Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
4,409 ratings
1,376 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG
Sep 29, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH
Nov 15, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

1151 - 1175 of 1,350 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Aaron K

Jun 27, 2017

This course could improve by including more succinct instructions on how to solve issues and challenges when the learners are left to finish their weekly projects. I found that there were too many incidences where I had to search through a lot of forums to find solutions to my issues.

By Dan W

Oct 21, 2015

Very enjoyable, and a lot of fun. Instruction is easy to follow, and the workload is quite manageable.

On the downside, there is no interaction with the instructor or any course staff on the forums, so if you have any issues, it'll be up to your classmates to help you.

By melissa

May 17, 2020

Great course, but the material and assests need to be updated to work with the latest version of Unity, lots of trying out different versions was needed to make it all work and not have scripting and object errors. Would give it five stars if it was refreshed.

By Kenny T

Apr 7, 2020

Excellent introduction to Unity. Three hands-on projects provide an interactive and motivating learning experience. As the course is very light on C#, it is quite difficult to experiment with the projects without doing your own research (i.e. Googling code).

By Peter B S

Mar 6, 2017

Found that the course lived up to my expectations. It was a solid four week learning experience, where you get to know Unity. I do wish that the teacher would spend less time reading from a manuscript, as it hurt the immersion from the student's perspective.

By Jonathan M K

Jan 10, 2017

This is a strong start to game development using the Unity editor. This course covers the basics of game development from graphics to game programming using the C# programming language that the Unity editor uses. It opens the door for growth opportunities.

By Fady K

Oct 22, 2015

Well-prepared course that is easy to follow and teaches the basics of game development with Unity 3D. It was fun and engaging, and the instructor seemed knowledgeable. Recommended to folks who want to get started with Unity and game development in general.

By Howard H

Oct 13, 2015

For beginners of video game development tool (Unity), this course is a great start. I think it would be even better if it can have maybe one or two more weeks for more example projects, and cover more about scripting, computer visual, imaging concepts etc.

By Sriram R

Oct 14, 2019

Great course, just that it is done with a much older version of Unity, but all the basics are covered. Felt more could have been done with the coding part for beginners but the course was well done within the time limit . Highly recommended for beginners

By MoNa M M

Aug 16, 2019

It's a great and helpful course to get started in game specialization but also there're some missing in the standards, i learned to do things but i don't know why or what is that mean. on general it's a good start with some researches ans more study.

By Sridharan

Oct 19, 2016

A very useful course for beginners who have no knowledge of Unity. This is the best course to learn about the basics in the Unity and using the Interface. Scripting walk through was not enough. A few more exercises would have made it the best course

By Carlos M

Jan 17, 2016

The only thing that stands between the 5 and 4 stars evaluation of this course is the fact that assignments should have a broader range of grades for the peer review (like 0-2.5-5-7.5-10).

On all the rest, congratulations! It is a great course!

By Ram K

Feb 13, 2016

Great course for learning the basics of Game Development and getting into the Unity 3D Game Engine.

Suggestion: The workload needs to be re organized, the first two weeks need little to no efforts while the last two weeks are more intense.

By Alma C

Aug 5, 2020

Well taught, but uses often outdated software. I managed to get everything to work, but you’ll do well to install all the older versions that the instructor uses, from 2015. Also, check the discussion page for troubleshooting.

By Michal S

Jun 30, 2020

Overall this course is very good as introduction. All subjects are teached clearly and I understood everything.

Only problem is not-updated videos/material for unity, but thanks to community finding a solution isnt that hard.

By Keith M

Sep 8, 2020

The class is easy to follow and gives a solid foundation to being learning Unity and game production. Some of the scripts are out of date but they are easily fixed and the discussion forum is full of people willing to help!

By Cobus L r

May 17, 2017

While it did teach me a lot of what i wanted to know, I feel it spoon fed me too often with regards to the scripting components. Other than that it was tons of fun and I would definitely recommend it to some of my friends.

By Jose D G

Oct 21, 2015

Love the projects and classes!, but i was expecting more interaction with the teacher due that we found some bugs in the content , we were able to solved using the forum, but i was expecting that the teacher step up

By Angelo M M

Jan 6, 2021

I enjoyed doing the projects which really helped me have an understanding on the subject. It's perfect for shifting programmers, with basic programming knowledge, who like to slowly immerse in game development.

By Surya N

Dec 26, 2018

The course is well-paced, and the projects are really interesting. Making each project is hands-on, and I think it gives you an intuitive feel for developing a basic game and using Unity proficiently.

By Jules J

Aug 10, 2017

A very nice introduction to Game Development. A great job that ensures the learner to get started immediately and thereby being able to integrate the knowledge directly. I loved the practical projects!

By Korupolu S

Jun 6, 2020

I have a no idea about game design and development this course helped me with the basics and how to use the unity editor wisely , i learned how to make cool things , this course was helpful for me

By Shahzada S H

Nov 13, 2017

It is one of the best course I have ever seen. I love it as in this course basics are taught and there isn't much concern on coding. Great course for basic Game Dev Knowledge and basic experience

By Alberto A d S J

Apr 25, 2017

Learning online was better then expected. Sometimes there was some hard tasks without all the hints, but searching for answers is a good way of learning. There forum isn´t very helpful though

By MASHETTI P K

Aug 19, 2020

its really an awesome experience ..but need to be more precise on the use of upcoming versions .need to go deep in using c# in unity ...overall its really worth for the time spending.