Chevron Left
Back to Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy by Johns Hopkins University

3.7
stars
779 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use the tools that are available from the Galaxy Project. This is the second course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

BG

Feb 03, 2018

Great Course if you are interested in dissecting the genome. Galaxy opens up this invisible world and allows even us little people to explore the world once reserved to only Academia.

GK

Sep 06, 2018

This was a lot of work and rewarding to complete. The final project was challenging and the forum contributors helped a lot in pointing out good resources or strategies they had used.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 227 Reviews for Genomic Data Science with Galaxy

By Rhian C

Jan 13, 2017

Save your money and just work through the free Galaxy 101 tutorials on the Galaxy site! I found that the lecturers sometimes used random terminology without ever explaining it (for example, "tags" is another word for sequencing reads, but this is only ever used in RNA-seq methodology, and then only rarely). Also, the final peer reviewed project isn't explained very well and uses tools and methods that aren't even within the scope of the module. Mostly just a waste of time.

By Tyler H

Jun 23, 2020

This course is far too out of date and disjointed from the final project to be of any merit. While the lectures hosted by James Taylor are good, they are far too out of date, it would be a shame to lose them however they do not serve the purpose of this course. The final project reflects very little of what was learned in the course and frustrates many students. This course is in serious need of an update and more engagement from JHU/Coursera.

By Timothy S

Feb 22, 2016

This course was very disappointing and much of the content in the tests and course did not show up in the course project. I felt like the course project was far more advanced than all the other detail. In addition, there was minimal to NO detail on instruction. VERY poor development here and I would not recommend it to anyone. All you need to do is look at all the threads of complaints. I am looking forward to the next Python course and h

By Olga L

Mar 31, 2020

I have DS abd CS background and this course was like an ice bucket after "Intro to Genomic Technologies" course. Many genomics unknown terms were just casually mentioned. Videos where mostly about clicking buttons, without not much of WHY.

And the course project is just a pure madness. Has anyone verified that this course make sense end-to-end?

And did I mentioned that pretty much all mentioned tools are deprecated as of March 2020?....

By Deleted A

Jun 02, 2020

Very poorly structured course. Lectures did not prepare student well for the sheer difficulty of the final project.

Here are the cons with the course: (1) the course instructions for the final project were very vague, (2) a lot of the software used in the lectures are either old/deprecated, and (3) expertise with the command line and Galaxy compute resources is automatically assumed.

By Melissa L

Feb 12, 2020

This specialization is horribly out of date and the material taught is grossly insufficient to actually complete the course project, past that good luck getting it graded as no one seems to know what the "correct" answers actually are. The community in the discussion forum has been posting issues with executing the tutorials and assignments for over 3 years with no assistance.

By Ammar A

May 08, 2016

Good introduction to the galaxy tool. However, the final project was too difficult for what was given in the lectures. I spent 97% of the time I spent on the course doing only the final project. It was too difficult and unfair. I think a way to improve the final project might be to make easier a little bit and give exclusive lectures to help students to do the final project.

By Mohammed S K

Mar 27, 2017

Very poor presentation and content. Difficult to navigate and all the links used including that for Galaxy are outdated. There was no effort made to provide a method to get through the course given all the changes since the videos were recorded. This course is the reason I have decided not to pursue the specialization it falls under.

By Ayushi W

Jul 30, 2020

Worst course ever!

The tools have been changed in galaxy and the course hasn't been updated. Also no explanation is given regarding syntax and how to choose filters. Its been pathetic to complete the course project without much information. The tools used for the course project have also changed in galaxy.

Don't opt for this course.

By Ana L C

Jul 23, 2020

I learned nothing. There is no explanation of what he is doing or what for and since 90 % of the course is out of date I can't even follow what he is doing. Maybe if the tools and data would be explained I could manage to find the right tool. The teacher have knowledge but has no clue of how to teach.

a waste of time

By Michael G

Mar 30, 2020

The course itself is informative and the quizzes accurately represent the presented material; however, the final project exceeds the instructive material by such a wide gap that it was impossible for me to complete. Furthermore, I did spend significant time researching the topics further but still could not complete.

By Dmitriy S

Aug 01, 2016

Course assignment requires knowledge that is not discussed in the course. Various inconsistencies throughout the course. Week 4's material is not really helpful and I had a feeling that the instructior just wanted to "wrap up" the course and didn't really care if the material is appropriate. Poorly written quizzes.

By Omar D

May 27, 2016

This course's content is useful but honestly the final project is ridiculous because it is peer reviewed and the project is not very straightforward. Everyone gets different answers and without an answer key, no one knows what is right and wrong making it is almost impossible to pass. This needs to change.

By Anas A

Jul 12, 2016

First, the instructor assumes that the students know so much background knowledge when the students are expecting to learn these stuff in the course. I also feel that this course teaches students to memorize steps needed to accomplish certain operations in Galaxy without explaining why it occurs.

By Pedro M

Feb 03, 2020

I'd like to first thank the makers of this course for their efforts! However, to be honest, this is possibly the least enjoyable course I took from JHU on Coursera (and I took several already). It's all about click here and there, and the final project is overwhelming!

By Matthew Z

Nov 29, 2019

This course is severely out of date. The lectures are several years old and advocate the use of tools that are no longer state of the art. The lectures also do not cover fully the material needed to do the final course project. Overall this class is not recommended.

By Gonzalo C S

Apr 04, 2017

Very bad explanations. You don't understand anything about what you're doing, just pressing buttons. THis should maybe go after the command line course, so that at least you would have any idea of what you're doing.

By Matteo B

Aug 11, 2019

Dumbest course I ever seen......confused and very low level. The final exam is peer reviewed by two classmates and I didn't pass because one classmate is unable to open the vcf file

By Makragić A

Oct 26, 2016

I suggest to do this course ONLY if you're doing whole specialization.

Course is simply bad, teacher doesn't give to much information and project is very hard to finish.

By David P

Aug 07, 2016

This class presents very elementary information in the video lectures, then it requires knowledge far beyond what is taught in the course to finish the final project.

By Ali R K

Feb 21, 2016

It gives a quick background on Galaxy and its softwares. Content is appropriate but does not prepare you for even the final assignment or real genomic problems.

By Shashank Y

Jan 10, 2020

The worst online course I ever did. Totally outdated material and no help regarding the project. struggled for the whole day and still not able to complete it

By Kara V B

May 18, 2020

This course is out of date, and what you learn vs what you are expected to complete in the project are not equivalent. I am disappointed with this course.

By Zhaofeng G

Dec 23, 2019

Very old course materials. The final project was really not a fit for this course. Please update this course, or just throw it away. Thank you.

By Priscilla C

Apr 09, 2017

This course is really bad. I didnt understood anything until by myself and with tutorials I could do it.