Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
3,633 ratings
1,094 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

KG

Sep 30, 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

SG

Feb 07, 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,073 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By MoNa M M

Aug 16, 2019

It's a great and helpful course to get started in game specialization but also there're some missing in the standards, i learned to do things but i don't know why or what is that mean. on general it's a good start with some researches ans more study.

By Sridharan

Oct 19, 2016

A very useful course for beginners who have no knowledge of Unity. This is the best course to learn about the basics in the Unity and using the Interface. Scripting walk through was not enough. A few more exercises would have made it the best course

By Carlos M

Jan 17, 2016

The only thing that stands between the 5 and 4 stars evaluation of this course is the fact that assignments should have a broader range of grades for the peer review (like 0-2.5-5-7.5-10).

On all the rest, congratulations! It is a great course!

By Ram K

Feb 13, 2016

Great course for learning the basics of Game Development and getting into the Unity 3D Game Engine.

Suggestion: The workload needs to be re organized, the first two weeks need little to no efforts while the last two weeks are more intense.

By Cobus L r

May 17, 2017

While it did teach me a lot of what i wanted to know, I feel it spoon fed me too often with regards to the scripting components. Other than that it was tons of fun and I would definitely recommend it to some of my friends.

By Jose D G

Oct 21, 2015

Love the projects and classes!, but i was expecting more interaction with the teacher due that we found some bugs in the content , we were able to solved using the forum, but i was expecting that the teacher step up

By Surya N

Dec 26, 2018

The course is well-paced, and the projects are really interesting. Making each project is hands-on, and I think it gives you an intuitive feel for developing a basic game and using Unity proficiently.

By Jules J

Aug 10, 2017

A very nice introduction to Game Development. A great job that ensures the learner to get started immediately and thereby being able to integrate the knowledge directly. I loved the practical projects!

By Shahzada S H

Nov 13, 2017

It is one of the best course I have ever seen. I love it as in this course basics are taught and there isn't much concern on coding. Great course for basic Game Dev Knowledge and basic experience

By Alberto A d S J

Apr 25, 2017

Learning online was better then expected. Sometimes there was some hard tasks without all the hints, but searching for answers is a good way of learning. There forum isn´t very helpful though

By Siddharth A

Feb 10, 2016

Excellent course to get started with. Concise and fun lessons with really fun assignments. I do wish the quizzes were slightly more challenging/longer.

Would recommend, 8/10!

By Ahsan M

Jun 28, 2016

Well this course is absolutely amazing, all the 3 projects were hard fun but week 4 was quite tough for me. Overall it's the best course to start learning Game Development.

By Mohamed E M

Nov 03, 2019

The Course is Really beneficial i learned a lot, my only feedback that some of the parts are outdated due to the updates within the engine other than that its really great

By Aleena C B

May 16, 2020

It is a good start. Makes you acquainted with the Unity Engine. For those who want to learn game programming, this isn't for you, but it is a good course. Well explained.

By Robert M

Sep 05, 2016

Great intro to game development. I wish it had covered a bit more about coding in Unity as well as importing assets from other software, but overall very informative.

By John K

Jan 31, 2016

It was a great course.The topics were well understood and the techniques used to make the games are providing a good basis for further game dev learning (in unity)

By Elizabeth J L

May 07, 2020

4/5 Rating. Would've been better if programming was focused on this course as well, however I learned a lot. A good course for learning the fundamentals of Unity

By Carlos I M B

Jul 24, 2019

My only concern is that the coding part was good, but if the student doesn't have any coding experience would be pretty hard to understand some of the content.

By Tae H

Dec 02, 2015

The class started with great instruction and was easy to follow. Coming into week 4, the class sped up really quick and became a lot more difficult to manage.

By Parth S

Feb 16, 2016

Course was very informative and helpful. I learnt a lot about unity and its tools and concepts. But there was very less scripting (coding) in the course.

By Samuel S

Feb 07, 2016

Great introduction to Unity3D. Everything is taught in a very comprehensive level. I would have liked to see more fundamentals of C# scripting though.

By Laura G

Dec 09, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. I just wish it had been updated to use a later version of Unity as quite a lot has changed since the videos were created.

By Alon A

May 21, 2018

its a solid course but i find it lacking at the programming side, you learn a very small amount and than replace all the scripts with premade ones

By Mateus B

Jul 10, 2017

This is a great course to learn the basic of Unity Engine. I was expecting a different approach on scripting, but it was very interesting anyway.

By Deleted A

Sep 21, 2016

The way He explains is Good But it would be cool if he also Explains Every small thing in Unity. But yeah ,Great Course for a beginner though.