Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,369 ratings
1,006 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

SG

Feb 07, 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 980 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Tae H

Dec 02, 2015

The class started with great instruction and was easy to follow. Coming into week 4, the class sped up really quick and became a lot more difficult to manage.

By Rahul S

Jul 12, 2016

This is a very introductory course meant for people having absolutely no background in 3D graphics or 3D game development. As a student with some experience in OpenGL and concepts like 3D transformation algorithms and whatnot, I believe that the course clearly delves into the making of the games rather than having deep insight into the algorithms required for that which is absolutely amazing and easy to understand for a starter. However if the course takers are expecting a deep insight into the 3D world and the mathematics behind that, you'll have to rely on other sources like books on Computer Graphics. However as an introductory course this clears the required concepts to a required extent.

By Jasdeep S

Oct 06, 2015

Awesome teacher and awesome course.

By Manoj J

Dec 18, 2015

Well taught course. Thanks.

By Sridharan

Oct 19, 2016

A very useful course for beginners who have no knowledge of Unity. This is the best course to learn about the basics in the Unity and using the Interface. Scripting walk through was not enough. A few more exercises would have made it the best course

By Jonathan M K

Jan 10, 2017

This is a strong start to game development using the Unity editor. This course covers the basics of game development from graphics to game programming using the C# programming language that the Unity editor uses. It opens the door for growth opportunities.

By Gabriel S M

Mar 27, 2017

Excelent course for those starting from scract!

By Nicolas S

Feb 23, 2017

Great course! Congrats to the teacher!

It was clear and I learnt a lot!

By Stella M

Mar 28, 2016

It's a simple and straight-forward course that brings you through the basics pretty fast. If you have the time, you could actually do the whole course in a day or two, just coming back for peer review. There are no surprises and the projects are simple. The instructor even lists what the objects of each lesson and video are, so if you need to look back at a specific feature, you need only look at the titles and then watch that one video. It's also interesting to see what people think of when creating a second level, if they try to go further.

By Filip D

Oct 22, 2015

Awesome Awesome ! You have to pay for quizes

Thank you a lot for the cource like this

By Marc-André M

May 17, 2017

This course is wonderful, fast paced and engaging. The assignments are fun and make you feel like you are progressing. Maybe one challenge is that Unity is evolving very quickly and some of the material refers to deprecated Unity features. But as of Unity 5.6, you should still be able to get through the course with only minor tweaks. Having to search for solutions is something you'll need to do when you're working on Unity projects by yourself, so might as well get used to it. The forums are a great help.

By Tony O

Dec 22, 2015

A very good intro, and everything works. I loved it

By Blogzit

Jan 06, 2016

Was hard to keep up with work as well.

By Hermenegildo F d A N

May 08, 2017

Ótimo curso, mesmo só com noções de programação da pra seguir no curso.

By Ricardo M

Dec 14, 2016

Excellent introduction to Unity3D. Wish it went more into the process of developing games.

By Matias F

Jan 18, 2016

A nice introduction to Game Development. The content is great and it doesn't overextend to the point of scaring you off game dev. I would give this course 5 stars if it had a little more spice. Everything in the course felt too scripted. I would suggest doing some fun live sessions on the side or something to let us know we're not being taught by robots.

By Ben R

Nov 08, 2015

Very good introduction to Unity3d.

By Moustakis I

Dec 01, 2016

I really enjoyed this course!

By Konstantinos L

Jan 10, 2017

Good Course, but fairly easy to pass and repeatitive after week 2. Good intro for Game Development.

By Gaurav S M

Oct 23, 2015

good experience and definitely a great primer on unity. didn't really focus on coding until the last lecture; even then it was pretty minimal.

By Johan C

Jun 07, 2018

Unfortunately I've already learnt a lot of the content of the course, but for a beginner this is a very good introduction to working in Unity. I would just suggest that you update your Unity to the latest version for peer reviews and expect rather large uploads (100MB+ per peer review), as people don't follow the guidelines of deleting their temporary data as specified by the instructor. The only reason why this isn't a 5 star review is that the programming section could be expanded upon a bit, or at least feature optional readings to help establish a solid base of programming skills for beginners that are willing to learn.

By Mary E C

Mar 01, 2016

Solid course with a good introduction to Unity.

By Cyrille B D

Feb 16, 2016

Good technical base introduction to Unity 3D and usage of standard assets for basic prototyping.

By Oskari N

Oct 21, 2015

Best unity tutorial I have seen.

By 张明瑞

Jan 22, 2016

practical