Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,304 ratings
984 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 957 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Marco C

Jul 25, 2016

Very good introduction to game engines, in particular to Unity 3D. There are several projects that provide hand on experience. The only negative side is that the first 2 weeks provide very little material whereas most of the work is concentrated on the last 2 weeks.

Overall this is good experience for anyone interested in learning about the subject.

By Moustakis I

Dec 01, 2016

I really enjoyed this course!

By Cynthia S

Dec 20, 2015

Excellent hands-on introduction to the Unity game engine, the development workflow and the many nuances of how these all work together for the artistic as well as the technical designers. I especially appreciate the instructor's careful attention to learner-centered demonstration, and for his respectful use of, as well as frequent nods to, Unity as a top notch engine for quality development. Packed with a great deal of information, and the demonstration of how to apply this knowledge, I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is wanting to break into interactive media development, or is wanting to broaden their methods and application knowledge in this area.

By Johan C

Jun 07, 2018

Unfortunately I've already learnt a lot of the content of the course, but for a beginner this is a very good introduction to working in Unity. I would just suggest that you update your Unity to the latest version for peer reviews and expect rather large uploads (100MB+ per peer review), as people don't follow the guidelines of deleting their temporary data as specified by the instructor. The only reason why this isn't a 5 star review is that the programming section could be expanded upon a bit, or at least feature optional readings to help establish a solid base of programming skills for beginners that are willing to learn.

By Mary E C

Mar 01, 2016

Solid course with a good introduction to Unity.

By victor a

Dec 14, 2016

Great introduction to Unity3D and common gaming concepts,

By Gaurav S M

Oct 23, 2015

good experience and definitely a great primer on unity. didn't really focus on coding until the last lecture; even then it was pretty minimal.

By Caitlin M

Nov 02, 2015

The instructor videos were clear and informative. The course had a balanced mix of game development theory and practical exercises. Solid introduction to the Unity game design platform. The projects increased in difficulty and time commitment as the course progressed, building on prior knowledge. The peer review of game files was challenging at times, but it was a good experience to create actual games.

By Gabriel A

Sep 28, 2015

M

By Markus B

Dec 26, 2015

Good course that gets you going with Unity3D. Very simple to follow the hands-on lectures, just repeat in your own editor. The assignments are very easy, this is the easiest course I've completed on Coursera. Very basic coding involved, and you don't need to write anything from scratch. I will take the next Course offered by Michigan State University as well!

By Konstantinos L

Jan 10, 2017

Good Course, but fairly easy to pass and repeatitive after week 2. Good intro for Game Development.

By JAVIER D S

Jan 13, 2017

Thanks for all, thanks for the opportunite.

By Juhani M

Oct 25, 2015

Would have hoped for a bit more coding without hand holding, but I did learn Unity basics well!

By Dmitry

Mar 26, 2016

Great course - You're learning the foundations of building games with the most ubiquitous game engine - Unity!

By Leandro L

Mar 11, 2016

Good course with both theoretical and practical content.

It lacks instructor and staff support.

By Andreas H

Jun 29, 2016

Great and very informative introduction.

By Janardhanan N

Nov 09, 2015

Excellent course about Game Development introduction. It will be nice if they include a

chapter about Mobile game.

By Dave B

Jul 25, 2016

Some given assets need to be upgrades or provided for the latest version of Unity. Otherwise a great class well worth the time and effort.

By Krylov D

Sep 20, 2017

Nice course, i really like teachers lessongs, but sometimes it's kinda getting borring. I think it should be tougher.

By Tania A

Nov 18, 2015

The course works nicely as an introduction to Unity 3D, and some of the basic concepts that you may find later in game development.

By Sasa J

May 05, 2017

It gave me good intro to Unity3D.

By Tae H

Dec 02, 2015

The class started with great instruction and was easy to follow. Coming into week 4, the class sped up really quick and became a lot more difficult to manage.

By Ryan B

Nov 02, 2017

Great course! Taught a variety of things that I needed to know to start on my Development journey. I just wish there was a bit more coding!

By Ahmad H

Nov 16, 2015

Very good course.

By Julia d M R

Oct 13, 2015

Pretty good, just wish it had more time to focus more on programming for this free portion of it.