Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,367 ratings
1,006 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

SG

Feb 07, 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 979 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Santi R

Apr 16, 2018

Ama

By Yousaf J

Apr 17, 2018

Amazing Corse for Beginers Good instructer and i like teaching style with with practical i like.

By Rui M R H

Nov 15, 2017

This course is an excellent entry point for whoever is thinking about designing video games in a more serious manner. It's focused on hands-on practice, but it also complements it with some theory, which helps you understand the global picture of video games industry.

This course is not simply about Unity, but it's a good way of starting to practice with it. I know there are tutorials from Unity at their website, but this course does a little more than that, in the sense that you get the whole picture about video games. Plus, to those who fear programming, it gets you acquainted to code as seamlessly as possible. You won't even have to use it on the first two projects. The third project will get you to use it, and by then you will be comfortable enough with Unity layout, which will make you feel that programming is not as daunting as you thought. After that, you can always get back to Unity tutorials, and it feels easier to watch and learn from them.

Some of the content, especially the one that has to do with Unity, is slightly outdated, but this will not keep you from succeeding.

By Sude B

Mar 03, 2018

Thanks to the lesson and proffessor Bryan Winn, I have much more idea about game designing and how game engines work.

By Nakib A T

Mar 13, 2018

From very first enjoying the course.......

By Yiğit D

Nov 05, 2017

It is a great beginner course!

By Andrea C

Feb 22, 2018

Very interesting

By Mahmoud O

May 27, 2018

Great step by step course very recommended for beginners.

By Andrew B

May 02, 2018

This is a great course for learning some basic game development principals. Can't wait to see what the other courses from the creators have in store!

By Ivan D

Jun 28, 2018

I learned so much, it is very good!!

By Roger R

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent Course!

By Lucas C

Dec 29, 2017

Great course and introduction to game development!

It gave me the basics to create cool stuff in Unity

Don't miss it!

By Richard H

Jul 30, 2017

I am already a Game Developer, but still great to refresh some knowledge and the 'hard fun'.

By Angela H

Oct 17, 2017

I really loved this course! I've used Unity before, but this class really helped solidify my knowledge and I picked up a few new tricks in the process. I really liked the video instructions and how the teacher presented the content. The peer review grading system was clear on what warranted a passing grade, so I felt that doing a good job was recognized. Thanks for an excellent course!

By Tobias W

Dec 21, 2017

Excellent! The learning plan is clearly laid out, the material covers all the basics and the teacher is professional and engaging. Of course, this module only covers the basics, so students shouldn't expect too much content. But that's what the rest of the courses are there for.

By ANAND R

Jun 29, 2018

The course was well organized and very helpful for the students who are new to programming world.

By Oleg S

Apr 11, 2018

This course is totally ok!

By Ron C

Sep 03, 2017

Great course! Pacing was nice and the information was clear and easy to follow. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking for a basic understanding of game development as well as those wanting to get started using Unity3D.

By Vaibhav T

Jul 01, 2018

great experience soo far ...!!

By Jashanpreet S

Jul 05, 2018

Nice Course for the beginners .It teaches us the basic concepts of the game development.

By Henri H

Jun 12, 2018

Well put together.

By Yogendra M G

Jun 25, 2018

It was awesome

By Siddhant S

Jul 09, 2018

Great, This is the most through introduction to game development. This is indeed hard fun.

By Pola K Z F

Jun 22, 2018

It great course that helped me alot with understanding more about game creating using Unity3D and it got some tricks in game programming in C# as well.

By Sushma B

Jul 09, 2018

It is a very good course for beginners. All the things are explained very nicely.I seriously recommend all to take up this course if you have just started up with unity and game development.