, 2016

I feel dual emotions about how this course is organized. Although the Course Project was hard to perform without much background in genomics, it was the part where I learned the most - thanks to the staff and the other students in the forums.

By Asia S

Apr 14, 2020

The course was certainly illuminating on a valuable tool, however changes to Galaxy and the tools used in Galaxy since the course was made and the requirements for the final project caused completing the course to be a bit complicated.

By Maria J

Jul 12, 2019

In peer-review assignment the details about the project and how to use the tools are not taught which seems to be tough for students to complete the project . If they correct this issue then it will be very useful

By David B

Mar 19, 2019

The course videos are lean and has enjoyable hands on assignment to accomplish. In particular the last assignment is very exciting for its formula of peer (student to student) reviewed valuation systems

By Deleted A

Jun 17, 2019

O curso é excelente! O único ponto que acredito que podem melhorar é o projeto final, pois eu não soube como prosseguir no começo. Fiquei um pouco perdido. Mas fora esse detalhe, é um ótimo curso.

By D T

Aug 26, 2017

Highly instructive course on using Galaxy. Gives a very good flavour of the benefits, actual workflows and even a bit of administration in terms of installing your own version or a cloud version.

By Lara S

Jun 10, 2016

Very nice course. However, the final project is not very close to the course content. Still, it is very well doable thanks to the very helpful tutor / mentor.

By Carlos M G V

Apr 09, 2017

I like the course, very useful tutorial to start working with Galaxy, as a programmer it gives me a lot of knowledge to help the bio molecular scientists

By Sabrina S

Nov 20, 2016

Overall very helpful. The peer review instructions for grading may need to be expanded; found helpful notes in the forum, unfortunately after submitted.

By Daniele T

Apr 21, 2020

Good learning for someone with no experience.

Lectures are from late 2014/ early 2015 but still deliver the main idea and tools for the topic.