Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
4,420 ratings
1,383 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG
Sep 29, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

ML
Jul 21, 2019

Really great course! It was more challenging towards the end of it, but I enjoyed it and recommend it. I hope that my completing the course marked the start of my future as a game designer and maker.

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,357 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Samuel S

Feb 7, 2016

Great introduction to Unity3D. Everything is taught in a very comprehensive level. I would have liked to see more fundamentals of C# scripting though.

By Laura G

Dec 9, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. I just wish it had been updated to use a later version of Unity as quite a lot has changed since the videos were created.

By Babar H

Jun 27, 2020

The course is brilliant for game lovers who want to develop games because it covers all the basic aspects of game development in a wonderful manner.

By Alon A

May 21, 2018

its a solid course but i find it lacking at the programming side, you learn a very small amount and than replace all the scripts with premade ones

By Mateus B

Jul 10, 2017

This is a great course to learn the basic of Unity Engine. I was expecting a different approach on scripting, but it was very interesting anyway.

By Deleted A

Sep 21, 2016

The way He explains is Good But it would be cool if he also Explains Every small thing in Unity. But yeah ,Great Course for a beginner though.

By Gaurav S M

Oct 23, 2015

good experience and definitely a great primer on unity. didn't really focus on coding until the last lecture; even then it was pretty minimal.

By Ryan B

Nov 1, 2017

Great course! Taught a variety of things that I needed to know to start on my Development journey. I just wish there was a bit more coding!

By Julian D

Feb 4, 2016

Good examples and great video tutorials. The learning curve it's well balanced and the workshops are well structured according the lessons.

By Dave B

Jul 25, 2016

Some given assets need to be upgrades or provided for the latest version of Unity. Otherwise a great class well worth the time and effort.

By Kartik A D

Apr 5, 2020

I being a programmer, was able to understanding how scripting works. But I really think it should have been taught in detail a bit!

By Tania A

Nov 18, 2015

The course works nicely as an introduction to Unity 3D, and some of the basic concepts that you may find later in game development.

By Steven S

Sep 16, 2020

I think the scripting part was a little weak but I understand that it's an introductory course. The rest was pretty solid overall.

By Christian S

Dec 8, 2020

It was fun to work through this course, it was simple/easy to follow along and the projects were interesting enough to work on.

By andraž g

Nov 9, 2018

It was some work. But not to hard. The grading process was somewhat unfair. It only leaves you with two choices. 0 and 5points.

By Swara G

Jul 13, 2018

course gives you good knowledge of unity but it would be better to learn little bit more about unity before taking this course

By Krylov D

Sep 19, 2017

Nice course, i really like teachers lessongs, but sometimes it's kinda getting borring. I think it should be tougher.

By Deleted A

May 24, 2017

Very approachable introduction to Unity game development. Alas, video quality and sound quality is somewhat mediocre.

By Martin R

Dec 19, 2015

Only hurdle was some downloaded assets that wouldn't work with the animator.

Well paced, clear, and easy to pick up.

By Nigel M

Jun 20, 2019

I like it because we learn some cool stuff, but its hard to get in touch with others when we have questions is all.

By Janardhanan N

Nov 9, 2015

Excellent course about Game Development introduction. It will be nice if they include a

chapter about Mobile game.

By Seth L

Feb 16, 2016

It was pretty informative. Some things felt too rushed, but I definitely learned how to use the basics of Unity.

By Abdelmomen A S H

Oct 10, 2018

this course was very useful to me as beginner, but part of coding was very difficult and need more explanation.

By Ahmed F A H

Sep 30, 2019

Very nice course ,well presented , suitable for who wanna start in game development using unity engine and C#.

By Dmitry K

Mar 26, 2016

Great course - You're learning the foundations of building games with the most ubiquitous game engine - Unity!