Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,313 ratings
986 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 960 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Kareem A H

Sep 15, 2019

I love this course i learned a lot

By Brian R v K

Sep 15, 2019

Introduction to Game Development was a practical introduction to game development using Unity3d. Outstanding!

By Skudaev E

Sep 19, 2019

That is an awesome course!) I finally have some basic game development and script writing skills and know how to make easy games. Everything is explained very good and is easy to understand for those who actually don't speak English as their mother language. I highly recommend this course, I'm sure you'll like it!

By Kendry G

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

By Nuno P

Oct 01, 2019

Nice introduction course.

By Elia G

Sep 30, 2019

It is an amazing course with all the meanings that the word holds .. I'm so happy that I did this course and I am so excited for the next one . All thanks for Michigan State University and especially to professor Brain Winn , thank you very much for this interesting and awesome course .

By Miguel A D

Oct 04, 2019

It was pretty helpful and straight forward But just like professor Brian said, it was hard fun!

By andrew e

Sep 13, 2019

Best Instructor Ever

By Siobhan S

Sep 12, 2019

Really organised and fun. Learnt a lot!

By Anıl C

Oct 08, 2019

Great course for getting start to game development. Everything explained clearly.

By Rozenfel'd R V

Sep 24, 2019

Отличный курс, все понятно и довольно просто :)

By Gavin F

Sep 23, 2019

Really great instruction and the perfect introduction to Unity3d.

By Jim S

Sep 23, 2019

Instructions were clear and easy to follow

By Shubhankar M

Oct 14, 2019

loved this course, really broadened my horizons on the thoughts about what goes on behind the game.

By Joao S

Oct 21, 2019

Good introduction to start getting in contact with the game editor engine.

By Surya N

Dec 26, 2018

The course is well-paced, and the projects are really interesting. Making each project is hands-on, and I think it gives you an intuitive feel for developing a basic game and using Unity proficiently.

By Swara G

Jul 13, 2018

course gives you good knowledge of unity but it would be better to learn little bit more about unity before taking this course

By Maribeth D

Oct 14, 2015

This course is very good at explaining both how and why you would do things a certain way in Unity, something that is missing from most of the tutorials you can find out on the Internet. The professor explains concepts behind why you need to use certain components instead of just giving a list of things to match up to replicate the projects. I've rated it 4 out of 5 stars not based on the content, but because the response time, interaction, and feedback could be improved upon. The content is definitely 5 of 5. I took this during the first run of the course, so I'm sure that the course staff will improve on this in the future once they get a bit more used to running a MOOC on Coursera.

By Cynthia S

Dec 20, 2015

Excellent hands-on introduction to the Unity game engine, the development workflow and the many nuances of how these all work together for the artistic as well as the technical designers. I especially appreciate the instructor's careful attention to learner-centered demonstration, and for his respectful use of, as well as frequent nods to, Unity as a top notch engine for quality development. Packed with a great deal of information, and the demonstration of how to apply this knowledge, I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is wanting to break into interactive media development, or is wanting to broaden their methods and application knowledge in this area.

By Julia d M R

Oct 13, 2015

Pretty good, just wish it had more time to focus more on programming for this free portion of it.

By Markus B

Dec 26, 2015

Good course that gets you going with Unity3D. Very simple to follow the hands-on lectures, just repeat in your own editor. The assignments are very easy, this is the easiest course I've completed on Coursera. Very basic coding involved, and you don't need to write anything from scratch. I will take the next Course offered by Michigan State University as well!

By Caitlin M

Nov 02, 2015

The instructor videos were clear and informative. The course had a balanced mix of game development theory and practical exercises. Solid introduction to the Unity game design platform. The projects increased in difficulty and time commitment as the course progressed, building on prior knowledge. The peer review of game files was challenging at times, but it was a good experience to create actual games.

By Gabriel A

Sep 28, 2015

M

By Peter B S

Mar 06, 2017

Found that the course lived up to my expectations. It was a solid four week learning experience, where you get to know Unity. I do wish that the teacher would spend less time reading from a manuscript, as it hurt the immersion from the student's perspective.

By Marco C

Jul 25, 2016

Very good introduction to game engines, in particular to Unity 3D. There are several projects that provide hand on experience. The only negative side is that the first 2 weeks provide very little material whereas most of the work is concentrated on the last 2 weeks.

Overall this is good experience for anyone interested in learning about the subject.