Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,345 ratings
997 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 970 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Shin C

Feb 26, 2016

Great introduction to game development for people, who had no experience in that and good base for future skills development.

By Debasis K

Mar 21, 2016

Everyone must take this course if they seriously taking Game Development as their profession. really helped me a lot.

By Andrew K

Mar 22, 2016

Great teaching. The code walk-throughs for the final few lessons were quite intense compared to the tempo throughout the rest of the course, although multiple viewings are encouraged.

By Gabriel C

Mar 29, 2017

Es un gran curso, muy entretenido y exigente.

By Bylinkina M

Oct 06, 2016

very interesting and informative

By Ivailo D

Aug 02, 2016

Great Course. Thanksfor evrything ! :)

By Aleksandar N

Aug 14, 2016

Perfect intro into Unity3D. Great instructor. Only downside is if you finish earlier, you'll have to wait for others because of peer review setup. :D

By Aleksei R

Dec 17, 2017

Awesome !!!!

By Jacky N

Jul 10, 2016

Great lecturer, easy to understanding and extra content to explore more of the course. Give it a 5 star!

By Yang l

Dec 05, 2016

Very detailed material and hands on examples. It is a great introduction to how to build 3D game in Unity.

By Chong H A

Aug 07, 2016

Easy to follow and understand, good balance of conceptual lectures and hands on practices.

By Eddie F

May 08, 2017

I've learned so much from this course! The instructor did an amazing job explaining the basic understanding of unity such as game objects, animation, vfx and how to structuralize the game properly.

This is great for students who wants to pursue a gaming degree in unity!

By Eduardo Y R

Sep 28, 2016

An awesome introduction to Unity! You will make two 3D games, utilizing tools like Player Controls, User Interface, Light, Collision, Music and Sounds, Camera and many more. Everything explained in a very practical and clear manner. I liked the teacher very much!

By Andrey L

Oct 18, 2015

Very useful and interesting course

By Anderson C d S

Oct 15, 2015

Great intro to game development and Unity3D!

By Khushboo J

Jun 09, 2018

Very interesting and learning experience

By Kumar N

Feb 14, 2016

Awesome for beginners

By Daniel K

Nov 14, 2015

I wish this went into 2d game development as well

By Wassim J

Nov 11, 2015

Brian is awesome.

By Jayanth T

Oct 04, 2016

Fun course! The teacher was great at explaining concepts taught through this lecture! I would really recommend this course along with the other courses in this specialization!

By Eduardo S

Nov 09, 2015

Excellent course. I recommend it.

By Hasan S O

Jun 17, 2017

This course is great for beginners in game devolopment. I had nearly no experience as game developer but after taking the course, now I can understand the basic concepts of game development. There are also projects in this course which you will make 3 different games and edit them as you pleasure.

By Ben B

Apr 18, 2016

For the price, I felt like I learnt a lot, and the way the learning was structured helped me learn quickly and efficiently. At the end of each week I was happy surprised how much work could be created in such a short time!

By Cesc C P

Apr 28, 2016

Excellent course

By tomer s

Jul 20, 2016

I tried other complex Unity3d courses online, and this one beats them all in the way it is built stage by stage. It doesn't pile too much information from the start, and lets you use pre-generated complex assests first, and only later explains them gradually. Even though I had some basic tutorial in Unity3d I couldn't imagine getting that far within a month, investing only about 3-4 hours on the lectures. The projects themselves consume as much time as you want/have to put into, with at least 3-4 hours on average, but if you want to really learn and improve your skill, it requires a lot more than that.