Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,336 ratings
996 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 969 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Carlos V

Jun 12, 2016

Good Starter Course, will be Nice more Unity Examples

By Parth S

Feb 16, 2016

Course was very informative and helpful. I learnt a lot about unity and its tools and concepts. But there was very less scripting (coding) in the course.

By Robert M

Sep 05, 2016

Great intro to game development. I wish it had covered a bit more about coding in Unity as well as importing assets from other software, but overall very informative.

By Cyrille B D

Feb 16, 2016

Good technical base introduction to Unity 3D and usage of standard assets for basic prototyping.

By Sergey S

May 24, 2017

Very approachable introduction to Unity game development. Alas, video quality and sound quality is somewhat mediocre.

By Howard H

Oct 13, 2015

For beginners of video game development tool (Unity), this course is a great start. I think it would be even better if it can have maybe one or two more weeks for more example projects, and cover more about scripting, computer visual, imaging concepts etc.

By Maribeth D

Oct 14, 2015

This course is very good at explaining both how and why you would do things a certain way in Unity, something that is missing from most of the tutorials you can find out on the Internet. The professor explains concepts behind why you need to use certain components instead of just giving a list of things to match up to replicate the projects. I've rated it 4 out of 5 stars not based on the content, but because the response time, interaction, and feedback could be improved upon. The content is definitely 5 of 5. I took this during the first run of the course, so I'm sure that the course staff will improve on this in the future once they get a bit more used to running a MOOC on Coursera.

By Sridharan

Oct 19, 2016

A very useful course for beginners who have no knowledge of Unity. This is the best course to learn about the basics in the Unity and using the Interface. Scripting walk through was not enough. A few more exercises would have made it the best course

By Gabriel S M

Mar 27, 2017

Excelent course for those starting from scract!

By John K

Jan 31, 2016

It was a great course.The topics were well understood and the techniques used to make the games are providing a good basis for further game dev learning (in unity)

By Filip D

Oct 22, 2015

Awesome Awesome ! You have to pay for quizes

Thank you a lot for the cource like this

By Nicolas S

Feb 23, 2017

Great course! Congrats to the teacher!

It was clear and I learnt a lot!

By Stella M

Mar 28, 2016

It's a simple and straight-forward course that brings you through the basics pretty fast. If you have the time, you could actually do the whole course in a day or two, just coming back for peer review. There are no surprises and the projects are simple. The instructor even lists what the objects of each lesson and video are, so if you need to look back at a specific feature, you need only look at the titles and then watch that one video. It's also interesting to see what people think of when creating a second level, if they try to go further.

By Jonathan M K

Jan 10, 2017

This is a strong start to game development using the Unity editor. This course covers the basics of game development from graphics to game programming using the C# programming language that the Unity editor uses. It opens the door for growth opportunities.

By Marc-André M

May 17, 2017

This course is wonderful, fast paced and engaging. The assignments are fun and make you feel like you are progressing. Maybe one challenge is that Unity is evolving very quickly and some of the material refers to deprecated Unity features. But as of Unity 5.6, you should still be able to get through the course with only minor tweaks. Having to search for solutions is something you'll need to do when you're working on Unity projects by yourself, so might as well get used to it. The forums are a great help.

By Tony O

Dec 22, 2015

A very good intro, and everything works. I loved it

By Blogzit

Jan 06, 2016

Was hard to keep up with work as well.

By Hermenegildo F d A N

May 08, 2017

Ótimo curso, mesmo só com noções de programação da pra seguir no curso.

By Jules J

Aug 10, 2017

A very nice introduction to Game Development. A great job that ensures the learner to get started immediately and thereby being able to integrate the knowledge directly. I loved the practical projects!

By Ricardo M

Dec 14, 2016

Excellent introduction to Unity3D. Wish it went more into the process of developing games.

By Matias F

Jan 18, 2016

A nice introduction to Game Development. The content is great and it doesn't overextend to the point of scaring you off game dev. I would give this course 5 stars if it had a little more spice. Everything in the course felt too scripted. I would suggest doing some fun live sessions on the side or something to let us know we're not being taught by robots.

By Rahul S

Jul 12, 2016

This is a very introductory course meant for people having absolutely no background in 3D graphics or 3D game development. As a student with some experience in OpenGL and concepts like 3D transformation algorithms and whatnot, I believe that the course clearly delves into the making of the games rather than having deep insight into the algorithms required for that which is absolutely amazing and easy to understand for a starter. However if the course takers are expecting a deep insight into the 3D world and the mathematics behind that, you'll have to rely on other sources like books on Computer Graphics. However as an introductory course this clears the required concepts to a required extent.

By George S

Apr 18, 2019

informative

By Nigel M

Jun 20, 2019

I like it because we learn some cool stuff, but its hard to get in touch with others when we have questions is all.

By Carlos I M B

Jul 24, 2019

My only concern is that the coding part was good, but if the student doesn't have any coding experience would be pretty hard to understand some of the content.