Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
4,296 ratings
1,330 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG
Sep 29, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH
Nov 15, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,302 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Onur Ş

Nov 5, 2020

Very useful to learn the basics of creating games in Unity. A project-based course which makes you create 2 games while you are learning Unity interface and basic programming

By Aashwin K

Jul 27, 2017

Everything explained professionally, and while taking the course, it felt as if I was getting a personal lecture from Brian. I'll look forward to applying in this university.

By Kulbhushan

Mar 12, 2017

This is the best course for a beginner to start working with Unity3D. The instructor had explained the concepts in a simple and precise manner. Thanks for this great course.

By Mousa M

Jan 10, 2016

I learned a lot. Before taking this course, the word "Game Engine" was a scary term and I though it's only for the very professionals. Now I see everyone can easily use them.

By Derhach A

May 11, 2020

Excellent course for everyone who's interested in game development. It doesn't matter if you are a newcomer or have some experience, you do find some interesting information

By Kingsley k

Feb 20, 2020

although i found the learning curve somewhat steep, this course helped me learn unity and C# literally from the scratch. It's a great course. i will recommend it right away

By Jannis F

Oct 28, 2016

The course gave a cler introduction to unity with fast results which are motivating to go on. You get a hand on basic unity features and learn how build a simple interface.

By Miloš T

Jan 20, 2016

Excellent course and very good intro to Unity. Videos, assignments and everything really helped to become familiar with Unity and adopt good practices when making projects.

By Pavel A

Oct 27, 2015

Great intro to game development for those who have no prior experience in this area. I had some, but found a great deal of information, knowledge and skills in this course.

By Chris F

May 21, 2020

I'm a technical producer trying to re specialise for a gaming career. This is an excellent course to get you started in immersing yourself in the game development process!

By Andrew E

Aug 15, 2016

Straightforward and gives the required pieces to make a couple simple games that actually play well and are easy to expand. A great introduction to Unity and C# scripting.

By Deleted A

Jan 5, 2016

"Introduction to Game Development" was amazing course personally. Through taking the course, I gained a greater appreciation and interest in creating and developing games.

By Sai K

Jul 7, 2020

A Very good and interesting course. all topics easily explained. Started this as a hobby. Now that interest in learning more about game development has grown drastically.

By Ruslan F

Apr 24, 2020

It is a reeealy useful course if you are going to build any games. It gives you the foundation of prototyping your ideas — this way you can easily test them on your own!

By Javier D A G

Jul 16, 2018

I think this coursed fullfilled the purpose of introducing the game development concept in unity, even thought I think that the course should have more exposure to code.

By Dilara K

Nov 22, 2020

It was one of the best courses I have ever taken for my entire life. Thank you for this amazing course and thanks to the Brian Winn! It was just so good! Thanks again.

By Rhonniel

Nov 13, 2020

Excellent course, I like how the Teacher explains each point from the beginning (image, music, graphics ). The course has a good base to start the game design journey.

By Robert C

Jun 1, 2017

This course introduced me to Unity and showed me the potential you can do with it. The assignments felt like you were actually building your own games. Learned a lot!

By Luke A S

Jun 26, 2016

Great class, you learn to use Unity at a great pace, instructions are clear, and everything is reasonable to do as you are walked through the process of making games.

By Priyankar K

Dec 26, 2015

Easy to understand format. Starts off from the basics. Concepts are explained through projects which are actual games- so you gain hands on training. Excellent course.

By Sam H

Dec 8, 2015

Ever wondered how games are made ? After taking this course you will be able to make your very own video game.

Very hands on course with lots of practical assignments.

By Christopher K

Oct 20, 2015

Exceptional introductory course. Lessons were well organized, different methods were used to perform the same function to show flexibility, simply a pure joy to take!

By Pablo F S

May 18, 2019

O curso é um grande catalisador de ideias. Expandindo a mente criativa e dando novas possibilidades para um aspirante a Game Designer. Realmente é um curso muito bom

By Musa A

Apr 3, 2019

These Lectures are going very helpful for me in understanding game concepts and games logic. The instructor Mr. Brian Winn's teaching methodology is very impressive.

By Bakhtier S M

Apr 3, 2017

Very intense = useful course. Some complain that it is too difficult, but as a non-programmer I found it the most efficient course among 10+ others I found for free.